We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service? What's that?”

Hogg's Upstairs Taverne
Ranked #84 of 196 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Service? What's that?”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stopped in for a hard drink. They have a great upstairs outdoor patio but tell you to seat yourself. After waiting for awhile, I had to go get the bartender. Ordered a shot, which was expensive and still took forever to get out. At least the bartender helped me tip the shot glass so I got every last bit of it. It takes a lot to get me to leave no tip and this place accomplished it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CHMcNealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    53
    28
    21
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FUN!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had an amazing time playing at Hogg's and loved the environment! Totally the kind of place we would choose to hang! Fun crowd, good food, great staff! Don't miss it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pass on by...”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Was not impressed at all. Not many people in the bar and didn't like the 'feel' of the place. In the end my friend and i kept on walking without staying too long. I've heard that the owners aren't the same as the previous ones so that may have something to do with the deteriorating atmosphere. If you're looking for a fun place to drink, try Puckers or Blaine's Bar and Grill up the road!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dannyboy8406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great bar for area and super friendly staff”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The area offers very limited choices and normally this bar wouldn't be in other towns on our list of choices however we are super happy we Gave it a try. Some if the nicest staff and bartenders we have ever seen, they were super accommodating. The establishment is always clean and drink prices are reasonable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gulfdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beware! Turn around!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Do not be fooled! My husband and I gave this establishment a try, purchased food and a few drinks...the price? Our video camera...we now no longer have our video camera. Hubby left our video camera on the bar while we listened to music and played pool. Besides the couple we were playing pool with, we were the only individuals in the entire bar. Come to find out, manager tossed our video camera in the "trash" - all to claim that he thought it was left over food. What! Long story short, we sorted all the trash, but NO video camera. Unfortunately, this establishment is not one we will revisit and needless to say, the past reviews are exactly what others have expressed - do not be fooled. Understand why this bar is a ghost town...not the same owners from years past and obviously management/staff should be watched!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 2006Honeymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hogg's Upstairs Taverne also viewed

 

Been to Hogg's Upstairs Taverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing