We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, roomy and perfect!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Vista Luxury Rentals
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Three couples, stayed in 512, top floor view of pool, has deck with 2 cushioned chairs and a table. Kitchen not "fully" equipped but close. Needs pizza cutter. Supplied basic needs. Master bedroom quite large with sunken tub, glass shower and tons of mirrors. 2nd bedroom, 2 queen beds and attached large bathroom, 3rd bedroom has king size bed, ceiling fan, and access to hallway bathroom. All rooms have TVs. Kitchen table seats 8. Perfect place for families who cook. Washer and dryer also. The air conditioning filters needs to be cleaned. Chlorine in pool was strong. Hot tub got way too hot at times. A mini mart close by but suggest u get weeks groceries at Kroger coming into Gatlinburg. (Kroger's in Pigeon Forge) coffee maker there but u need filters and of course coffee. Over all... A great place to stay! Clean and well worth the price of around $189 a couple for 3 couples and 2 nights.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank cinderella1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Vista Luxury Rentals
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Baskins Creek is a wonderful complex. Everything is well maintained and cleaned. Very close to Gatlinburg strip, easy 2 block walk. Trolley stop in front of facility if you choose not to walk. There is a pool and hot tub which are both kept clean, plenty of lounge chairs at the pool. Hot tub was relaxing, it could have been a little warmer but still relaxing. Easy 10-20 minute drive to both the Smokey Mountain welcome center and to Pigeon Forge.
We have stayed twice at Baskins Creek and will continue to stay there every time we return to Gatlinburg. We stayed in unit 512 this year. It was great. Decorated very nicely and very clean. Everything was in good working order. Kitchen was very well stocked, not always the case in condos, but this one had everything we needed. Cable service was fine, internet service worked fine.
Only complaint is that the bath towels are rough and small, and toilet paper is tissue paper thin.

This year we had no issues with the management, however we had no issues that needed addressed. Our last visit we did encounter some grumpy front desk workers.

Room Tip: For a pool view rent an even numbered unit. The view on the other side is of the building next door...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eggleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Agreeing with a previous Writer/Reviewer, the location of these condos is great and the condos are very nice, clean, well decorated, and maintained.
However, we had a few issues with the way the property was being managed and I will be contacting management with a few suggestions, namely, someone should live on property in the event that guests encounter issues after the main office has closed for the night. One of our family members was promised that a key would be left for them because they would be arriving after the office closed and NO KEY had been left as promised and they had to wait almost an hour and half to get their key, this was due to no fault of their own. It is incumbent upon the managers to come up with a better solution to prevent future occurrences. Either hire someone to live on property or develop an after hours check-in system that works, but if management forgets to leave a key then any after hours check-in system would be moot.

On a much better note, the condos are fairly new and gently used, very nice for large families, can't beat the location. Dishes in the kitchen are really nice, pots and pans, the only thing you have to do is go grocery shopping and even the 24 hour grocery store Food City is not far away.

Despite our initial challenges, we will return to Mountain Vista Luxury Rentals for another family vaca, to take in more of the Great Smokey Mountains and Pigeon Forge, VA.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uteachme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
215MVLR, Manager at Mountain Vista Luxury Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

I do apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. Normally we do have someone that would be available within a very short time. This was an oversite on our part.
We do hope you enjoyed your remaining stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have stayed here at least 5 different times. Condos are nice, clean and beautifully decorated. The grounds are well kept and pool and hot tub are nice! Pool towels are supplied at the pool but run out often. TVs need to be upgraded and wifi is practically non-existant. If you have concerns or complaints for the front desk...forget it they are nasty and could care less. They leave at 6 so if you need anything after that?? We usually stay with family members who also rent condos. This year was a fiasco with the staff and manager Marci...without going into detail as long as all is good and you don't have any problems it is good but if you have a complaint or a problem that is when you see how the condos are managed. I feel bad for the owners...I wonder if they even know how things are handled? After our stay in June we will not be staying again nor will our other family members or friends. If you read through all the reviews you will see some of the same complaints about the management. It is sad because the condos are nice! But there are other condos in Gatlinburg!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gatlinburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
215MVLR, Manager at Mountain Vista Luxury Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

As a rental management company we do our best to see that all guest have everything needed. Often there are guest that are never satisfied. We do not tolerate guest that curse and threaten. The Gatlinburg police had to be called 2 different times. The last time they informed this guest that they were not welcome back. We do not ever enjoy having to call the police but when needed we will.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We rented unit 106 for 5 days and although it was expensive, it was worth the cost. The condo has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a kitchen/diner/living room and a balcony that overlooks the pool/spa tub and car parking area. It was spacious and very clean with lovely décor. There was a whirlpool tub in the master bedroom, which had a queensize bed. The 2nd bedroom had 2 double beds. There was plenty of closet/drawer space and the kitchen was well stocked with dishes etc. The living area and both bedroom had tv/video/dvd units and the living room had a fireplace (although wrong time of year so we didn't use it). There was a dishwasher, microwave & oven in the kitchen and in the master bedroom a washer and dryer was very handy for laundry. The location was good and was within easy walking distance of the main street.
We travelled there with our son, his wife and baby granddaughter and had a wonderful time. My only suggestion for improvement would be for extra cleaning products to be included. There were individual packets for laundry and dishwasher, but only 1 for each and we had to locate a store further away to buy more.

Room Tip: On the MVLR website, you have to choose which condo you would like. You really need to look at sever...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegaDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
215MVLR, Manager at Mountain Vista Luxury Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The last time I was in Gatlinburg I was 4 years old. That was 65 years ago. I remembered the drive through the Smokey Mountains. The fog, the narrow mountain roads and mom saying we were going to drive off the road. When we got to Gatlinburg my Dad bought me a racoon skin cap, which I wore for 12 years.

This trip we were meeting our Daughter & Son in law and my wife's sister for 3 days and needed a place which would accommodate 5. The unit 414 was perfect. Washer & dryer in the unit was great. Fully equipped Kitchen so we could have breakfast & lunch in our room which saved us money. The view from the balcony was the swimming pool, a winding creek and a mountain view.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnny017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
215MVLR, Manager at Mountain Vista Luxury Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We are happy you were able to enjoy the mountians. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in unit 512 and were very happy with it. Comfy beds, nice little kitchen area, close enough to walk to the main strip in Gatlinburg. There were some white stains on one of the comforters, which turned out to be the powdered detergent they use. I called the front desk and the very nice lady went to the laundry and got clean linens herself, all within 10 minutes. No other issues at all, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
215MVLR, Manager at Mountain Vista Luxury Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Historic Nature Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
464 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
0.5 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#6 of 78 in Gatlinburg
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Vista Luxury Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Vista Luxury Rentals

Address: 514 Ski Mountain Rd, Gatlinburg, TN
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Baskins Creek Condominiums Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing