We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not extravagant...but quaint” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainbow Motel
Ranked #76 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Chattanooga
1 review
“Not extravagant...but quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

In 2005 while staying here with the City of Chattanooga Pipe Band (i'm a member), I met my future wife. Although the rooms lacked "pizazz", they were very clean, comfortable and rather charming...in an old fashioned kind of way. They seemed like the old family owned motels I stayed in with my folks when i was a kid. Since this is where my wife and I met, we always stayed here when in Gatlinburg...until it shut down during change of ownership. Haven't been back since it re-opened but plan to stay there the next time we're in town. It couldn't have changed that much!

  • Liked — Away from the "strip"
  • Disliked — A bit dated
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kiltdrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    3
    4
    2
    8
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
huntsville, al
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2007

The old owners of Rainbow Motel sold it and now own Rainbow Log Cabin Rentals.

Unfortuneately, their hard work building up Rainbow Motel has been thrown away by the new owners.

Do not stay here!

But remember, the cabins are wonderful, could not be better quality and service there.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — new owners have let it become a roach motel
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gncnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2007

My husband and I spent one night here before we headed to our cabin. With the price it cant be beat. I cant say i would want to stay here over the duration of a whole vacation, but its just a basic cheap, but clean room. we never seen any bugs like some one else had mentioned. and i didn't think it was that far from the strip, maybe a mile? not sure you could always find that out...definatley walking distance to me since thats all you do there any way. we payed for the jacuzy room, which was still only like 75-80 dollars cant really remember.

  • Liked — the price, just needed a cheap clean place for a night
  • Disliked — no room service, or any perks like you get at a more nicer hotel
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jsg96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2006

the rooms where very clean and the price was just great 35.00 a night and the people at the front desk was very nice and gave us good advice where to go and where to go and eat at..I would stay there again..very good

  • Liked — the people where very nice and was very helpful
  • Disliked — location
  • Tips/Secrets — nice place to stay
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnymarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2006

Clean room for the budget traveler. Only 2 non-smoking rooms.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2006

At 35.00 a night you cant beat this motel. It was very clean and had a decent sized fridge in the room. My girlfriend and I went down to take a couple of day hikes in the smokies and to shop and see the strip at night. It was a great place for that. It is a 3 minute walk to a flapjack place and just around the corner from the beginning of the strip. This place worked out great you could get up and drive one minute to breakfast and then take off and be in the park in 10 minutes. It is what it is, a clean cheap place close to the park.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2006

We came in for christmas early, and stayed at the rainbow til we could get in our chalet. My children became deathly sick...and when we asked, if we check out at 3pm, instead of the normal noon...the answer..and unsympathetic..NO. The hotel was old, dirty, and the staff...was had no idea of southern hospitality. Never again!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#68 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#36 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gatlinburg Towers
Gatlinburg Towers
#70 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.2 mi away
Roaring Fork Motel & Cottages
Roaring Fork Motel & Cottages
#55 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Motel

Property: Rainbow Motel
Address: 390 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4900
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Rainbow Motel Gatlinburg
Rainbow Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing