We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, Clean, but needs a little repair and upkeep.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cynthiana, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not bad, Clean, but needs a little repair and upkeep.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I have stayed here many times since I am a Bluegreen owner and this is 1 of 2 of the closest resorts we can visit. There seems to be a big variance in the physical condition of the rooms, since usually there is something broken, or damaged. Most of the time it isn't too bad, and I have never felt it was dirty, even though there is some staining of furniture and carpets much of the time. Beds are very good with nice bedding and are very clean. I have never seen any bugs of any kind in the rooms. We have stayed in townhomes, and suites, and actually I think the townhomes are more in need of updating than the other units. Most of the sofa beds are in need of replacement and aren't really very comfortable to sit on, but most sofa beds are like that. The last unit we stayed in last month, was a whole townhome, with two lock-out units. Both had fireplaces, but one didn't work. Maintenance told us they had ordered a part for it. That fireplace had cracks in the marble facing, and also the marble slab on the floor in front of it. These units evidently get a lot of wear, and many people aren't very thoughtful of how they take of the units when they are there. Both living rooms had nice flat-screen TV's and the bedrooms had the small old style models, but they worked. The roll-down bamboo style shades at the screen doors in one unit also had damage where the shades had been caught on the handle and ripped the bamboo as well as the string that rolled it up, so it rolled up and hung crooked. We have had several upkeep issues in the past when we have stayed and even though maintenance is very nice and friendly when we call them, at times the issue can't be fixed during our stay. The Wi-Fi doesn't pick up in very well at all in the units farthest from the office, so don't be surprised if you can't really use it. The staff is usually friendly and helpful. I like the size of the units, and the fact that they have the kitchen with everything you need, and provide a little coffee and some other small food items to get started. All in all it is a good stay, just don't be surprised if it isn't in perfect condition. In our long history with going, it has always been clean and bug free.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tuff48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hello Tuff48,

As a Bluegreen owner, we greatly appreciate your taking the time to review your stay at MountainLoft. Our goal is to share happiness with our owners through an excellent vacation experience. Quality and cleanliness are our highest priorities. We appreciate the feedback you have provided and will certainly be looking further into your concerns. We are happy to know our staff was friendly and helpful. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    185
    111
    79
    69
See reviews for
277
191
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We have used our Bluegreen vacation at many different locations and have always been pleased, but this time, we were somewhat disappointed. When we arrived, someone had used the restroom in our room and left us a surprise, YUCK! Also, the heat was not working properly and it was either 80 degrees or 60 degrees, never really comfortable. The room was average, but somewhat dated. The outside panel of the tub kept coming apart. The views were nice. Luckily, when we go to Gatlinburg, we spend most of our time out and about.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KKRD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hello KKRD2013,

Thank you for sharing your experience at MountainLoft. We appreciate your feedback as a Bluegreen owner. We regret to learn of your disappointment. We invite you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com to provide additional details. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The location is great. It's about 5-10mins from downtown which is good cause it get congested downtown. Next to gas station, grocery store and free trolley depot and parking. The facility itself has great views and nice setup, but the keys never work and that sucks when you unload your kids after a long day to only have to load them back up to go to front desk. Unfortunately, this wasn't a one time thing. Our key rarely worked which always ruined a great day out in town. The rooms and facilities could use a bit of updating but I loved that they all had balconies for our daily family breakfast. Also other then a pool, there is NOTHING onsite to do.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hello Sherrell C,

Thank you for staying at MountainLoft and sharing your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the location and the views. We regret to learn of your issues with the room keys. We hope to welcome you back for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Our second stay at this Bluegreen Vacations facility. Once again, the room (a one bedroom suite in Building 10) was clean and comfortable. A very slight musty smell when we entered, but it quickly cleared once we opened the sliding door and let some fresh air in. The gas fireplace came in handy as quite the cold front moved in that night.
The kitchen was nicely appointed with all the usual place settings, appliances, and utensils.
Check in was fast and the staff friendly. Their computers were running slow, so they went ahead a gave us our keys so we could get settled. This was nearly two hours before the "official" check in time, so it was much appreciated.
We did not utilize any of the Clubhouse amenities this trip, so I cannot speak to the pool or exercise room.
I would suggest some improvements in the soundproofing between the units. Our neighbors were very loud (parents yelling at their kids) at times, but normal conversation could not be heard. Everything quieted done well before bedtime.
Major plus, the free Wi-Fi was working great this trip (unlike our previous visit when it only worked in the Clubhouse).

Room Tip: Buildings 9, 10, and 11 have decent views of the mountains. There are elevators, so no issues with m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADCollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hello ADCollier,

Thank you for returning to MountainLoft and sharing your review. We are happy you enjoyed the accommodations and amenities. It is good to hear that you had a quick check-in and found the staff to be friendly. We hope to welcome you back for a third visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We will be checking out tomorrow and have had an overall great stay. Nice view, balcony is nice but small, tvs are great and everything is clean for the most part. The carpet is stained and there was one cockroach in the kitchen, but other than that it's very nice. The biggest thong that needs to be addressed is customer service. The young lady that checked us in was okay. but she was not friendly and acted like she hated her job. The parking pass lady is the most miserable lady I have ever encountered in my life. if I say no, I don't want to go to your time share spill the next day then respect that. do not hound me as to why I don't want to go and get angry when I still say no. She was so disrespectful. I am in sales and when someone says no that means no, move on to the next guest. Worst customer service lady ever, so I have not been back to the office for anything in fear of running into her again. the only reason I gave the service a 2 is because there is a very nice young man driving around on a cart, that got our trash for us so we didn't have to take it. he was very nice. Overall great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryjenkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hello maryjenkl,

We are happy you had a great stay overall at MountainLoft. We are glad you enjoyed the view and found the accommodations to be clean. We regret to learn that you did not receive outstanding service from our staff. If you would like to provide additional details regarding your experience, please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I like the location..out-of-town, grocery store almost next door, free parking for trolley to town about a block away (Trolley is $2 unlimited for day). Free wi-fi was very nice.

Front desk left a little to be desired. It's like someone stole their smiles and friendliness. We have stayed at two other time shares and quite a number of hotels over the last 8 weeks and this was the least friendly and helpful. They were just there, no more, no less. One maintenance contact and towel exchange contact were very nice.

After two days of problems with the keys,front desk offered to send new keys to our room. No more problem. They also offered one free towel exchange which I took advantage of.

The deluxe one BR was adequate. Kitchen is only big enough for one person. My husband found the bed very uncomfortable and had a tough time sleeping all week. Thankfully, I was able to sleep even if it was somewhat uncomfortable. Furniture was ok. Probably time to re-do or at least clean the floors good.

Jacuzzi tub in room had good jets. Hot tub outside was simply a bubble machine or something, no jets. Also, the benches and back in outdoor tub were extremely rough..hubby's back was red and I scraped my knee. Oh and itsy bitsy pool towels, more like a kitchen towel.

Stayed in building 3. Wish they had kept the trees cut in front of the units so you could enjoy the view. Doesn't seem like that would have been difficult to maintain.

Since I could hear the pitter patter of little and big feet running back and forth above me, I tried to make my steps light so they didn't think Ma-ma Hippo was rooming above them!!

Sounds like we are picky, picky but we aren't. We have just been spoiled to front desk people that act like they are glad to see us and we aren't bothering them. Even though the kitchen was not well-designed, it was adequate. ( I wonder if I woman that actually cooks in the kitchen was consulted in the layout.) We really just want a clean, quiet room with good beds.

The potential is here so I hope they are able to get the place on track.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photogal205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie C, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for visiting MountainLoft, I appreciate you taking the time to complete the survey and sharing your feedback. We have started some renovations at MountainLoft to update both our exterior and interior. We hope that when you visit again you will notice the changes and will enjoy all aspects of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Many problems with room like oven opens into refrigerator door so you cannot use the oven without getting burned. Disconnected smoke detectors. Bugs bugs and many more bugs in room. Sliding doors don't work. Neighbors using propane gas grill on porch overlooking pool. When advised of all these problem management did nothing and neither did maintenance except identify there were many problems.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hello John B,

Thank you for sharing your experience at MountainLoft. We would like to learn more details regarding your stay. Please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com so we may discuss further. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatlinburg
2.4 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
7.8 mi away
Laurel Crest
Laurel Crest
#41 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
7.9 mi away
Deer Ridge Mountain Resort
Deer Ridge Mountain Resort
#6 of 52 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Laurel Inn Condominiums
Laurel Inn Condominiums
#22 of 52 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort
1.8 mi away
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection

Property: Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection
Address: 110 Mountainloft Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5355 (Formerly MountainLoft Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainloft Resort Gatlinburg
Mountainloft Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Loft Resort Gatlinburg Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing