We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 'Bang for the Buck'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mint Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great 'Bang for the Buck'”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Wife and I had a 3 day get-away and we chose this newer hotel over other established hotels we've stayed prior and GLAD we did. I saw the many favorable reviews before I booked and 'bang for the buck' is a good term. We had a king-bed suite w. whirlpool tub in the room, fireplace, balcony, etc. The mattress on the bed seemed to be issues for some negative reviewers. We have a very simillar mattress at home and I was extatic that this hotel also had. It is also not easy finding a good (or any) hotel that offers king beds. We didn't participate in all ammenities; pool, public hot-tub, fire-pit, restaurant, etc. so can't say. Slight drawback - no safe in room, had to use safe at front desk, no big deal. Used the corded connection and WIFI on lap-top, iPad and cell phones -smooth. The shower was unique in that it sprayed differently - in a very invigorating good way. Hot water is on demand. Also this hotel is supposedly 1st LEED certified in TN, a great concept. Parking was free and plentiful. Close proximity to building depended on time of day / evening. Luggage carts were avail. during check-in and check-out. Located approx 1 block off main-drag on high / top side of G'burg. Lots of restaurants, shopping and attractions w/i walking distance. We have stayed at much worse for alot more money; ie. SC beach. Overall great place to stay. "We'll be back"

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobsaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenkelly, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate loyal guests such as yourself who spread the good news about HGI Gatlinburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,171
    460
    140
    44
    27
See reviews for
588
903
35
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The good:

* Nice looking and impressive lobby.
* Fairly new hotel.
* Parking is easy.
* Pool is indoors, spa outdoors.
* Convenient location to downtown stores.

The bad:

* Nasty dirty carpets - don't even consider walking around in white socks.
* New beds are foam and inflatable bladder types, which were very uncomfortable for me. Wife preferred to sleep on an Aerobed that I brought in from the minivan.
* Gravel path to main street is gravel lined alleyway, littered with debris and overgrown foliage. (I would suggest that front desk stop recommending this path, or send staff to maintain it.)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyDaddyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenkelly, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Thank you so much for your review on our property. I appreciate that you took your time to share the pros and cons of your stay. Please allow me to give you an explanation about your cons.... as you may know our property is a certified LEED property and several of the components in our hotel are made of recycled material. That being said our carpet is one of the recycled components and tends to wear a little sooner than regular carpet, currently we are changing it. The walkway that we recommend to our guests as easy access to the Parkway is often misunderstood and many times people may walk all the way through, we usually give options as access to the Parkway. Again I would like to thank you for response and hope to have you stay here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelers Rest, SC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

This hotel is new and everything is immaculate. The beds are so comfortable. Location
is right in the heart of Gatlinburg, walking distance to everything. It is a Hilton and it
definitely lives up to your expectations. The breakfast was the best part of the day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRrenegade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenkelly, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
TRrenegade,
Thanks so much for wonderful comments on our property. I agree that our breakfast and breakfast staff really makes a great start to your day while staying at the HGI Gatlinburg! Next time your in Gatlinburg we'd love to have you stay with us again. THANKS AGAIN!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morehead City, NC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

You know what to expect from Hilton and this one doesn't disappoint. Great location for your Gatlinburg vacation. Great Staff. The outdoor hot tub and fire pit were a great afternoon early gathering spot for several couples and families to discuss the days adventures. Beds are the best at the Garden Inns. The staff was really helpful with directions to our rafting outfitters and providing daily run routes for me to keep my training up to date on vacation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenkelly, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg. We are so thankful to loyal guests like yourself who spread the word about us to others. We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you visit Gatlinburg...Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at a Hilton Garden Inn and have been impressed with the consistency of service. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are nice. I love the beds. So comfy and adjustable to taste. I think it's a bit pricey but it's nicer than cheaper options. Definitely will stay at a Hilton Garden Inn again whatever city I might find myself in.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenkelly, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg. Your feedback means so much to us, next time you visit Gatlinburg we'd love to have you! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My sister and I stayed here in March 2011. This hotel is clean, comfortable, modern and within walking distance to everything in downtown Gatlinburg. Parking was very easy and they allowed us to leave our car in the parking lot after we had checked out. The front desk was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KYMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenkelly, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, 2 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to mention your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg. I'm so glad to hear that you had a great stay. We hope next time your in Gatlinburg you choose the Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg for your lodging needs. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed at the HGI - Gatlinburg for second time in May. The rooms are very clean and the check-in staff and dining room staff are the best. I did have one minor complaint during my stay. While my room was totally clean, apparently the previous occupants had left bath towels hanging on hangers in the closet. I would think who cleaned the room would check for such things. As others have said, it is nice to have an easy place to park and walk to all of downtown Gatlinburg. I enjoy the made to order breakfast at HGI over the free breakfast at Hampton and Fairfield Inns. In fact, I wish that they would open a HGI in Pigeon Forge or Sevierville closer to Dollywood and all the attractions in Pigeon Forge.

Room Tip: I alway get the King Evolution Room at HGI's
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TN Travelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenkelly, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, 2 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to mention your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg. We appreciate the feedback from loyal guests like yourself. I want to personally apologize to you for the issue with the towels in the closet, you are correct in saying housekeeping should of checked. I want to assure you that rarely happens and would love for you to choose our hotel again (for the 3rd time :) ) next time your in Gatlinburg. Your loyalty means the world to us...thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
327 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.3 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.7 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Address: 635 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#1 Green Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#5 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg hotel in Tennessee is conveniently located on River Road less than 100 yards to the entrance of The Great Smoky Mountain National Park. Our hotel offers the natural attraction of the mountains and sounds of the nearby creeks. Come visit higher ground at our Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg. We are proud to be the very first hotel in the state of Tennessee to pursue our LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Certification, with many 'green' features including a chemical-free saltwater pool and hot tub, pervious hand-laid brick parking lot, in-room recycling and much more. Whether business, vacation, or weekend getaway brings you to Gatlinburg, Tennessee, our courteous hotel staff looks forward to welcoming you to our new home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing