We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice hotel and great location!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown. We picked this hotel for a couple of reasons. Great location and free cookies! The hotel was very nice -- really cool decor. I loved the atmosphere. We did not have time to enjoy the firepit outside, but it was really cool looking. We chose to have a room higher up and facing the river. Great choice too! Although we ended up with a room right near the elevator doors, the rooms were extremely quiet and we could not hear much of anything outside our room. Which was a definitely plus! The room smelled a little bit musty. Our room refrigerator did not seem to be working, so we had to call the front desk upon our arrival. They must have fixed it while we were out because it seemed to have worked from then on. The front desk clerks were on the bit of the snobby side, in my opinion. The rooms were pretty clean for the most part. I did find a couple things on our floor that did not belong to us upon our arrival, but that was about it. The beds were really comfy (but why do all hotels have to have super squishy pillows??) We did not have good service at the bar. Upon our arrival, we wanted to treat ourselves to a drink. We waited at the bar for someone to take our order. A man showed up and said he would get someone for us, but after waiting for quiet some time, no one showed up. So, we left the bar without ordering anything. That was a bit disappointing. We had breakfast at the hotel just once. The food was just okay, but the ladies working in the resaurant area, were very pleasant and kind and that was much appreciated. The free cookies at the front desk were a nice touch. Although we only got chocolate chip cookies once (the other times were oatmeal cookies), we still enjoyed them. The pool was nice. We very much enjoyed the LOCATION of this hotel. We were able to walk most places down the main strip. As other reviewer's mentioned the hardship of having to walk through the parking lot to get to the main street, we did not mind that one bit. We enjoyed the walk. My family and I enjoyed our time in Gatlinburg and we would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammygal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,157
    455
    133
    43
    27
See reviews for
577
893
35
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Perfect walking distance from the parkway (where all the businesses are located). We cut through their backyard and we were on the parkway but we weren't close enough that we had to hear people all the time. If we left through the front we were able to walk along the river. Loved the entire experience. Staff was very accommodating and super friendly. Rooms were great. We stayed four nights with a toddler and Hilton helped make this such a memorable experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanton, Alabama
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Love it
A little noisily but that was not the hotels fault just rude people
The breakfast was good I just wish it was free you would think the price you pay you could get at least breakfast but other than that was wonderful

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This is our first time to stay in a chain hotel in Gatlinburg. The property is a VERY short walk to the parkway (using the shortcut). All of the staff were very friendly and very helpful. My husband thought the breakfast buffet was too expensive ($9.99) but I didn't. [Toaster didn't work properly but otherwise, I was quite pleased.] Little problem with controlling temp in room but that's minor. Nice room and lots of sockets for charging electronics; easy internet access. The lobby with the fireplace and cozy chairs is very inviting. Very competent bartender. If we stay in a chain again, we'd come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

I'm a Hilton Diamond HHonors member and have stayed at lots of Hilton properties. Check in was clunky, and was not recognized as a Diamond level. I had to ask about parking since nothing was volunteered.

The lobby, restaurant,and pool areas are nice, but the pool area is frequently out of towels.

Room was roomy and nice, furniture appeared a bit worn. It does have ample outlets for all of your devices. It was difficult to keep the temperature regulated and it was freezing in the hallway outside of the room.

The breakfast bar and happy hour were hit and miss. The hot bar was frequently without eggs and it appeared there was no intention to restock. In the evenings you might have to stand at the bar for 10 minutes before someone showed up to make drinks.

Good location, nice property, but lower your standards on the food/beverage service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn is a nice place to stay while in Gatlinburg. Just a block away from the hustle and bustle, it's quiet and offers quite a lot. A fireplace in the room is a nice touch while spending time just outside of Smokey Mountain National Park. With Gatlinburg hospitality on your doorstep and Pigeon Forge just minutes away (by car), you can't beat the resort location with so much to see and do. The Aquarium, just a 10-minute walk, is by far one of the best in the USA!

Room Tip: My room on the fourth floor was very quiet, but most rooms should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The hotel location was very convenient and located in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg. We could walk anywhere on the main strip and be there in minutes. The rooms were nice and clean. The firepit outside was nice and cozy. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Address: 635 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#1 Green Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#5 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg hotel in Tennessee is conveniently located on River Road less than 100 yards to the entrance of The Great Smoky Mountain National Park. Our hotel offers the natural attraction of the mountains and sounds of the nearby creeks. Come visit higher ground at our Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg. We are proud to be the very first hotel in the state of Tennessee to pursue our LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Certification, with many 'green' features including a chemical-free saltwater pool and hot tub, pervious hand-laid brick parking lot, in-room recycling and much more. Whether business, vacation, or weekend getaway brings you to Gatlinburg, Tennessee, our courteous hotel staff looks forward to welcoming you to our new home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing