We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST Stay Here - Fantastic Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
374 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“MUST Stay Here - Fantastic Property”
Reviewed 9 June 2010

On a recent swing through the South, we stayed at multiple Hilton properties (Hamptons and HGIs) and this location was by far the best. Not only is it LEED certified but wherever you look, the property is beautiful, well maintained with an extremely friendly, 'non corporate' staff that make you feel welcome and at home. Our suite room with balcony was immaculate, well appointed, very comfortable and quiet. Any traveler couldn't ask for a nicer room. Our only regret was this was the last night for us on the road and therefore stayed only one night before heading home and didn't have the oppotunity to enjoy their breakfast as we left quite early. Would have loved to stay longer even if we didn't leave the property.

The location is great to the downtown 'strip' but I must admit disappointment in Gatlinberg overall. This trip marked our 1st time back in > 20 yrs. and the commercialization of the town did not offer us the same appeal - but to each their own. If you're in Gatlinberg, you must stay here. The mgrs. of this property don't miss a beat in exceeding guest's expectations.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cchgi, Night Auditor at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, 12 June 2010
Thank you for the great review and hope to see you again soon (even if you just stay in the hotel the whole time)! I will pass on your compliments to the staff, Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,157
    455
    133
    43
    27
See reviews for
577
893
35
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

I was really happy statying at this hotel. The front desk was so friendly! We have been to Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge area many times becuase it is a half way point when we travel to our hometown. We usually rent a cabin but we were only in town for a day this time. I am so gald we stayed here. It ws quiet and away from all the craziness. As soon as we walked in you could smell how clean it was. I was thrilled. They even recycle! The beds were terrific. I have never slept that late while staying in a hotel! Room service was pretty good also. We will definately return here if we stay in a hotel in the area again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deemeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cchgi, Night Auditor at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, 9 June 2010
I am so glad you enjoyed are little oasis here! I believe we have one of the best locations around! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ridge, GA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

My husband and I checked in on Sunday, May 30 for an overnighter. Immediately, we were impressed. Check-in was quick and easy, lobby was beautiful, contemporary and everyone was so friendly. We were assigned a handicapped room with a king bed and garden tub. Walked into the room and had a sitting area with a desk, "L" shaped couch, flat screen and minifridge. The bed and tub were in the next room and the bathroom was huge. We had a view of the siding of the wing next to ours but we weren't planning to sit in the room anyway so no big deal. Only had to walk 2 blocks to the first road taking us up to Parkway and spent the rest of the day window shopping and trying to find a good place to eat. Found one "Yuck!" but that is a different review.

That evening when we returned to clean up and go to sleep, I tried the shower. The shower head was stubborn. I am tall and the shower head was set low for the seat in the shower. I felt like I was in a comedy skit where I couldn't get the shower head to stay at my head instead of my rear end. Finally, it did what it was told and stayed put. I found it more funny than annoying. The bed was nice and clean and fairly comfortable. We did have a bit of trouble trying to get the bed adjusted. We didn't bother calling for more instructions which is what we were told to do at check-in. Next time I think I will adjust mine to Soft instead of Optimal.

In the morning, after having such a disappointing dinner we were leary about where to go for breakfast so we took a look at the hotel's selection. After seeing the fresh fruit bowl, grapefruit halves, made to order omelets and fresh muffins, we stayed. What a pleasant breakfast! Even the coffee was great! The executive chef took our order (we were up early) and the omelets were perfect.

So, since we only live 2 1/2 hours away and ride our motorcycles up through Cherokee, North Carolina a few times a year, we have promised each other to plan a trip to just enjoy the hotel. They have a great lobby and bar to play cards and have a cocktail, a nice heated pool and an outdoor area with a hot tub and fire pit. We have also promised each other to try the dinner at the hotel instead of on the strip. (My husband saw someone eating the Philly cheese steak and said it looked great.) We both can't wait to go back. It wasn't the cheapest but you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ymid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cchgi, Night Auditor at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, 2 June 2010
Thanks for taking the time to post such a nice review. I apologize for the shower head and will have our maintenance department take a look at that! I am in agreement with you about the omelets, they are perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Have been traveling to Gatlinburg for over 30 years now. For those of you who have traveled there over the years, you know that the hotels, for the most part, are pretty mediocre at best. My husband and I went back this May for our 11th wedding anniversary. I wanted a really nice hotel so I searched and searched. Finally found a new Hilton Garden Inn right off the main drag so gave it a shot. Oh my, I must say that this place was really, really nice. It's definitely not cheap (and I hope I'm not making it even more expensive with this great review) but want to give credit where credit is due. We were so happy when we got there! Absolutely beautiful hotel, great location, very nice rooms with excellent modern decor. We even had a fireplace! We got the romance package, so chilled Champagne (okay, sparkling wine, what's the difference really?) and chocolate covered strawberries were waiting for us in our room. I couldn't have been more pleased with this hotel. It was great!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cchgi, Night Auditor at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, 2 June 2010
It is so nice to hear from our guests when we are doing a good job! (Don't worry, the rates will not rise because of this!) Hope to see you again soon, maybe your 12th?!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springboro, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for our daughter's wedding reception. This was a perfect place for a wedding reception and accommodations were outstanding. Everyone in this hotel was very friendly and helpful no matter where you seen a hotel staff employee. We had a large party of family and friends who all enjoyed the hotel atmosphere. This was a gorgeous location for our needs. The hotel staff made this wedding reception and the days we spent there a very pleasant and memorable experience. My husband and I have gone to Gatlinburg for years and find this to be one of the best hotels there.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cchgi, Night Auditor at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, 2 June 2010
Thank so so much for the great review! I will be sure to share it with the entire staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

The Hilton Garden Inn definitely lived up to our expectations. The hotel is on River Road which is just off the main strip in a quiet location. You can cut through a parking garage to get to the main strip. The rooms were great. You can tell the hotel is new. The only problem we encountered was that we constanly hit our knees and shins against the bed frames as they stuck out. Annoying but a minor inconvenience.

Breakfast was good, $9.99 I think if you have to pay. We also ordered room service dessert one night which was very good. Parking was adequate as well. There are also a few restaurants within easy walking distance on River Rd.

This is surely one of the nicer hotels in downtown Gatlinburg. We would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chmg2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cchgi, night auditor at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, 14 May 2010
I believe our location is one of our best features! Close enough yet tucked away a bit so to offer our guests a respite from the downtown activities. Thank you for the kind words and I hope you will come back and stay with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Vergne, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2010

My husband and I went for a getaway, and everything was lovely. The first thing I look for in a hotel is if it is clean or not. This hotel was top notch in my book. We had a room with a king bed and a whirlpool tub, and everything was spotless from the white tub to the white comfort on the bed. Also, my husband wands great customer service when we go places.Everyone from the front desk to the house keepers smiled or conversated with us. This made us feel so welcomed. Of course I have to take out time to talk about their breakfast, it was great. My husband and I feel in love with their bacon can you believe bacon out of all things. We will be returning soon as we get a break from the kids.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reshonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cchgi, Night Auditor at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this review, 13 May 2010
Thank you for the kind words! I will be sure to let everyone know what a great job they are doing. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Address: 635 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gatlinburg
#1 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#5 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg hotel in Tennessee is conveniently located on River Road less than 100 yards to the entrance of The Great Smoky Mountain National Park. Our hotel offers the natural attraction of the mountains and sounds of the nearby creeks. Come visit higher ground at our Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg. We are proud to be the very first hotel in the state of Tennessee to pursue our LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Certification, with many 'green' features including a chemical-free saltwater pool and hot tub, pervious hand-laid brick parking lot, in-room recycling and much more. Whether business, vacation, or weekend getaway brings you to Gatlinburg, Tennessee, our courteous hotel staff looks forward to welcoming you to our new home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing