We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condo feel not hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort
Ranked #23 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Don't purchase a stay here and expect a hotel because it is like a condo. They have a 3 car garage out back. Park in the lower part to get a dolly to bring your bags in. They have several activities during the week to keep kids busy. We enjoyed the movie at the pool. We had an adjoining two apartment rooms which was nice. Our view was the pool and street so I bet the mountain views that several people suggest are amazing. There is a little walk but you won't find most of the hotels on the strip to be as clean and modernized. There is a back way to walk that takes you further up the strip so you can avoid the foot traffic. These have full kitchens so you can cook. There are also grills by the pool. There is a little store on the opposite side of the street if needed and the hotel carries a few items for purchase. The log cabin pancake restaurant across the street is our favorite pancake place hands down. We have eaten at pancake pantry (not as special as people make it seem) and flapjacks (horrible). Easy to get to the 3rd floor where the lobby is located. Elevators are quick.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank gardeningteacher8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIClubSmokyMtn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hey there gardeningteacher, It sounds as though you were pleasantly surprised, which I am very happy to hear, but I want to make sure that I am communicating the fact that we are more than a hotel in effort to help my guest set the appropriate expectation of their stay with us . Our goal is to always exceed our guest expectations and send them home with lifetime memories each and every visit! Our activities department plays a huge part in meeting these goals, and I am so proud of the job Miss Misty and Miss Wanda do. They are both so passionate about what they do for our guest! The views are defiantly more a personal preference, we have request for both. My personal favorite is the mountain side we actually refer to it as “creek side”. I will not argue your point about The Log Cabin Pancake house they ROCK! Please don’t be a stranger; we hope to see ya’ll back again real soon! When you do return make sure to let us know your expectations. I promise we will work real hard to exceed them. Don Ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was our very first stay at a timeshare resort and at this location. We only live like an hour from Gatlinburg we came over because my daughter had a pageant. This place was very clean and roomy. We got a 2 bedroom villa with a King Bed and Jacuzzi tub in one room and a Full Size and Double Bed in the other room. This had 2 bathrooms, 3 TV's, and Fireplace. The staff was very friendly we stayed from a Friday-Tuesday. I was worried about being pressured about buying a timeshare and I wasn't pressured so that was good. Both the inside and outside pools were great. Also had hot tubs inside and outside. The only downfall was the pools were on the cold side. The temperature said 80 degrees, but I don't think it was 80 in the pool. There was plenty enough towels and wash cloths in the room for our family of 4 all of the days. Kitchen area was fully stocked with everything you needed if you were cooking. We had a room with a street view on the 4th floor. It was nice. There is also a temporary charge they put on your credit card of $115 for any damages you may do to the room. They say this will be put back on your card if everything in the room checks out good and nothing is tore up. So I would recommend staying here at this location! :)

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom villa is really roomy. It could sleep up to 8 people. It has 3 beds and a sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmsradmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIClubSmokyMtn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us hmsradmajor.I really appreciate your decision to stay with us. Please let us know how your daughter did in the pageant, we were all rooting for her! I hope to see y’all again soon. Don Ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

When we go to Gatlinburg this is where we like to stay. We are owners here but don't always get to stay here. The front desk staff, maintenance staff and housekeeping staff are wonderful. They will help you in any way they can. They have a can do attitude and always go above and beyond for us! We had to leave early this time due to a medical emergency. The rooms are really nice and always clean and well stocked. The décor has been updated and it is nice but we really liked the bear and mountain décor that was there. We do miss that but understand the change with the different owner. There are a few handicap things that we would love to see added but overall this is a wonderful place. Great for families or couples. Great views from all rooms and perfect distance to town. The only reason we don't give them a 5 is because of the handicap things that we feel should be added and the mattresses are too hard. Everything else is definitely a 5! Don Ward is an exceptional manager and has a wonderful staff. Thanks again for everything!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIClubSmokyMtn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Cherylw, thank you for your loyalty to our resort and for the great review of your recent stay. I and my staff are very serious when it comes to providing our guest with the highest vacation experience. I am very interested in hearing your suggestions of added handicapped things for the units. Please contact me directly here at the resort as we are currently planning our 2015 Annual Unit Maintenance scope of work, budget , and schedule and this is the perfect time to be able to add your suggestions , making it easy for you to give us that 5 on your return visit. I hope everyone is doing better and hope to see ya’ll again soon. I look forward to talking to you at your earliest convenience. Don Ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was our first trip to Holiday Inn Club Vacation's Smoky Mountain Resort and we loved it so much we purchased a week every other year to add to our current home week at Orange Lake in Florida. The condo was well appointed and extremely clean -- something we have become accustomed to at all the Holiday Inn Club Vacation resorts. Victor, one of the facilities technicians, was "Johnny-on-the-spot" to respond to a ceiling fan inquiry we had and wanted to ensure that our stay was enjoyable and without issues (which it was). He should be commended for his dedication to the organization and to its guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIClubSmokyMtn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hey there Susan B. I am so happy to hear that y’all enjoyed your visit with us so much that you decided to add us to your ownership! We are a good half way point between you and Orange Lake Country Club , so I look forward to taking care of y’all for many years to come . I promise me and my staff will work very hard to make all those visits as good, if not better, than your last! I will be sure to put Victor into our Orange Heart recognition program due to your very nice and much appreciated comments about his service. We will see y’all soon Don Ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have stayed here twice and both times were excellent. The outdoor jacuzzi is fun to sit in when it's snowing!!! Always have a drink handy to keep the cold away. The rooms are all spectacular. It is in easy walking distance to the town and all the attractions.

Room Tip: I like the rooms that face the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIClubSmokyMtn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Great to hear Paul J. Thanks for taking your time to review your last visit with us. Like I keep saying this type of review is our mai9n focus here! We strive to make each of your stays the “best yet”. I appreciate you choosing to stay with us on your last two visits and hope to see you again real soon on your third. I promise to work very hard to make it even better. Don ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I stayed with the Holiday Inn Club in Gatlinburg the weekend of April 26. I can't say enough nice things about this place!! We were very lucky to actually get an early check in, which was wonderful!!! The villa was super clean and had plenty of room. Towels were very plentiful! I honestly can't find anything bad to report about this place. Everyone was very helpful and polite. We will be sure to return!!!!

Room Tip: We had a villa on an upper floor; cuts down on noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksims071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIClubSmokyMtn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hey there Ksims071, I get very excited when I receive reviews like yours about our property, especially from a Senior Contributor such as you! Thank you for sharing your vast travel experiences and your recent stay here with us. I want your readers to know just how passionate my staff and I are about providing each and every one of our guests the best service, in turn, creating exceptional vacation experiences that are second to none – every time they visit us. No matter the issue, we are here 24 hours a day; seven days a week to ensure any issue you may encounter during your stay receives immediate attention. I personally make myself available to help when any issue arises at our resort. By providing that level of immediacy, we do our best to correct anything that may be amiss, which is what sets our resort apart from others and will hopefully keep you coming back to us – like so many of other guests. On your return visit make sure to let us know when you will be arriving and we will make every effort to get your unit ready as soon as possible. Hope to see ya’ll soon Don Ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Really had a great time - time share sales pitch was a bit over the top and way over priced. Very easy walk to all the fun in Gatlinburg!
Unit was a 1 bedroom and very comfortable etc.
We ate out for all meals but it was still nice to have kitchen stuff - we are fussy about coffee and brought our own beans, grinder and French Press. It allowed us to have our favorite coffee in the morning.
Got to watch NCAA basketball tournament with no problems!
Hope to go again!

Room Tip: Be firm with time share sales...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 19Watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIClubSmokyMtn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

I am really happy to hear y’all had such a “great time” 19watson! Sometimes our people can be a little passionate when sharing our ownership options with our guest. I hope ya’ll will come back and see us soon. Let me know what we can do to insure your expectations are meet. I promise we will work very hard to do just that. Thanks for staying with us. Don Ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 77 in Gatlinburg
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Historic Nature Trail
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#10 of 77 in Gatlinburg
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort

Address: 404 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#8 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £104 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from downtown Gatlinburg and nestled below the breathtaking views of Smoky Mountain National Park, Smoky Mountain Resort is in the heart of it all! This popular and easygoing family resort offers the perfect location as well as an array of on-site amenities such as indoor & outdoor pools, hot tubs, fitness center, billiard room, an activity center and more. When you're ready for sites, you need only walk through the gates of the resort and you're in downtown Gatlinburg, where you can enjoy the area's best dining & shopping. If you are looking for fun adventures for the family, you've come to the right place. From mountain hiking, to white water rafting, to 1,300 feet aerial rides above the city, Gatlinburg has something for everyone! And don't forget the large variety of attractions available for the family to enjoy. After a busy day, return to Smoky Mountain Resort to rejuvenate in your spacious one or two-bedroom villa. All villas feature fully equipped kitchens, a separate living room & dining room area, a queen-size pullout sofa sleeper, an over sized spa tub and separate shower, a fireplace, a private screened porch, washer and dryer, plus televisions and a DVD/VCR player for those evenings in. Imagine having all the room you need to enjoy the things you love most about a great vacation! * Please note that the resort does not offer daily housekeeping services. Housekeeping services are available at the property for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Gatlinburg-Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing