We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort
Ranked #23 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Actually, the name of this resort has changed to Smokey Mountain Resort now that it's part of the Holiday Inn timeshares.

We exchanged through RCI for a 1 BR unit. The unit was very spacious. Our living room/dining/kitchen area looked out onto a wooded mountain, and we could see the sky tram from our little balcony. We were on the 7th floor. The three main buldings make a triangle surrounding the pool and hot tub. It looked like one of the buildings was still undergoing internal construction, but we heard no noise.

The unit itself was very nice, large ceramic tile and low pile carpet on the floors. The bath was roomy and had a large whirlpool tub combined with a shower, and a large granite vanity. The stacked washer/dryer was off the bath. The bedroom had a comfortable king bed and a TV. There was a full kitchen with a regular smoothtop range and a compact size dishwasher, granite countertops. There was also a gas fireplace with a rock surround. The TV was above the fireplace. Our outer door opened into a small foyer, and the outer door of the unit next to us opened onto this same foyer, which was not a problem. The outer foyer door to the corridor also locked. The units did not have a connecting door. The bedroom window faced the outside corridor overlooking the pool area. The unit was very clean and well supplied, although we had to look for the extra towels that were under the bathroom sink. There were also four pool towels, but they were rather thin and small. Bath amenities, coffee, and dishwasher detergent were supplied, as well as one use of laundy detergent.

The resort has its own free parking deck with elevators and luggage carts. The location is an excellent one, just a couple of blocks from the main, heavily trafficked street in Gatlinburg, but there was very little traffic on our street, making it easy to come and go. There is a pancake house and gift shop right across the street from the resort. Check in was fast and easy, and we were allowed to just leave our key cards in the unit for quick checkout. There was no housekeeping service or towel resupply, and there is a $35 housekeeping fee per week, which has not been the norm for the other RCI exchanges that we've done. There was a wired, free Internet connection near the dining table.

Many accommodations in Gatlinburg are rather dated, but this is a fairly new resort and one we highly recommend. The only negatives I can think of are the $35 housekeeping fee, no towel resupply or housekeeping services during the stay, and the balcony was only about 4 feet wide, giving the feeling (if you fear heights) that you were out on a little ledge with a railing. It had a small table and two rocking chairs that barely fit. Wireless Internet would be nice, too, but the wired connection worked fine. To my knowledge, there is no spa or on-site restaurant, but there are many restaurants nearby.

All in all, a very nice condo, and the location can't be beat--in town but on a quieter street with a wooded view out back, on the side of town closest to the national park.

Gatlinburg is at the edge of the Great Smokey Mountains National Park, and Pigeon Forge (Dollywood) is only about 6 or 7 miles away. Downtown Gatlinburg is one little shop after another, with some local attractions such as a wax museum, aquarium, Ripley's, etc. Lots of pancake houses, souvenirs, and ice cream/candy shops. There is a trolley but we dd not use it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bnf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

924 - 929 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2009

This place is not the best place to stay. My stay was not a good experience at this hotel. The carpet was nasty, some of the desk staff are not too helpful. They don't provide you with good service. I ran out of towels, and their answer was that I needed to wash the ones in the room. We ran out of soap and the lady at the front desk did not look too happy to provide us with additional soap for the bathroom. We reserved for 7 days, and decided to cut it short. There is not good service, even the coffee in the lobby was empty. I don't know how they expect to stay in business while offering this type of service. We definitely will not return to this place. They are not customer service oriented. We own a timeshere through RCI and Summer Bay Resorts,and did not know anything about this hotel. According to the reservation agent, this hotel was one of the best in the area. I don't know where she got that from. Please, save your money for something else. We ran out of soap for the bathroom, and even that they only gave us 2 small round soap for a party of seven, after 5 days. We had to go down to the front desk to ask for the soap. Towels have to be exchanged. So, if you want new towels, you will have to take the dirty towels to the front desk to get new ones. My suggestion to anyone going to Gatlinburg is to stay away from this Holiday Inn Club. Definitely, It's not a good one to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank cesar222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We acquired our rooms through a timeshare exchange with RCI and were a bit frustrated that we didn't get our own familiar resorts the week after July 4th. I have to say, it was a wonderful surprise with a great location just off the main strip in Gatlinburg where there are lots (and I mean lots) of shops, restaurants, activities, live music, etc. The rooms were probably recently renovated as there was just an occasional "why is this here?" such as an open area under the counter where the sink sits, but the lodge look and new furniture were great! Everyone we dealt with were very hospitable and wanted to make our stay as good as possible. We had a two bedroom villa for one group of friends and family and a separate one bedroom villa for my daughter and her fiance. While it wasn't possible to have the rooms adjoining (though this is possible if you do the reservation through Holiday Inn, etc. and possibly RCI if done early enough), the staff did what they could and placed us on the same floor. I understand they do have three bedroom reservations by doing the two bedroom villa along with a one bedroom lock out room, so the next trip we will probably try for that if we need that much sleeping space. I actually stayed in the two bedroom, so I will comment more on that than the other unit. Our room had a balcony on the mountain side and we were on the 8th floor, so we had it all -- convenience to downtown as well as feeling like we were in the mountains. The rooms were great as we had one room with a king sized bed and jacuzzi and then a separate bedroom with two double beds, so that would technically sleep 4 people. I thought they would be twin beds, so was surprised when they were doubles. The couch also pulls out into a bed, but we didn't use this. All of this along with a well appointed living room and full-sized kitchen. We vacation several times a year at our timeshares in this area and were sooooo pleased with this resort due to the close proximity of "The Strip," the new feel of the resort decor and a very functional kitchen. We cooked a lot in the room to save money, but made several hikes and of course, did an afternoon of shopping in nearby Pigeon Forge. The one bedroom villa that we had was certainly fine for two people, but no where nearly as spacious as the two bedroom. The kitchen/living room area was smaller, as expected, and the balcony overlooked a roof, so if you plan to sit on the balcony and enjoy the views, you might ask for the mountain side. For us, this didn't really matter as we had the other unit that had a great view. It was a wonderful trip with friends from Germany who loved the entire experience and both of my adult children, so it was a wonderful long week-end in The Smokies. I would highly recommend this resort -- I will say I heard some pretty high quotes for the room rates, but have found this could be affordable if you do a bit of a search on TripAdvisor, etc. and if you consider that you can save money by eating some in the room. It would be very affordable, particularly if you were traveling with someone who would split the costs. The outdoor pool was very pretty as well as the lobby and activities were offered for children. If you have further questions, I'd be glad to answer as we go to this area frequently. We think it simply "has it all" -- all it needs is a beach to be the absolutely perfect vacation destination - ha!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabyBlue55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We arrived in Memphis, rented a car and headed to theHeartbreak Hotel. We did Graceland and then off to Oprey Land for a night. By now we were pretty tired of all the driving. We arrived to our final destination, Gatlinburg, TN. It took a while to get through Pigeon Forge with a lot of traffic congestion on July 3rd. As we were making our way through town we noticed chairs lined up on the sidewalk throughout all of Main Street. Later, we found out from the helpful desk staff, that there was a midnight 4th of July parade. We were impressed by the variety of the floats in the parade and how many people were in attendance in this out of the way spot. Upon our arrival we were greeted immediately, and our room was available eventhough we arrived a few hours early. Our 1 bedroom was clean and spacious. This was a timeshare exchange using our points. The hotel was in a great location. We were able to walk to Main Street which was only a few minutes down our street. The view off our balcony was fabulous. We were able to view Great Smokey Mtn. National Park.
We were about 20min. from Pigeon Forge and all its insanity. We did eat dinner there a few times, but the traffic was impossible. Most of our stay was in Gatlinburg. We walked the streets, shopped, ate great meals and sun bathed at the hotel pool. Daily activities were conducted at the pool. Ice cream, hot dog BBQ, races for kids were a few activities. The pool was smaller than anticipated, but very clean. Wi-Fi access was unavailable poolside.You were able to plug-in at your room with free access. We would definitely return to this hotel and area again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyztennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bo_011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 77 in Gatlinburg
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Historic Nature Trail
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#10 of 77 in Gatlinburg
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort

Address: 404 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#8 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £104 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from downtown Gatlinburg and nestled below the breathtaking views of Smoky Mountain National Park, Smoky Mountain Resort is in the heart of it all! This popular and easygoing family resort offers the perfect location as well as an array of on-site amenities such as indoor & outdoor pools, hot tubs, fitness center, billiard room, an activity center and more. When you're ready for sites, you need only walk through the gates of the resort and you're in downtown Gatlinburg, where you can enjoy the area's best dining & shopping. If you are looking for fun adventures for the family, you've come to the right place. From mountain hiking, to white water rafting, to 1,300 feet aerial rides above the city, Gatlinburg has something for everyone! And don't forget the large variety of attractions available for the family to enjoy. After a busy day, return to Smoky Mountain Resort to rejuvenate in your spacious one or two-bedroom villa. All villas feature fully equipped kitchens, a separate living room & dining room area, a queen-size pullout sofa sleeper, an over sized spa tub and separate shower, a fireplace, a private screened porch, washer and dryer, plus televisions and a DVD/VCR player for those evenings in. Imagine having all the room you need to enjoy the things you love most about a great vacation! * Please note that the resort does not offer daily housekeeping services. Housekeeping services are available at the property for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Gatlinburg-Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing