We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet”
Review of Sleepy Bear Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sleepy Bear Motel
Ranked #45 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

The motel is clean and quiet. It is located a distance from Gatlinburg but within driving distance--especially to arts and crafts areas.

There is a stream in back for which we paid extra to view which is impossible in the cold. The view over the creek is hideous; so, extra $ should not be charged. The ducks can be heard, but can't be seen from the rickety balcony when the temp is 29 degrees!

This motel does have a very clean, comfy room and bathroom, microwave + fridge. But no frills, coffee pot, free shampoo, hair dryer & the highway is impossible to run across to catch Trolley.

A delicious restaurant is across street serving pancakes that are wonderful; but you have to drive to it. No way to cross street on foot!

Coffee is served in office at 8:30am. Better bring your own coffee pot if you're like me and want coffee earlier!

The staff were very nice and helpful!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank Bentleybeagledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Very friendly staff. Large, but a little outdated room. Our room had a balcony at the back overlooking a small river with many ducks. Rooms are very clean and well equiped. Breakfast not included and not available.

They have a reasonable size pool at the front.

For your helpfull vote : There is a pancake house across the street with a very good breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DiveJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We happened to pull into this motel twenty years ago for an overnight when passing through the Smoky Mountains and we go back there whenever we want to visit the area--most recently for a night in early April. It's an older, plain motel, but it's comfortable and clean. We always get a room over the creek and love it when weather allows us to open the back door and listen to the sound of the creek and visit with the ducks. The woman at the desk was very friendly and helpful with suggestions for getting around town during the busy spring break weekend. You have to drive or take the trolley to downtown Gatlinburg (unless you're up for a good hike along the road), but we like the easy access coming into town from the east. We feel it's good value for the cost (mid-$60s this time).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NealB37093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The staff was great. Staff was very helpful. The kids loved the stream and the ducks. The ducks came and ate out of my hands. The hotel is outdated, but clean. It is not a new building, but you can tell they take care of it. Also an American owned small buisness.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sfb1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We had stayed a couple of days previously and decided to stay in the "creekside" room this most recent visit. It was very nice VERY clean and quiet. The little balcony was cool, breezy and sweet. The ducks entertained us in the evening and morning. The staff was extremely nice on the phone and even more so in person. Just nice and refreshing. We'll definitely stay again.

Room Tip: It's on the quiet side of Gatlinburg, but plenty to do and good restaurants nearby and the troll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Located on the quiet side of Gatlingburg, close to the Art Trail, The Sleepy Bear Motel is the perfect overnight (or even longer) place to stop if you are visiting The Smokey Mountains national park. The rooms are spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and a small but adequate bathroom. Rooms have a balcony overlooking a creek where you can sit and watch the ducks! There is a micro-wave in the rooms as well as coffee-making facilities if you should want to eat in your room but there is an excellent steak-house, The Alamo, a short walk up the road and a very good Pancake House, literally across the road, for breakfast, (there is also a pizza restaurant nearby which we didn't try) and, the trolley runs right by the door if you should want to leave the car and go into Gatlingburgh itself. Patti, the owner?/manager is friendly and welcoming, ready to offer help and assistance if required. She also brews good, complimentary coffee in the mornings. All-in-all it was an excellent place to spend a relaxing night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank anncal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Like the other poster, the Sleepy Bear is a family tradition for us. I have stayed there since I was a child, and I took my wife there for our honeymoon back in 1993. We have stayed there ever since, and in the SAME ROOM each visit. It is our "home away from home" when we are in Gatlinburg. It is a simple, but clean motel, located just far enough from town to be peaceful and quiet, yet close enough to be convenient to everything. We love the motel, and don't stay anywhere else. I would feel funny taking my family to another motel. We love the back deck with the stream, and the ducks love to be fed also. We recommend this motel to anyone who is going to Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SmokyMtnMan6643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
2 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Historic Nature Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
482 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
#48 of 78 in Gatlinburg
309 reviews
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Bear Motel

Address: 820 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4909
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleepy Bear Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Sleepy Bear Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing