We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Gorgeous”
Review of Elkmont Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elkmont Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a site right on the river. It was absolutely stunning. The sites are large and spacious. Ours had a fire ring with grill and also a place to hang your lantern. There was a nice big loop for the kids to ride bikes on and the weather was fabulous.

Keep in mind that you can't use your generator between 8 and 8 (some loops are completely generator off limits). I was a little skeptical since I've gotten used to the modern amenities that RV camping has to offer but if you know this going in, you have to accept it, and it was cool enough that didn't bother us. If you've got an RV, make sure you have a way to vent it, with a fan otherwise. The couple next to us took off after the first night. We got smart after the first night and used our bathroom vent fan to channel a breeze through one of the windows.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 136Andrew_B359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

This campground was a great place to stay in the smokies. It is centrally located fairly close to cades cove and even closer to Gatlinburg. We had to buy a new battery unexpectedly and it was easy with a town so close. Roaring fork trail is just outside Gatlinburg. It has a 3 mile round trip trail to grotto falls. You can even stand behind the falls. We went to this campground in mid june hoping to see the synchronous fireflies. When I asked the staff about it they said they were gone. I later found out from some other campers they just saw them the night before. Also the staff told us it would be okay to take our camper to clingman's dome. There is not any rv parking at clingman's dome. We were very lucky to find a few parking spots close together, but nearly got parked in due to people parking illegaly in the road. I really loved this campground, but the staff need to work on knowing more info about the area. Be prepared a bear was in the campground when we arrived. My parents have also seen a bear in this campground before.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amystang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Awesome safe family-friendly environment to camp with park ranger presence. Love to stay on sites by river to sleep while listening to gentle running water in river just few feet from site. Bears can be present at night, so rangers demand bear proofing your site at all times and will fine if in violation.

Room Tip: River sites in section G are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellejoycreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I've stayed at this site nearly every trip through the Smokys. It is a beautiful area, with two cold streams bordering each side. The individual sites are well manicured & situated for privacy. There are a tons of tent sites, so you can pick your favorite spot. Plenty of restrooms, which are not intrusive. There are several RV sites, though you wouldn't notice them, if not for driving the road. A small supply store at the front of the camp sells camp food, firewood, and a few other supplies. The rangers & staff are absolutely wonderful, and their passion for their works really shows. Some great hikes trailhead at the end of the camp, and Gatlinburg is only a short drive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iamrennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Elkmont, like other national park campgrounds, has no hookups. But there are bathrooms close to each group of campsites. Lanterns, more minimalist cooking, and a portapotty if you don't want to hoof it to the restroom in the middle of the night, make for a great camping experience (no dump station on site...it's 6 miles away). Rangers and check-in staff are helpful. You do have to put all food and cooking things in your car, or you will get a ticket, as friends have experienced (bears). In June there are frequent short rains, but beautiful weather overall. We were here to see the synchronous fireflies, and Elkmont is the only place you can camp to have unlimited time to see them during your stay.

Some sites can use generators; ours could not. You have to make reservations on reservations.gov, so if you want to use a generator, be sure you identify a site not in the restricted loop areas. Plan ahead to meet your needs, and this is a great place to stay. There is no pool, no amenities to speak of. Sleep quality depends on what you brought with you. It's quiet at night, and sites in our area were spacious. In generator areas, they were closer together.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this campground since I was 9. I'm now 35 and bring my kids! It is just so peaceful & beautiful! Most camp sites are on or very near the river! The sound of the river flowing is very serene! We want to venture out and try other campgrounds, but can't bring ourselves to do it! We just LOVE it here!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riddlesinthesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Been camping here for years. There are trails outside of the campground along the stream, great for wildflower & wildlife viewing; and for fly fishing. It's the closest campground to Gatlinburg, between the road to Newfound Gap/Clingman's Dome and Townsend/Cades Cove. Ample space for your tent or RV. The rangers at the check-in station are very knowledgeable about the park and can answer your questions. Stream-side sites go quickly, so make reservations early! No showers; but clean restrooms. Good launch point for backpacking trails into the mountains. Open during the spring-fall seasons. (Only Cades Cove open year-round.)

Room Tip: Make reservations early for stream-side sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TreadLightAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatlinburg
14.6 mi away
Arrow Creek Campground
Arrow Creek Campground
#29 of 52 in Gatlinburg
33 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bear Cove Village
Bear Cove Village
#13 of 53 in Pigeon Forge
154 reviews
2.4 mi away
Brevard Inn and Cabins
Brevard Inn and Cabins
#23 of 52 in Gatlinburg
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elkmont Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkmont Campground

Address: Smoky Mountain National Park, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Gatlinburg
Number of rooms: 220
Also Known As:
Elkmont Campground Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing