We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful church”

St Mary's Catholic Church
Ranked #27 of 110 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Walker, Louisiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We went to Sunday Mass at St. Mary's and it was a wonderful experience! The community was very welcoming as it is comprised of very few actual parishioners, most of the support for the church operation comes from donations from tourists.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    19
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, KY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful church”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We have been attending Mass here for 6 to 8 times a year for about 25 years. The parish is small but very friendly, and extremely gracious to visitors. The stained glass Stations of the Cross hang in front of the windows and are beautiful. If you are looking for a friendly gracious Mass, this is your place!!!!

Helpful?
5 Thank dobbydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Easter mass in Gatlinburg!”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We came to St. Mary's for Easter Mass. The place was packed and the mass was very nice and casual. There's also a church gift shop at the back that was open after mass. Also, it's nice how most of the mass was tourists stopping in for Easter mass.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank PeTTer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldspring, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Mass in The Smokey Mountains”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We attended 7:00 Mass on Saturday. The church is nice, but I missed the stained glass windows I read about in reviews. Nevertheless, we travelers appreciate Mass while on the road.

The pastor delivered a good homily. One nice thing is that if you put the bulletin on your windshield, you can park free on Sunday after last Mass.

Helpful?
4 Thank Bentleybeagledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice little church.”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Pretty little church in the Smokies to go to if in the area on a Sunday! I believe two Masses were offered on Sundays. Many visitors so you won't feel out of place. Recommend!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MicMC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Mary's Catholic Church also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to St Mary's Catholic Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing