We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unresistable Art at Paul Murray Gallery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Art of Paul Murray

The Art of Paul Murray
Ranked #45 of 108 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Step back into tyme, an 1800's Tenn. Mountain farm comes alive with paintings and sketches of real mtn folk. Self taught artist Paul Murray has dedicated his life to preserving the last flicker of the past. In these faces you see and feel their hard lived lives, the peacefulness of isolation from progress and a soul like no other can capture. Award winning art that touches the soul, an experience that wont be easily forgotten. Wood crafts, Mtn landscape photos, wildlife art, heritage homestead. Porch sitting and storytelling. Winter hours by Appointment or Satellite Gallery at American Sideshow 373 Parkway, Gatlinburg,
Cleveland, Texas
1 review
“Unresistable Art at Paul Murray Gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband & I were both taken with Paul Murray's art while visiting his gallery on vacation. The look in Aunt Emily's eyes & on Joseph's face really caught our attention, and then hearing the background stories of the two made us feel as if they were family. We wanted to take them home! We loved Paul's other pieces, as well. His work shows his love for the content, and how talented he is in expressing it. Kati Jane, Paul's wife, is the perfect compliment to his work. It is obvious that she feels his work, also. She was so very helpful in helping us narrow down a selection. We definitely are looking forward to seeing Paul's future work. It is truly amazing & a must see!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norton, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spellbinding work”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I were traveling the Great Smokey Arts and Crafts trail when we came across this amazing studio. You would never know from the outside what magnificent work is inside. Paul's` art work is truly spell binding. If you like quality art, make this stop! It truly made our vacation a winner. Magnificent!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paul Murray Gallery- Like no other”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We have been visiting this Gallery for many years now and each time we do we are filled with more love and appreciation of times past! We always come to visit 3-4 times a year and our walls at home prove it. We have several of Paul's exquisite works of art!! When you look into the eyes of the person in the art you melt into the story and feel you are hearing a story and feel the sadness, or joy and want to know more. Every piece we have we know the story behind it and we are so touched by each piece. We need more walls,LOL.
Please do not miss this Gallery. It is in a old home from the 1800's and well worth your time. Both Paul and Katie Jane ( Jo) have stories to tell and take great care in making you feel comfortable!!
Tom and Cyndee Snyder

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cyndee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the true taste of tennessee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Visiting Paul Murray's Gallery was one of the the highlights of our most amazing trip to Tennessee and the smokey mountains. Paul & Kati-Jane are amazing people with a true talent expressing their love and respect for these people through the art. We love Joey, Aunt Emily and Daniel and they hang proudly in our home. We look forward to another visit soon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MonicaSwa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Must See Gallery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were so happy we stopped by this gallery - almost missed it as it is a stand alone.
Paul Murray's work is impressive. He captures the heart and soul of each person and you feel like you know each one personally.

We had a hard time deciding which prints we wanted- only took two but will return next year for more! This is the best gallery in Gatlinburg!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank patca61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Art of Paul Murray also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to The Art of Paul Murray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing