We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Fresh, Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Fresh, Relaxing”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I have been to Gatlinburg on and off for the past 6 years and have found the perfect place to stay. The hotel is on the River. I can sleep with my balcony door open on cool nights. The view looking down river is spectular and can be seen from every room. The management staff has poured a lot of love in updating the rooms and it shows. I recommend staying here to anybody that wants a quit place on the river with great staff.

Room Tip: The 4th floor has the king beds with fireplaces in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    436
    221
    91
    62
See reviews for
498
603
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, MS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel many times. I am earn very high points with the Choice Hotel Reward program and can choose where I want to stay...I choose this hotel. I get so sick of hearing people whine and complain about this place. Believe me, if you complain about this hotel, you cannot be satisfied. The rooms are spacious, the balconies literally hang over the river and that sound alone is worth staying here. We are like anyone else, we want good service, clean rooms, plently of coffee and towels, but the complaints I have read are just not true based on our numerous stays here.
We are coming back late Spring, so get ready for us...Many thanks for making our Smoky Mountain trips so wonderful.

John & Debi Pruitt

Room Tip: The lower the floor, the more you can hear the river. We have a large vehicle, so park in the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. A night clerk named Jack was still working a breakfast shift and he should NOT be working in the hospitality field at all. He in a very loud voice was telling the other clerk how much he worked and how little "other" people worked and he worked his "butt" off around there and not one helped him. He was VERY LOUD and RUDE to the patrons. The other clerk kept trying to silence him but he wasn't listening to anything. He was just totally ignorant. The hotel was a low fair. I understand it is under construction but there is no excuse for broken toilet handles, unclean appearance plus gaping holes at the bottom of the walls where molding or just plain board should have covered up the gaps. The rest of the night/day clerks were very pleasant. Breakfast was nothing outstanding. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Our group was extremely disgusted with our rooms. There was body hair and some type of brown goo in the shower. The bottom was also stained with the dirt of the previous users. Who knows when it was last cleaned There are dirt smudges all over the walls. We also found wads of hair in our bed and could see through the sheets in spots! To our shock after seeing these rooms, we noticed housekeeping is leaving hand decorated envelopes asking for tips for cleaning these rooms that are not clean! The website dedicated to this hotel is extremely misleading, it is no where even close to as nice as the pictures provided. Don't stay here. There are cheaper rooms on this street that are much nicer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
285 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Warning--this is not a hotel. This is a motel, in the full 1968 meaning. A bunch of rooms with doors opening to the outside. Very noisy from street traffic. Old and worn carpets. Everything about it was just plain old. I chose it because it's the only non-smoking facility in Gatlinburg (or pretty much, the entire state), but with air conditioners sucking their intake from the common outdoor walkway, the smells from the unit are going to be smoke, mildew, etc. Breakfast was sub-subpar. But the view of the river was nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank SCDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The best part of this older hotel is its location. It is backed up to the Little Pigeon River. Our balcony literally hung over the river from which we could watch, listen, and enjoy everything about it. It is conveniently located within walking distance of the family-oriented activities in Gatlinburg. Though our handicap room was small, it boasted a shower into which you could roll a wheelchair. The six grab bars in the bathroom made it safe and easy to get around. There is some covered parking and elevator access to the second floor. The friendly desk clerk proactively gave us tips on places to eat and visit. The breakfast was sparse and was not restocked. The orange juice and apple juice were so watered down that you could hardly tell the difference. It appeared they were doing some renovations. Hopefully, they will do the miscellaneous repairs such as the toilet paper holder that was about to fall off the wall. While I could forgive the torn bedskirt and other indications that this was an older property, I could not forgive the terrible Internet. It was up and down, though mostly down. It was impossible to check e-mail. If Internet is important, skip this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jlmgwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

If you're looking to save money in a traditional Gatlinburg motel setting along a roaring creekbed, Comfort Inn on the River will do. The inn has recently undergone some remodeling, and it seems workmen left paint buckets and lumber lying around in odd places. Our room on the second floor met my standards for cleanliness, but when we arrived a few light bulbs were out and there was a single trash can in the room - none in the bathroom. We asked for bulbs and a trash can and received both immediately. The dysfunctional light bulb on our balcony was less easily resolved. The folks who staffed the front desk were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was decent, sausage gravy and donuts etc., but it would have been nice to have had option of fresh fruit. Lots of traffic noise came from street side but that was pleasantly drowned out by rushing waters from the creek, which we heard by keeping balcony door open. Unfortunately there are no screens so you have to risk bugs flying in if you choose open-door option.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
1.1 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Address: 293 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5150 (Formerly Comfort Inn On The River)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#18 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The River Hotel Gatlinburg
Comfort Inn Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing