We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a very good hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Ranked #12 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Washington DC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“This is a very good hotel!”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We enjoyed our 4 night stay at the Park Vista. But we could have enjoyed it more.

We loved our room with a comfortable king bed and pretty coach. The room was attractive, with wood built in dresser, armoire, and desk. The bathroom sink area was well designed, but the room with the bathtub and toilet was so small I bumped around in it. Tiny!

We enjoyed our buffet breakfast at the hotel restaurant. I think they served every type of good quality breakfast food. I had fun in the pools. Yes, they are open to midnight!

We regret that we didn’t get to see the amazing views. When we checked in, we weren’t offered an upgrade, or an opportunity to purchase an upgrade. We redeemed credit cards points for this vacation, and were forced to use travelocity to book our hotel. When we checked in, we were told that travelocity customers were assigned to rooms on the first 4 floors. We were told when we checked out that it is possible to purchase an upgrade. I wish we had been offered an upgrade!

This hotel has balconies, but it’s not possible to sit on them. On the fourth floor, adults have to stand on the balcony to see the view. We really wanted to see the beautiful views we had read about, but didn’t have the opportunity.

I enjoyed this hotel and would go back – on a higher floor!

Room Tip: Select a high floor to see the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMParkvista, General Manager at Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear ThomasO;

Thank you for staying with us! I am sorry you did not receive an upgrade at checkin, it may have been that a room on the upper floors was not available for your entire stay. Not sure but hope that you will return to stay with us again soon. Fortunately, given good weather and no rain, the views from all floors are just spectacular.
Thank you again and travel safely,
Jackelyn Schafer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,380
    935
    420
    245
    154
See reviews for
1,424
902
55
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Pay to stay at the Park Vista - it's worth it! The lobby, the restaurant, the rooms, the views, the quiet, all worth the price and the little extra effort to get up the hill. We stayed on the 12th floor and had a fabulous view of the Smokies. Would definetly stay at the Vista again. A great hotel for a great vacation destination.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

OMG what a view. This 15 story hotel sits atop a mountain over looking Gatlinburg on one side and the great smokey mountains on the other.The pool and hot tub was awesome.Check in was fast and friendly.The internet-business center in the lobby was private and comfortable.The Firefly lounge was excellent. The 50cent shuttle to the town far below, picks you up at the front door take you to just about everywhere in town and there are two of the five different scheduled shuttles that drive up the mountain to the hotel every 25 min.This is a great hotel to come to for pleasure or business

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor facing the town ,with the hotel being on a mountain ,this makes the town a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadofwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMParkvista, General Manager at Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear nomadofwow;

Thank you for staying with us and I am so glad you enjoyed the view! Every morning while walking through the parking area I make it a point to stop for just a second to enjoy those spectacular mountains! From the parking lot to the 15th floor, the views are just beautiful and difficult to describe in words. Thank you for staying and sharing your experience.
Travel safely and return soon.
Jackelyn Schafer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We ended up at the Park Vista after our first hotel was a bust. I would/will be staying with them on my next trip. It is alittle off the strip, but parking is cheap and they have a trolly stop at the hotel. The rooms are very nice and all have a private balcony.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better, try to get 6+, 15 is the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Compared to most hotels in Gatlinburg, this is probably one of the very few "full service" hotels you'll find: on-site restaurant, room service, gift shop, wakeup calls, concierge, etc. We spent a 4-night long weekend in Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg & spent 2 nights in each location (Thurs & Fri in a Pigeon Forge hotel for the Dolly Parton Parade, Sat & Sun here for Mother's day). All staff members were professional, pleasant, and extremely accommodating. The front desk clerk (Donna) was so gracious to upgrade us to a King Parlor (2-room suite) and arranged for the concierge to have chocolates delivered to our room for my husband's birthday. I can't tell you how much the little touches like this meant to us. My 4 year old loved the see thru elevators as we proceeded to the 14th floor. Both rooms were very clean as were the linens. Moreover, we ordered room service for dinner & enjoyed the balcony view of the Gatlinburg city lights (cheaper than going out & having to pay to park)! The indoor pool area was well maintained, complete with waterslides, a hot tub and towel service; my daughter had a blast & I was shocked to learn that it was open til midnight! Parking was free, which was great. We had breakfast in the restaurant the day we checked out; what a nice selection: chef prepared omelettes, pancakes, belgian waffles, bacon, sausage, cold cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit, nearly anything you could want for breakfast, they had it.

Bar none, The Doubletree Park Vista was by far THE BEST HOTEL in Gatlinburg I have ever stayed at. My ONLY gripe (and I really shouldn't complain about it given how well we were treated but I travel for business a lot and am not used to this, plus consumers ought to know) was that they charge $9.95 per day for High Speed Internet access in your room, where most hotels offer it for free (using the PCs in the lobby is free, though). If they were to waive this, it would be the perfect place to stay in the smokies! Despite this, I would definitely come back.

This is a nice, upscale property secluded high up in the mountains. If you're budget conscious, think about the overall value (and frustration) that you'll soon pay for at that Super 8 or Family Inn you're considering. Don't cut corners on quality. The staff work very hard to ensure you feel welcome and that you enjoy yourself. There is no comparison; you get what you pay for, period. If you're on vacation, pay the money and enjoy yourself. You won't regret it.

Thank you to Donna (Front Desk Clerk), Lee (Restaurant Host), Sue (Housekeeping Staff), and to all the staff who made this a wonderful weekend for me and my family. We look forward to many happy returns!

Room Tip: Rooms that end in lower numbers (i.e., 1401-1410 on the 14th floor where we stayed) have better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMParkvista, General Manager at Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Tara L;
WOW.. THANK YOU for sharing your great experience! You are 100% correct, "it is the little things that mean the most" and our staff is focused on making sure we deliver on the little things as well as the big things. I am so very proud of each and every one of the staff members here at the Park Vista and as you can tell from your experience, they love having guests visit and to share our home. We look forward to having you and your family again soon.
Travel safely,

Jackelyn Schafer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

quick and pleasant check in staff helpful and friendly. trolley stops outside door to take you into gatlinburg, tn. they charge for parking in all of Gatlinburg trolly is 50 cents a trip they have all day pass of $2, and although they dont always come every 20 mins, they do get there kinda close to that timing. the hotel has a good breakfast buffet that is probaby alittle high in cost, but hey what hotel isnt its 12.95 plus tax and drink. the hotel is clean and has a large pool with hot tub attached. I think there may be an exercise room too. The view from your room are awesome and I perfer the view over the parking lot, the mountains rise higher and are breath taking. I was here for a seminar so my room rate was reasonable. however I cant speak to how reasonable it is for the normal vacation stay. I enjoyed my stay here, and several folks saw a black bear cross the bottom of the drive around 8 pm for two nights. The drive is long and up and very steep hill.

Room Tip: rooms over looking parking lot have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwhkop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
643 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My wife and I decided to take a weekend getaway trip this weekend and we werent disappointed! Stopped by Cherokee and went to Harrahs Cherokee and ate at Paula Deen's restaurant and instead of staying in Cherokee (where Harrahs was sold out and only second rate lodgings were available)...we elected to drive 1 hour more to Gatlinburg late at night on May 12, 2012.

The drive through the Smokey Mountains was breathtaking but we were tired and wanted to get to bed and watch end of playoff basketball game (why wasnt the bar open at 12:30 am??)

When we arrived Jacob (whom we had called earlier to mention that we would be coming in late) was wonderful! He was cheerful and friendly at a very late hour (12:30 am on May 13,2012). He gave us nice mountain view/city view room on high floor (14th floor, room 1402) which was great as the hotel has 15 floors and he set us up with a late check out (12 noon) unprompted. Real touch of class, considerate, and exemplary customer service!!!

Pros:
-Great location high up from city with amazing mountain views
-Mountain lodge feel throughout place
-Doubletree Cookies!
-Two indoor pools (one looked like wading pool; other pool by water slide looked like 4-5 feet deep; the whirlpool was adjacent to pool with slide); there is also a two slides which would be great for kids
-Nice Hotel circular layout with elevators with view of atrium
-Amazing customer service (thanks Jacob!); after a series of bad experiences with hilton hotels despite being HHonors member I was beginning to lose faith in the Hilton brand and one great experience gave me faith in the brand (at least the doubletree which we have always had great experiences with)
-Got great AAA rate for double bed mountain view
-nice HD TV had a lot of channels more than the usual (76 channels)


Cons:
-Carpet in room had some stains otherwise standard doubletree amenities
-Would have liked hotel bar to be open later (we arrived around 12:30 am) and it was completely dead and closed.
-No door in bathroom vanity area (so if you need to use the bathroom etc at night would shine light into bedroom and distrub your partner) (my wife's pet peeve)


Overall great experience and we will definitely come back and stay here in future!

Room Tip: Request mountain view room/high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonanJordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg

Property: Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Address: 705 Cherokee Orchard Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#20 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Vista a DoubleTree by Hilton Gatlinburg hotel is known for its spectacular views and exquisite service. Overlooking the beautiful Smoky Mountains National Park and the quaint city of Gatlinburg, each guestroom has its own private balcony with amazing views. Conveniently located on the City’s Trolley Route, The Park Vista is only minutes from the many restaurants, shops and attractions that downtown Gatlinburg has to offer. And if your adventures include a visit to Dollywood Theme Park or a day of Outlet Shopping we are only minutes away! All guestrooms include a 42” flat screen television, refrigerator and wireless high-speed internet access. Other hotel amenities include:• In-room Dining• Business Center • Complimentary Wireless HISA in public areas• Spectacular Indoor Pool / Water Park• Outdoor Playground & Arcade• State-of-the-art Fitness CenterEnjoy your favorite beverages and appetizers, expertly created and served in our own Firefly’s Patio Lounge. Or relax and enjoy an enticing menu of freshly prepared Southern-inspired selections at The Vista Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. With just over 25,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space as well as an executive boardroom, our professional catering and convention services team will insure a flawless and memorable experience for your next sales meeting, seminar, luncheon or social event. Whether your next visit to Gatlinburg involves a meeting, leisure or both, our friendly staff will always welcome you to The Park Vista a DoubleTree by Hilton with our signature, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie and true southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Vista Resort
Park Vista Gatlinburg
Park Vista Motel Gatlinburg Tn
Park Vista Hotel Tenn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing