We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
NC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a good experience!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

The first problem we encountered was the lack of free wi-fi. On the website, it states, "free wi-fi available". I talked to 3 different people before I got an answer to my question. The first staff member stated that she didn't know the answer. So she put me through to someone else. Then, without answering my question, she transferred me to someone else. Then I was put on hold while the last person looked up the answer. She then came back to me saying that we had free wi-fi available in the commons area and in the restaurant. Oh, well. I paid $9.95 to use the internet for an hour or so before our party! I didn't wish to conduct my internet business in public. After paying $111.00 for a room, I would have had to go to a public setting to use my computer, not in the privacy of my room! I was not happy! It was very warm in the room when we first entered. We turned the heat down to 60 degrees and left a little while later left for the party. When we came back to the room a few hours later, it was even warmer. We turned the thermostat down as far as it would go, but the fan couldn't be turned down! It was ok for a while. We went to bed (another problem to be discussed later) and the temperature was comfortable for a while. Then we would get cold, then hot, over and over. We couldn't sleep! The 3rd problem. Entering the room for the first time, I was very surprised to see that the beds had no bedspreads on them! It looked as though someone from the staff just didn't finish the room. It wasn't a good feeling to think it might be a sanitation problem. We had friends 2 doors down from us, and they had bedspreads on their beds. The bed was very uncomfortable, so uncomfortable in fact, that with the heating/cooling problem added to it, we felt compelled to get up around 4:00 am, to drive 1 1/2 hours back home to sleep! I am not a person who complains a lot, but this trip was not enjoyable at all. My husband and I stayed there last year and had no problems. But after this year's stay, I will not recommend this hotel and will not stay there in the future. We will find another place in Gatlinburg when we have our annual Christmas party in your hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
6 Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,358
    928
    417
    242
    154
See reviews for
1,408
894
55
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centre, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We did the prepay and it was very reasonable. Does the hotel ever give discounts to return customers. We would be very interested for a weekend trip soon again.The only thing I can say bad about the room was the mattress was not very comfortable in room 1407 but the lines sheets made up the difference.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clinton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We took our kids and grand kids for our annual Christmas getaway together.We all loved it.Beautiful property and the rooms are magnificent.We had stayed at this property before Double Tree took it over and it was a let down.Now since Hilton/Double Tree has it it is great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

My family recently stayed at the park Vista for a three night getaway.

We checked in on Thursday night and the hotel was crowded with a first responders conference. We were offered a free upgrade for a two room suite. We had a king bedroom with a full bath and a small second bedroom with 2 sets of bunk beds. This was perfect for a family. The kids loved having their own bunk room with a nice flat panel tv and a wi game station. My wife and I enjoyed our private king. The rooms are well furnished and very comfortable. The bathrooms are a little small but nice.

The kids loved the large indoor pool with two water slides. The hot tub was great. There is an adequate workout room. Towels are provided in the pool and workout room.

We ate the breakfast buffet each morning and the selection and food was very good. We ate wings and burgers with drinks in the lobby bar area one night and it was all good.

The Park Vista is off the main drag with great views of the mountains and Gatlinburg. We walked into Gatlinburg. But the trolly will pick you up right in front of the hotel and take you to various points in the area.

I have stayed in many Gatlinburg hotels. The vast majority are older and need updating. The Park Vista is far and away the nicest choice in Gatlinburg.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TennesseeTravelerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senoia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Very expensive, no free breakfast. At the rate they charge they could serve steak for breakfast and still make a profit, but NO, not even a free donut! I was shocked to find I had to pay @$10 if I wanted the continental breakfast. I will never stay here again just for principles.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This was our first family visit to Gatlinburg and since I am a HHonors Diamond member we always prefer to stay at a Hilton hotel. We opted for the Park Vista due to it's elevated location which we confirmed give it the best hotel views in Gatlinburg. Although note it is set back about 5-7 mins off the main strip in Gatlinburg, so the free trolley, a long walk or driving your car down to the strip would be your transportation options if you plan to spend a lot of time on the strip. I also found the rooms, lobby and other common areas of the hotel to be fairly modern for a hotel that appears to have been here a while, but it was far from contemporary either. The checkin/checkout process was simple and easy, but I guess housekeeping is very aggressive about turning over rooms because someone knocked/came through our door four times within 15 minutes even though we had a late checkout. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant near the lobby was good and everything was fresh. The indoor pools, water slides and arcade for kids was a real plus and is definitely a draw for those with little ones - especially when the weather outside is not so nice. Overall, the hotel has a lot to offer - especially for those with kids who don't mind a light commute down to the strip for shopping/dining/entertainment.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for a better view. Mountain view rooms are only better than city view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymour, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

It would have been nice if the hotel would have given a heads up that there was going to be a parade on the evening of our reservation. Especially considering that during the parade the Parkway is shut down & there is no other way to get to the hotel. We had to sit in traffic for 2 hours. My only other complaint is that we could hear the elevators running all night and all the foot traffic outside our room. It was not at all the quiet night away that my Husband and I had hoped for. The tv remote would hardly work and no free wifi.

The good things were that the hotel does have a nice lobby with a bar and a restaurant. We didn't get to try them out because we were so tired and frustrated by the time we finally got there. The room also had nice toiletries and the coffee in the room was good. The room itself was fine....of course with the exception of the noise level.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg

Property: Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Address: 705 Cherokee Orchard Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#20 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Vista a DoubleTree by Hilton Gatlinburg hotel is known for its spectacular views and exquisite service. Overlooking the beautiful Smoky Mountains National Park and the quaint city of Gatlinburg, each guestroom has its own private balcony with amazing views. Conveniently located on the City’s Trolley Route, The Park Vista is only minutes from the many restaurants, shops and attractions that downtown Gatlinburg has to offer. And if your adventures include a visit to Dollywood Theme Park or a day of Outlet Shopping we are only minutes away! All guestrooms include a 42” flat screen television, refrigerator and wireless high-speed internet access. Other hotel amenities include:• In-room Dining• Business Center • Complimentary Wireless HISA in public areas• Spectacular Indoor Pool / Water Park• Outdoor Playground & Arcade• State-of-the-art Fitness CenterEnjoy your favorite beverages and appetizers, expertly created and served in our own Firefly’s Patio Lounge. Or relax and enjoy an enticing menu of freshly prepared Southern-inspired selections at The Vista Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. With just over 25,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space as well as an executive boardroom, our professional catering and convention services team will insure a flawless and memorable experience for your next sales meeting, seminar, luncheon or social event. Whether your next visit to Gatlinburg involves a meeting, leisure or both, our friendly staff will always welcome you to The Park Vista a DoubleTree by Hilton with our signature, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie and true southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Vista Resort
Park Vista Motel Gatlinburg Tn
Park Vista Gatlinburg
Park Vista Hotel Tenn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing