We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE....Don't Waste your time or MONEY!!!!! Would not let me dog stay there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Plaquemine, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE....Don't Waste your time or MONEY!!!!! Would not let me dog stay there”
Reviewed 9 February 2010

This place has the WORST customer service on the planet. My family (myself, husband,son,parents and inlaws) planned two months in advance to stay at Park Vista. I paid in full for my rooms three weeks prior to our arrival. We traveled 14 hours and when we got to Park Vista they informed me that they didn't have any rooms available. They had overbooked and we where basically "screwed". The Head manager wouldn't even give us a free night or anything! PARK VISTA IS HORRIBLE!!!!! The building is not nice at all it is old and nasty. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gulotta3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,395
    944
    428
    248
    159
See reviews for
1,442
918
55
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

We've stayed here several times before within the last ten years. The hotel on the inside is very outdated. The rooms need a major makeover (damaged oak furniture, boxy TV, uncomfortable materess, water leak stains in bedroom and bathroom)
Very very noisy with all the teenage youthgroups there for the weekend. From the 13th floor you could hear alot of them in the lobby at 11:30pm.

I took an online survey once we returned home and received an email back from the manager of the hotel. I was informed that renovations have begun in Jan and should be complete by June 2010. All the rooms will be completely renovated with flat screen tv's, furniture, new lighting, wallpaper, carpet...etc)

We may try this one more time but not sure. I've stayed in Hampton Inn & Suites & Holiday Inn Express's for less $$ and they are more up to date w/the times.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank villewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We stayed at Park Vista in June of 2007. Great views from just about any room. The trolley bus stops right at the front lobby. Will take you to town and back , so you don't need to drive your car. The hotel is at the top of a large hill (or small mountain). Has mountain view or city views. Our teenage kids loved the place, so much so that we're going back this spring. Hotel is currently going through a renovation. Hopefully we'll get one of the renovated rooms. Will have refrigature and 42" HD LCD TV'. Got a good price on a 6 day stay. The whole family is looking forward to the trip.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMac002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

OK,………I am not a tightwad , it is the principle. I will not pay for Wi-Fi in what is supposed to be a nice hotel (Park Vista, Gatlinburg) ……….even Motel 8 has free internet!
Hotel was quite but then it seemed like there were very few staying there. You cannot walk to town and will have to pay for parking or take the trolley if you visit the town. I would much rather spend my money on a hotel closer to town. The price was right for the Park Vista, we paid $12.76 for 2 nights because we received two nights free from a Ford dealership with the purchase of our new car.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank odie81Tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRAY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

I made my reservations in advance and was crystal clear that I was traveling with two pets. I was told the pet fee was $25. I even asked the question "$25 total for both pets" and was told "yes".
I checked in holding a pet and holding another on a leash.
(It was very obvious both pets were mine.) and was charged $25.

The stay was nice enough and I was happy enough to want to make the hotel my regular, but when I went to check out they announced I owed another $25 for the second pet. I left feeling deceived and will not be back.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BunnyHuggerJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynardville, TN
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

I stayed at the Park Vista with my colleagues when we went to a conference in October. We were very satisfied with our stay. We were most happy with the convenience of the trolley, which took us to the Convention Center each day. We didn't go down and do karaoke the night of our arrival, and were disappointed when there was no karaoke the next night. We also were not too happy with the fact that dogs were allowed in the hotel.

The bed was very comfortable. We also enjoyed sitting on the sofas and chairs downstairs, as we awaited our friends joining us.

I would definitely stay again on a business trip.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hogskinbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

After reading all these reviews, I am coming to the conclusion that people find whatever they are looking for. If they look for negatives, they will find them, ....if they look for positives, they will find those too and will additionally attract a positive environment.

I was greeted at front desk with a smile, and plesant friendly small talk. Reservation was just as planned. I made a request of an item needed in the room,, and not only did they accomadate that, but they called an hour later to make sure that I did. Room was very clean, smelled plesant, and well laid out.

Some say furhishings are dated and worn. The room did show some wear on wood, but nothing that a little Old english could'nt take care of.

Our nights were quiet. We stayed on the 13th floor (out of 15) and not sure if that had anything to do with how quiet it was, but we never heard any noisy hall or lobby people, and the parking lot was full so there were plenty of people there.

My wife had a little issue with bed being too soft rather than firm, ...but she has issues with any bed she sleeps in other than her own (grin). They do have a trolley that runs every half hour into town (check time of year runs though), That saves you a long walk into town, or saves you $8 parking if you drive into town.

My only complaint is one I have with most hotels I stay in, there is just not enough outlets for computer, cell phone chargers, or any other things you need to plug up, without having to sacrifce a light, clock, tv etc. But (when I can remember) I try to always try to carry plug strips (and advise the same if you are a "where do I plug it up" family.

If you are an average person that just wants a clean nice room at a reasonable price, and service aval. when you need it, and have the best view in Gatlinburg, you should be very happy with this place. We were :)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
317 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
446 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg

Property: Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Address: 705 Cherokee Orchard Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#20 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Vista a DoubleTree by Hilton Gatlinburg hotel is known for its spectacular views and exquisite service. Overlooking the beautiful Smoky Mountains National Park and the quaint city of Gatlinburg, each guestroom has its own private balcony with amazing views. Conveniently located on the City’s Trolley Route, The Park Vista is only minutes from the many restaurants, shops and attractions that downtown Gatlinburg has to offer. And if your adventures include a visit to Dollywood Theme Park or a day of Outlet Shopping we are only minutes away! All guestrooms include a 42” flat screen television, refrigerator and wireless high-speed internet access. Other hotel amenities include:• In-room Dining• Business Center • Complimentary Wireless HISA in public areas• Spectacular Indoor Pool / Water Park• Outdoor Playground & Arcade• State-of-the-art Fitness CenterEnjoy your favorite beverages and appetizers, expertly created and served in our own Firefly’s Patio Lounge. Or relax and enjoy an enticing menu of freshly prepared Southern-inspired selections at The Vista Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. With just over 25,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space as well as an executive boardroom, our professional catering and convention services team will insure a flawless and memorable experience for your next sales meeting, seminar, luncheon or social event. Whether your next visit to Gatlinburg involves a meeting, leisure or both, our friendly staff will always welcome you to The Park Vista a DoubleTree by Hilton with our signature, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie and true southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Vista Resort
Park Vista Gatlinburg
Park Vista Motel Gatlinburg Tn
Park Vista Hotel Tenn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing