We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad, Not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #66 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed at the river Terrace Resort this past weekend. The staff was friendly and the lobby was neat. There are two extremely steep hills getting to the back of the property, so make sure you've got your climbing legs. The room was ok, nothing exceptional, but nice for a two night stay to take in the fall scenery. The place definitely needs to be updated, they are extremely large though, but the bed was comfortable, and the shower was hot.

Easy and quick walk to the Parkway and easy access to the hotel from the parkway driving.

Overall, it was a positive experience. But, if I had my choice (they were booked) i would stay at the Hilton Garden Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mountain View building. Good view out over Gatlinburg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpalm2p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

We appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a “positive experience”. We are gradually working on the maintenance of each room as our units are under a renovating schedule. We apologize if this was an issue for you. We hope you come back to visit us soon so that we may have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

726 - 732 of 910 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

We had a nice terrace overlooking the river. The room was clean and fresh. The surroundings were peaceful, perfect for a getaway. The only negative was no complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icestorm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since your stay and would love to have you visit us again. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely, Nat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I was there last weekend for a wonderful, inspiring conference. A big thanks to Enola and other staff members that made this a very enjoyable weekend. The location was great. Walking distance of most anything you wanted to do. I will most definitely consider this place for a vacation in the future!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sftbllmm4fn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since your stay and would love to have you visit us again. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely, Nat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Just returned home from a 3 day retreat at River Terrace and Convention Center. Let me just say, if you are looking for somewhere to hold a conference or retreat, this is the place to go. The Staff there went above and beyond our expectations to meet the needs of our group. From friendly faces, to amazing decorations for our event, to wonderful food, to just knowing what we needed even before we asked. Enola and her staff receive and excellent rating and 5 stars. Thank you. The location of the facility is amazing too. Easy access in and out, and right in the heart of Gatlinburg. My only suggestion is that the actual hotel rooms need some serious TLC. All our needs were met, but the rooms need updating and remodeling. Tubs need some TLC and equipment updated. However each room did have a working fridge and microwave and very spacious, sleeping 4 to a room comfortably. We will return and bring our family for a great vacation in Gatlinburg. Thanks again Enola for all that you did. You and your team made the retreat amazing!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since your stay and would love to have you visit us again. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely, Nat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This hotel really is tops, right in the heart of Gatlinburg, walking distance from everything, amazing price, and fabulous staff. Helped make the weekend perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since your stay and would love to have you visit us again. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely, Nat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Didn't stay here but attended the conference, loved the weekend, the staff went above and beyond and to accomidate all of us. They were warm and polite and on top of everything. Enola was the greatest.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank easwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since your stay and would love to have you visit us again. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely, Nat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I was there this past weekend for an awesome conference. Enola made sure we had great meals and ensured we had everything we needed! Such a great location for vacation or a conference!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Thank you for your review. We have updated our resort since your stay and would love to have you visit us again. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely, Nat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#18 of 77 in Gatlinburg
998 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#33 of 77 in Gatlinburg
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Historic Nature Trail
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Address: 240 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3208
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £58 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains River Terrace Resort and Convention Center in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, all within minutes of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park. With easy walking access to the main street in Gatlinburg and a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities, your dream vacation is waiting at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing