We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay and good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #65 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Sikeston, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good place to stay and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Great place to stay. All except leaving my little girls stuffed turtle in the room and room service said they didn't find anything (shame!) But the rooms were clean and great location. Walking distance to downtown. Loved it!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r_perkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that the staff wasn’t able to assist you further in locating your daughter’s stuff animal. Thank you for calling us a “great place to stay!” We are so glad to hear that you loved your stay and we are thrilled that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    209
    191
    135
    138
See reviews for
276
315
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
VIRGINA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

The room was cheap for the Gatlinburg area. Convenient location. Large room with a terrace. Very clean. Most of the wooden furniture and cabinets were old but clean and I was not there to stay in the room so this did not matter to me. However, they do need to purchase new bedding. The bedding was clean however very worn. Had to let the hot water run 15-20 minutes the night we checked in before taking a shower. My husband had hot water immediately the next morning with no problems but when I started to shower, the hot water was intermediate. It would cut off and I would get a blast of cold water. Not a good start to the morning. The evening desk clerks were friendly and very knowledgable. The morning desk clerk did not inquire if I had a good stay, therefore, I did not inform them of the water issue. Quick check-in and check-out. Overall, the problems did not outweigh the plus factors. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kepnitreel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for your review of River Terrace Resort. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. As we continue to make improvements to the property we will take your comments under consideration. We are thrilled that you will be coming back and look forward to hosting you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

I attended a conference gathering for my job at this location. The rooms were not cleaned well at all, and were slightly outdated and old. Staff at front desk were not able to keep up with the simplest tasks. I left a note and my spare key at the front desk for pickup by a person of my party that was arriving late. This task was a failure for the staff, as a new set of keys were issued to that person, the note was not given, and the first set of keys were disabled. Upon trying to enter the room with the second set of keys, the door wouldn't open and we had to trek back down the hill to have a third set of keys issued. Also, the conference amenities were subpar. The food served was average at best, but the timing of it being served to us was way off. We had to wait while it was being set out, which caused scheduling problems for the tight conference schedule. There was also problems with how the billing charges were handled. Some people were not charged for their extra nights stay after the conference. Instead those nights were billed directly to the conference committee instead. I would avoid this place at all costs!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firedude21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the issues that you experienced during your job sponsored convention. Our in resort events team is there to assist you with all your needs. We are sorry that there were any challenges at all. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact us at your convenience at 1-800-217-5076
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
150 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

This is an older downtown Gatlinburg hotel, calls itself a resort but does not offer any resort activities, it is affiliated with Westgate resorts. There are 2 pools of moderate size, rooms are large, furniture in rooms is older type hotel furniture as are the televisions which are the older tube type, there is free Wi-Fi and maid service daily. The room consists of a large bed area with a partially separate large closet and sink, dressing table area and a moderate bathroom with sink and bathtub with shower. The bathrooms have a small electric wall heater and have been redone recently. The carpet is old but clean. Location is one of best in town, next to Ripley's aquarium. Staff was friendly and room was very clean. Located one street off main street, good parking and an onsite restaurant. AC works well and the beds are comfortable.

Room Tip: There are basically two levels, the standard and the upgraded. We stayed in the standard double quee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbb603h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you found our staff friendly and our rooms clean. We are conveniently located to points of interest in the Gatlinburg area.
We are glad that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you will come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

There's a glass half full and a glass half empty kind of way to look at River Terrace Resort.

On the bright side, the location is hard to beat. Everything in downtown is walking distance. It's great to not have to worry about trying to find a spot. You're also a short drive from the welcome center for the park. The hotel is on the creek and one street removed from Parkway. As a result, you have the great location but are on a quieter road.

The downside is that the hotel is VERY run down. Everything feels and looks dated. From the light fixtures to the furniture to the TV, everything screams late 80s. They do offer wifi but it doesn't extend everywhere. My wife and I couldn't get a signal in our room and we were right next to the lobby. We had to tether to a Verizon hotspot. There are several buildings in the complex and the general atmosphere can be a little creepy at times. On our stay in May 2013, the pool was closed and had been overtaken by ducks from the creek.

The rates they list on their web site are far too high for the condition of the hotel in spite of its awesome location. My wife and I got an amazing deal on Priceline so I feel like we got about what we paid for.

If you're looking for a great location and don't mind staying at a run down hotel, this is a great place. But if you're looking for a newer feeling clean room, you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colinlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you for your review of River Terrace. We apologize that you encountered this issues during your stay with us. We have taken note of each one of them and will share them with resort management to ensure we do everything we can to correct this issues. We are glad that you found our location “hard to beat”. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I am intrigued at some of the reviews that this place has gotten. It seems like some of the rooms are not great and others are really good. My wife and I stayed here in August 2012 and it was GREAT! We had a river view room with a beautiful balcony view! The TV was good, the bed is one of the best we have slept in at a hotel, and again, the view was second to none. We enjoyed watching the ducks swim down the river and all of the fish.

I guess that some rooms aren't as great as others but the experience we had was wonderful. The room is a little dark, but if you just open up the curtain to the balcony there is plenty of light. The price is great, especially of you book 21 days in advance and get the 15-25% discount like we did this time, and the location is absolutely spectacular. You just cut through that other hotel's parking lot and you are right smack dab in the middle of the Gatlinburg strip.

Overall it was a great stay. Parking was right in front of our front door and we were on the 3rd level. Location, price, view, staff, and comfort were all great.

If there was one tip I would leave for the hotel and people staying there it would be to skip the hotel's restaurant. I believe it's called the Gatlinburger or something. We had breakfast there and it was just not very good at all, but still rather pricey. The waitress was great, but the food wasn't great at all.

We are going back again and will stay here so I will let you guys know if it is still great!

Room Tip: Like many have said, spend the extra $7 and get a river view room. The view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottiep33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you for saying that our river view rooms are excellent and “the location is absolutely spectacular”. Our resort offers a home away from home feeling for our guests. We are happy that your stay was a wonderful experience for you and your wife and hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I love this resort!! beautiful and cozy room! a just a walk away from the aquarium and the Mountain Mall and just about any other fun attraction in Gatlinburg!!! staff very friendly and willing to help!!!! I always choose this place to stay when ever im goin to Gatlinburg! :) cant wait to go this july!!!!!! :)

Room Tip: if your going on any holiday with fireworks make sure you ask for a room facing the street and not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RiverdaleWarrior2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback on River Terrace Resort. We are pleased to hear that you had an “amazing stay”. Our staff members are there to not just meet but exceed your expectations. We are happy that you found the rooms to be cozy and our location convenient to the aquarium and Mountain Mall. We hope that you decide to stay with us on your upcoming vacation in July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#19 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.8 mi away
Brookside Resort
Brookside Resort
#35 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Property: River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Address: 240 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3208
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains River Terrace Resort and Convention Center in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park. With easy walking access to the main street in Gatlinburg and a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities, your dream vacation is waiting at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing