We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in a tourist town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #66 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average hotel in a tourist town”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I will preface this review by saying I wasn't expecting much from a Gatlinburg Hotel since I visited before and know its an older tourist town. We got a good price using hotwire for a 1 king bedroom months prior to our stay. Upon check-in we were told there was no more kings but she offered to put us in a queen bed with a hot tub room. I thought this sounded like a fair exchange. The hotel is a typical enter-from-outside room with outdated decor, stained carpets and ugly 80's sheets. The hot tub was clean and provided some relaxation. They still have tube TV's with limited cable. There is 2 outdoor pools (1 heated) which appeared to be well kept. The location is actually very good and right off the beaten path of the parkway with shops/restaurants/tourist traps. There is also a restaurant/bar at the hotel but it never appeared to be busy...for a reason. Overall I would recommend this place for someone looking for a budget hotel and good location. There is nothing that will "WOW" you about this place, but it provided an ample stay for our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your overall stay and that it was a convenient location for you. Your feedback is of great help and we are working diligently on the issues you noted. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    213
    200
    142
    156
See reviews for
303
328
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

We wanted something cheap, clean, no bugs, and close to the strip. This place was all that. If you are looking for 5 star go somewhere else. I got this room for $84 a night. Compared to everyone else wanting between $110- $279 a night this place can't be beat. I will be back,

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoosierboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed the location of our resort. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our clean rooms. We hope that you will recommend us to family and friends. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lexington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Calling this a resort is a joke! We stayed one night and then checked out! One of the worst place I have ever stayed and not worth the $80 a night. Totally outdated and dirty with torn spots in the carpeting, bathroom sink leaked and shower did not work correctly. They did give us a new room when we complained, but the second room looked just as bad. Everything felt bad, avoid it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jgstepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations, your dissatisfactions will be brought up to management. We are working dilegently to make it a better experience and your feedback is of great help. We hope you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Reception desk friendly...Room was very clean.....Good location....Had some plumbing problems, tub drain clogging, cold water faucet had very little pressure, called front desk and all was corrected the next morning. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: First floor, no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billhambor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We strive to make your vacation a memorable one. We’re glad you enjoyed our great location and staff, but apologize you had some issues with the room's plumbing. We would highly suggest staying with us again so we can exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Hotel was very old outdated far from what I consider a resort. The walls were paper thin you can hear everything going on in other rooms. Not good if you have small children or looking for a good night sleep.

But...
Staff was very friendly, Hotel was close to all attractions, restaurants and main strip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read that your stay was not as satisfactory as you would of expected. We are always looking to improve and your feedback is of great help. We hope you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tosa, wi
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed here for the second year in a row. Got a good deal on the double queen river view room ($79/night). The room was clean and spacious. The view was outstanding. The location is wonderful. Everything is close by.

I am not sure why so many people post negative comments. If this place was dirty or awful in any way, I would not stay here year after year. It is definitely not the Ritz Carlton, but it is decent lodging for the budget minded. Plus, after seeing a lot of the creepy hotels in Gatlinburg, River Terrace Resort is a definite improvement.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibflee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for commenting on River Terrace Resort. We are always looking for ways to improve the customer service experience. We appreciate you saying that our rooms are “clean and spacious”. We hope to continue to exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sikeston, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Great place to stay. All except leaving my little girls stuffed turtle in the room and room service said they didn't find anything (shame!) But the rooms were clean and great location. Walking distance to downtown. Loved it!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_perkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that the staff wasn’t able to assist you further in locating your daughter’s stuff animal. Thank you for calling us a “great place to stay!” We are so glad to hear that you loved your stay and we are thrilled that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#18 of 78 in Gatlinburg
954 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Property: River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Address: 240 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3208
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains River Terrace Resort and Convention Center in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park. With easy walking access to the main street in Gatlinburg and a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities, your dream vacation is waiting at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing