We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no sleep for the weary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #65 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I start this review stating that as i do on my other review sites, i almost never give someone a 1 star. Having said that theirs some major flaws at this hotel that needs to be addressed. I came here instead of staying at my normal hotel in Kodiak so that my wife and i could be closer to the mountains for our hiking as the 4 nights we had were for just that.

The hotel is dated, and i understand that theirs no room for new expansion in Gatlinburg, but their always room for renovation. The room looked like the 70s, and the walls were so thin we could easily hear our neighbors conversation at 6:30am as if it was in our room. I especially enjoyed being offered an alcoholic beverage from them on the patio off our room but i wont fault the hotel for that. The paint on the exterior is peeling, the doors on the ground floor of building 5 look weather beaten and warped, and we really enjoyed the climb up to our rooms via the parking lot when we walked down to the restaurant for breakfast. i say that we had breakfast but we actually walked to the pancake house after seeing what they were serving and the cost. My normal hotel serves this same breakfast for free so was disappointing to see they wanted to charge for it.

After all this, i actually would still be OK with the hotel as like i said, its tough to do much on established area's in Gatlinburg, but what i find unforgivable is customer service. 2 of the 4 nights their was a family reunion staying on the ground floor near the parking area of building 5, and they were very rowdy and noisy, and sounded as if they were partying until 1 or 2 am. When i called down to the desk at 12:30pm and stated that we would like to get some sleep sometime, i was informed that the security was on a different site and that they were sorry. Upon check out this morning after having less than 4 hours of sleep, i handed my key cards to the lady at the customer service desk, who asked me how my stay was. I stated it was terrible, and explained the above situation to her, where she took note about the security call and said sorry again. Did i mention that a gentleman with a badge that i thought read "assistant manager" was standing next to her? I wasn't sure if that was the case however as he never spoke up, never offered to take any notes or apologize, or anything. We just got a sorry..

I plan on possibly coming back out in September for another hiking trip, and it looks as though my old hotel will be getting my money once again.

Room Tip: Amazing location of the hotel, just poor service kills the fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for your input regarding your stay. All of our staff is there to provide you with a customer service experience unlike any other. The experience that you have shared in your review falls far below the standards that we have set for our staff to follow. Your comment will be shared with the appropriate resort management. We appreciate your comments, as it helps us identify areas in which we can improve. We hope to have another chance to provide you with a wonderful stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just returned Pros: room was quiet, almost felt deserted. Bed was ok and we slept well. Ac was cold. Cons: elevator was dirty and so were outside tables. Paint on balcony railing peeling you could see red under green. The worst was finding toenail clippings that were not ours.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank map040575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry that you experienced these issues with cleanliness of your room. Our housekeeping team is there to ensure that each room is spotless and ready for our guest’s arrival. Customer satisfaction is our main concern. We have taken note of this issue and will let the resorts housekeeping manager know. We would like to apologize if this caused any inconvenience during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This was my second time staying in this hotel. Plan on using every time I go to the Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge area. Some of the rooms have a beautiful view. I would recommend the River Tower!!! Only thing that needs to be different is they need to provide a free continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmendmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are so thrilled that you were able to take advantage of our great location to be able to enjoy everything you wanted while in the area. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I travel for a living. I typically stay in Hampton inn, or Holiday inn As many others have stated, this "resort" has seen better days. The carpet was heavily worn, beds were old and worn, bathroom space was very small and substandard. The first 3 days, we saw an ant or two in our bathroom. Maybe the neighbors had food?? That being said, the location and price were perfect for a family vacation. Room was clean, hotel staff was nice. With some updating, this place would be perfect. We were in a far back location and could see MOST of the fourth of July fireworks from our balcony. That was a bonus. Right next to the Aquarium and a short walk to all the main street activity including the skylift and the free trolly.

The $8 onsite breakfast was EXACTLY the same as Hampton inn's FREE breakfast, skip it and take the short drive to Log Cabin Pancake House a few blocks up. We were very put off when we asked for a fourth straw (4 of us, we only got three straws) and the waitress said "Well, I normally only give them out with waters, but to each his own.....". What?? How about "OK", it's a straw!
Overall a good deal for a family trip on a budget. I would probably stay at a nicer place next time, but the location is VERY hard to beat. If you sleep easy and won't be in the room much, then go for it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to read that for the most part you enjoyed multiple things in the resort such as the location. We have noted the issues you mentioned and we are working diligently to make it better for future stays. We hope you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I will preface this review by saying I wasn't expecting much from a Gatlinburg Hotel since I visited before and know its an older tourist town. We got a good price using hotwire for a 1 king bedroom months prior to our stay. Upon check-in we were told there was no more kings but she offered to put us in a queen bed with a hot tub room. I thought this sounded like a fair exchange. The hotel is a typical enter-from-outside room with outdated decor, stained carpets and ugly 80's sheets. The hot tub was clean and provided some relaxation. They still have tube TV's with limited cable. There is 2 outdoor pools (1 heated) which appeared to be well kept. The location is actually very good and right off the beaten path of the parkway with shops/restaurants/tourist traps. There is also a restaurant/bar at the hotel but it never appeared to be busy...for a reason. Overall I would recommend this place for someone looking for a budget hotel and good location. There is nothing that will "WOW" you about this place, but it provided an ample stay for our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nwhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your overall stay and that it was a convenient location for you. Your feedback is of great help and we are working diligently on the issues you noted. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

We wanted something cheap, clean, no bugs, and close to the strip. This place was all that. If you are looking for 5 star go somewhere else. I got this room for $84 a night. Compared to everyone else wanting between $110- $279 a night this place can't be beat. I will be back,

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoosierboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed the location of our resort. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our clean rooms. We hope that you will recommend us to family and friends. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Calling this a resort is a joke! We stayed one night and then checked out! One of the worst place I have ever stayed and not worth the $80 a night. Totally outdated and dirty with torn spots in the carpeting, bathroom sink leaked and shower did not work correctly. They did give us a new room when we complained, but the second room looked just as bad. Everything felt bad, avoid it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jgstepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations, your dissatisfactions will be brought up to management. We are working dilegently to make it a better experience and your feedback is of great help. We hope you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#17 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Gatlinburg, TN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg South
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#4 of 78 in Gatlinburg
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Address: 240 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3208
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £49 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains River Terrace Resort and Convention Center in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, all within minutes of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park. With easy walking access to the main street in Gatlinburg and a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities, your dream vacation is waiting at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing