We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Terrace Resort and Convention Center
Nearby Hotels
US$137
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bent Creek Golf Village(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Johnson's Inn(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belle Aire Motel(Gatlinburg)
US$89
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gatlinburg Inn(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (934)
Filter reviews
934 results
Traveller rating
173
227
214
152
168
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
227
214
152
168
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan older hotelbeds were comfortableview from the balconymini fridgecoffee potthe room was nicegatlinburg areathe main streetgas fireplaceaquariummountainsducksattractionsstripcreeksmokiestrolley
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 934 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The location is good because it's close to all the attractions, yet it's on River Rd so it's more quiet than on the Parkway. The entrance to the Smokies is a very short distance. We even walked to it one night for a casual stroll on that very relaxing trail along the river. You need to drive for all the other trails. We had an end room with a balcony on the river. The room had a noticeable smell when you first walked in, but it ended up not bothering me. My husband was more bothered by it & I'm usually the one that's bothered by smells. The closet really had a smell & we just kept the door shut & didn't put anything in it. The shower had one of those old style small heads, but the pressure was good. It had a curved shower rod with a good curtain, so no sticking to you. Both of us thought the bed was comfortable enough. The sliding glass door to the balcony was always so clean I thought they left it open when I first walked in. Sure, the place has seen better days, but we weren't in our room all that much & when we were we were outside on the balcony. Bottom line is I'd stay in our same room all over again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Trave-LVN-Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We’re glad you found our resort to be clean, relaxing, and conveniently located to the hiking trails and other area attractions. We do apologize if you experienced any odors in your unit. Please keep in mind that we do have our Housekeeping team available if there are any issues, just let our Front Desk know. We’re glad you chose us and we hope to see you again the next time you’re in the Gatlinburg area!

Brittany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Good location to walk downtown friendly staff, and good value !! Rooms nice and restaurant on site and bar. Close to aquarium and a short walk to other attractions. Refrigerator and microwave in room. Balcony overlooking the Pigeon river is a must. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raye777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for choosing the River Terrace Resort. We appreciate your comments and are glad you found us to be a great value. Making memorable stay experiences with our valued guests is what we do best! We invite you back and hope to see you again very soon.

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We found the rooms to be spacious and clean, however they were very tired and in need of a make over. The air conditioner was so noisy were did not operate it at night, luckily the nights were cool.

The location was handy, however I would suggest you consider alternate accommodation as there is plenty around

Room Tip: Consider alternate accommodation
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ossietripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your input. We’re glad to hear you find our resort to be conveniently located close to the local activities. We are sorry to hear you were not happy with your unit. Please keep in mind that we want your stay to be enjoyable and our Front Desk staff is always there to assist you in any way that they can. We appreciate all of our guests’ comments as it helps us know where we can improve. We hope you will visit us again.

Brittany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel is well located. Check in was fast. Room was very large as was the balcony. Electrical needs to be updated. We were told that our room was on the redo schedule for next week. The view as wonderful. Had an electrical storm and were able to get pics from our balcony. Did not like having to walk up and down the hill, my knees are shot, but the exercise did me good anyway. Would for sure stay again. Had a slight medical emergency and the staff responded very fast and were very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We’re glad you chose River Terrace Resort as your first vacation of the year destination! It’s great to know you enjoyed our well located resort as well as the scenic view from your unit. We’re pleased to hear that our staff was able to assist you very quickly and were very helpful when a medical emergency arose. We hope to see you on your next vacation!

Brittany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I have never written a review but I feel that anyone thinking of staying at the River Terrace needs to be warned. First of all the rooms are so dated but that isn't as much a problem as my room had furniture that had chunks missing. The air is an old wall unit that it mounted so high that your have to use a stool to adjust the temperature. The carpet was wrinkled up and the rooms are dismally dark. I paid extra for a room by the water and the peacefulness that should have came with it. The water sound was great but at 9 PM a band across the road broke the peace. Then there was the Bikers. At about the same time the band started a club of Bikers started a corn hole game.. They took over the parking area blocking any exit or entrance with about 60-70 Bikers. Screaming and drinking until 2 PM in the morning. A call to the front desk at 12 lead to a promise to send security. Well Barney never showed up. Another call at 1 PM lead to another promise but the noise and game went on until they either ran out of beer or finished the game. I wanted to leave in the middle of the night but they had the exits blocked. The next morning we packed up and had to maneuver between empty beer cans and move lawn chairs from the exit to leave. Although the manager was sympathetic it ruined our Memorial Day weekend.

Room Tip: Don't fall for the location.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rut-Dog-56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We’re glad that you enjoyed the scenic view from your unit. We do apologize if you had any issues with your unit. Please feel free to contact our Front Desk as we do have a Maintenance Team that is available to fix any issues you may have as soon as possible. We appreciate all of our guests’ comments and will be giving this info to the resort manager as it helps us know where we can improve. We hope this will not keep you from visiting us again.

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews