We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average to good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Panama City, FL
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great location, average to good stay”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We have stayed at Town Square three or four times during the last ten or twelve years. We stayed in a one bedroom timeshare exchange during our most recent visit. The main benefit is the great location. It is within easy walking distance of most of downtown Gatlinburg. We stayed in a unit overlooking the stream in the back of the resort, very relaxing and nice.The bedroom is cramped and hard to maneuver. The kitchen is adequate. There is a TV in the living room and the bedroom. The unit had a gas fireplace which we enjoyed. The bathroom was good. The activities emphasized smaller children, which was expected but even so it was limited. Three days they had paid for stuffed bear building. The pools were adequate. Parking is onsite underground. Our check-in was very fast and friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get in the back overlooking the running stream. It is very pretty and the stream is relaxing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JonnieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    775
    400
    163
    129
See reviews for
1,088
758
43
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I have stayed here twice with family. I first time we stayed we had a two bedroom. The second time a three bedroom. This includes a small kitchen, dining table and living area. The bathroom in master bedroom is very nice. Our unit had a balcony. I liked this place. I did not find either unit to be outdated. The comforters on the beds could be nicer but were clean and fine. The kitchen had everything to cook a meal. I called the day of our trip and got a condo. No problems with check in or check out. This was cheaper than getting 2 hotel rooms and our family could be together more. They had a dvd player in the living room. The icemaker did not make ice fast so they brought us a bag. Due to it being the weekend of daylight savings they gave us an extra hour for check out. No problems with noise either time. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank treecitytn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Contrary to the negative reviews I've seen here, my family and I had no real problems at Town Square. The location is great. It's walking distance to the main tourist area, and two doors down from the convention center where the trolley stops. The decor was contemporary and neutral, nothing wild, but it was still nice. The beds were comfortable, and the kitchen was well-stocked. The fireplace could be turned on with a switch, which entertained my kids to no end. The place was clean, and mostly quiet. The indoor swimming pool was amazing.

There were tiny problems like the key cards needed 3-4 insertions before they worked. Also our bedrooms were right next to a downspout into which water dripped constantly, one drip at a time, it sounded like steel drums. There was no wireless internet, and when we called about it, the receptionist said they were "running the wires." Apparently she didn't know the definition of "wireless." None of these affected our stay at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chas218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Each February we have stayed at Gatlinburg Town Sq Resort for the past 4 years. Each year it seamed to get progressivly worse but this last year (2010) we had to say never again. I attempted to find another resort with simular amenities because traveling with 3 children and spouse you need to have some basic "to do" hit items for the kids. I dialed Town Square by mistake and found that there was a new management company and the staff was all excited with a new committment and a great attitude was running among the workers. So we took the unit in the back by the stream. What a world of differance. The staff was beaming, the units were clean and fully "loaded" and the resort looks like it is back in the top of our list. Thank you to the whole staff and we will be back in 2013.

Room Tip: Always, ALWAYS call ahead, you might be pleasantly suprised
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank David345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treasure Island, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Really enjoyed ourselves. Gatlinburg Town Square is lovely and the staff helpful and friendly. Love this part of the country.
Also very happy to hear that it is under a new management company. Liberte Management is in Florida also and we have stayed at 2 of their resorts with great satisfaction.
We will be back in the summer!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Amy_Gauvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higgins Lake, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We just stayed at Gatlinburg Town Square for 5 days and we can't say enough good about the resort....the resort is located a short walk to the downtown area of Gatlinburg, once we arrived at the resort, we never had to drive anywhere again! The staff at the resort were very knowledgeable about the area and excited to share all the highlights of this great vacation destination. The rooms themselves where very clean and beautifully decorated! We couldn't have asked for more...we'll be back next year!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a "creekside room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GailP246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

First, clarifications: After reading several reviews, seems there's much confusion about this timeshare resort. Some reviews may be referring to the buildings up and across the street known as Gatlinburg Town Village; also a part of Summer Bay Resorts. Until Jan 4, 2011, for Gatinburg Town Square, you had to check in at the reservation office at Gatlinburg Town Village, then drive a few hundred feet to the Gatlinburg Town Square buildings. Gatlinburg Town Village were the first/older buildings. Addtionally, Gatlinburg Town Square buildings were built in phases so the rooms do vary in size; some of the studios are smaller than other studios, depending on which building you are in. The studios do not have a balcony or the jacuzzi tub. Most of the 1 bedroom units now have granite counters, new decor, furniture, etc. as upgrades are made to different buildings each year.
I own a 1 week, 2 bedroom lockout unit in Gatlinburg Town Square Phase 2b, and do not trade so I am here every year for the past 5 years. I just spent 2 weeks here, January 6 thru 20, 2012. Instead of taking a 2 bedroom for only 1 week, I took week #1 in a 1 bedroom, and week #2 in a studio. Upon checking in, the registration office was closed/dark with a sign on the door to proceed to the Gatlinburg Town Square buildings for check in. I was told registration had just moved there 3 days ago. Check in was quick, all staff were extremely friendly, rooms were excellent; both weeks I was given a room in the building facing the woods/river. It was very quiet and I enjoyed my stay as usual; I have never had any issues. Check out is simple/fast.
Changes coming?? - Rumor I heard from 2 different people were that this resort is no longer a Summer Bay Resort. Perhaps, it's not yet legally finalized yet??. As an owner I would think that I would be notified if this is the case.
I recommend Gatlinburg Town Square, I have never been disappointed with my stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank smokymtn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#18 of 78 in Gatlinburg
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts

Property: Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
Address: 414 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#23 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gatlinburg Town Square Nestled in the midst of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, you'll find resort living in an area so vividly beautiful, walking through it is akin to moving through a painting. Gatlinburg Town Square and Town Village are ideally situated in the heart of Gatlinburg Tennessee, within easy walking distance to downtown and all the entertainment, shopping and nightlife only the Smokies could offer. Discover nature's gallery of mountain trails, pristine waterfalls and breathtaking mountain vistas, all on display and timelessly preserved for your family's enjoyment in The Great Smoky Mountains National Park, located less than a mile away. Whether you want to bask in the tranquility of the mountains, or discover the adventures that await within them, you are sure to find something to fit your vacation needs. As soon as you arrive at the resort, you'll find yourself adjusting to 'mountain time' as you gaze upon a three-story waterfall cascading down the stone tower beckoning you inside where you will be greeted by a resort team exuding the Southern hospitality for which this region is world famous. Let the vacation begin by lounging in front of your private fireplace or by grilling alongside our spring-fed creek. Here, you can indulge in the many attractions, such as in an aerial tram ride 2,675 feet above the city, and immerse yourself in the beauty of the Great Smoky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatlinburg Town Square Hotel Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing