We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location for family reunion!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Great facility and location. We had 2 owners in our family. Each got a 3 bedroom (3 one bedroom) units in the 3000 Building at the top of the hill. Though the drive up there was interesting, it was worth the view once you got to the top. For the faint of heart, you could park at the bottom of the hill and take the shuttle. The pool, waterpark and workout facilities are all very nice. If you have small children, you definitely want to go to the waterpark. The kitchens are nicely equipped and we have owned long enough to know to bring a few extra items when meeting other family owners. The gas grills were conveniently located and had picnic tables adjoining them near the 4000 building. We had big family meals almost every evening and the large living room / dining room / kitchen in the main units supplied enough space for everyone to gather. The separate units made it quiet and easy to put little ones down away from the noise of whichever board or card game was being played. We saw a raccoon at dusk one evening but never saw the bear which was rumored to be in the area. All units were clean and the minor maintenance issue experienced was resolved promptly. All the housekeeping, shuttle, maintenance and front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. We highly recommend this property for anyone.

Room Tip: If you don't mind heights, ask for the 3000 or 4000 bldg units. If you want to be close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d5w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidfishlock, General Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your most recent stay with us. It’s wonderful to hear that you and your family had a great stay with us. I also thank you for the many positive remarks you made regarding our property and for the positive recommendation. We look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
David Fishlock
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,383 - 2,389 of 3,031 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

My husband and I went for our 9 year anniversary...we were supposes to have a master suite with a jacuzzi but ended up with a small jet tub in the bathroom. On first arrival we were excited until our key didn't work and after several attempts to log on to wifi I was shocked by the fee; that the front desk will not mention!!! Overall after a difficult start the trip turned out great and the minor problems were easily forgiven. Oh your phone won't work on most of the property.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidfishlock, General Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Congratulations on your 9th wedding anniversary. My apologies for the mix-up with the type of Jacuzzi tub you were to receive. I’m happy to hear that once you got settled in, you had a nice stay. Be aware that the AT&T cell phone service seems to have a weak signal in this area. Verizon seems to be fine. We thank you for your business.

Best Regards,
David Fishlock
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I went to Westgate Resorts in Gatlinburg for the week of July 4th. We stayed at the cabins located on top of the mountains. The view was excellent, rooms were very clean and had everything we needed: fully equipped kitchen incl. plates, and cookware. Great water part on the property - the kids were entertained all day. The property is about 1/2 mile from the strip in Gatlinburg. Great value for the money. I was very happy with the beds, the mattresses felt very nice and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor. During our stay we heard the people above us walking and playing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidfishlock, General Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your most recent stay. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the views were excellent, the rooms were clean, and that the kids enjoyed the water park. Thank you also for the many positive comments. We thank you for your business.

Best Regards,
David Fishlock
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a week at Westgate, and were disappointed. We were suppose to have a one bedroom with a lock out, & we never saw the lock out. There were constantly ants on the coffee table, which preceded to crawl into our bed. We were led to believe we'd have free wifi, but then learned we had to pay for it per day. It was an okay stay, just beware that they charge for anything they can.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurenpitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidfishlock, General Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I feel badly that you stayed with us for a week and that you were disappointed. Because of the lack of more detail, I can’t accurately comment on why you did not receive a one bedroom lockout unit, however, I can tell you that if you had booked a one bedroom lockout, that would have showed up on the reservation and you would have been assigned that room type. Perhaps there was some confusion surrounding your reservation. My apologies for the ants in your unit. I can only assume that you let us know about this and we came up and took care of that issue. We thank you for your business.

Best Regards,
David Fishlock
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This was our 2nd trip to our "home" unit. Check in was extremely fast. Our room, as it was last time, was perfect. We enjoyed hanging out at the pool and waterpark during the July heat wave. Cheryl at the Smokehouse Bar was very friendly and attentive. We took friends with us who stayed in an adjoining room. Plenty to do at the resort, but we also spent some time (via the shuttle) eating and shopping in Gatlinburg. Of course, no trip is complete without a day at "Dollywood".

The only negative was the upstairs neighbors who kept bouncing on the floors. I waited until the 3rd day to call someone at Guest Services, but once they did I got a good nights rest.

We're thinking of coming back in the fall!

Room Tip: ask for a top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianKinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidfishlock, General Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you for telling us about your 2nd trip to your home resort. I agree with you that Cheryl in the Mason Jar is friendly and attentive. Thank you for recognizing Cheryl. My apologies for the noisy neighbors upstairs. I’m very happy to hear that that situation was solved. We hope to see you in the fall.

Best Regards,
David Fishlock
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I booked my stay through Hotels.com and got a rate of 129.00 per night. They never told me nor did the actual resort website mention the extra $22 resort fee. We actually had the whole suite rented to accommodate our party of six and was charged $22 twice for each room. What the crap! The actual cost for the waterpark was not stated on the website either. That was a big surprise. we also requested a portable playpen for our baby to sleep in. The floor of the playpen was covered with spots of black mold and it stunk liked someone tried to clean it with a strong cleaner.
Girl at the desk was also unaware of the 110% price match guarantee that the resort website offered. I tried to get her to match the hotels.com price plus 10% but she didn't know about it. Look at your company's website! Know what you offer! Was trying my best to offset the surprise resort fees and waterpark costs! Oh well. I did learn a lesson about booking online and what to look out for next time!
The resort was very nice otherwise...would stay again if the resort fees not included!

Room Tip: choose a room closest to the waterpark and restaurant, park, pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidfishlock, General Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. My apologies for the confusion you encountered on hotels.com. I’ll pass along your comments to the folks at our corporate offices so that they may research your situation. My apologies also for the condition of the crib that was delivered to you. I will certainly give this information to our Director of Housekeeping. We thank you for your business and do hope that you will return to stay with us in the future.

Best Regards,
David Fishlock
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Westgate smoky mountains resort is located on a mountain adjacent to downtown Gatlinburg. The resort is situated on 80+ acres directly on a mountain. I checked in on a Sunday before 4th of July at around 5pm and only had to wait around 20 minutes. The stay was excellent. The kids loved the waterpark and the adults loved the mountain views and convenience to downtown Gatlinburg. We had no problems or hassles with anyone trying to sell us a timeshare. Highly recommend this resort for a fun Gatlinburg vacation spot!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ankiel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidfishlock, General Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about most recent stay with us. It’s always great to hear that the kids loved the Water Park. That is always a hit with the kids. It makes my day to hear that your stay was excellent. Thank you for your business and for the positive recommendation. We hope to see again soon.

Best Regards,
David Fishlock
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.7 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
1.2 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
478 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5155
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#22 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £67 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park and bustling downtown Gatlinburg. With easy access to a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities and a variety of onsite amenities, including an amazing indoor/outdoor water park, your dream vacation is waiting at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing