We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, paper-thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, paper-thin walls”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We booked our stay at Westgate through Expedia - the rate was very good for the size of the room with a kitchen and the promise of being in the mountains, as opposed to the crowds of Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg.

Positives:
- Friendly staff. I think they pay these people by the "wave", everywhere we went they waived at us.
- The hotel room was new and in excellent shape, very nice bathroom, functional/clean kitchenette and a comfy couch for our teen daughter to sleep on. We booked the Suite Villa, which had a king size bed/bedroom, that was a separate room from the kitchen/living area.
- No hassles w/time share - since we booked this as a hotel, we didn't get hounded for the time share option. When we checked in, they did make a quick offer to attend a free breakfast blah blah blah, but we said no-thanks and that was that.
- Scenery. Our building was at the top of the mountain, so we had a nice view of the mountains.

Negatives:
- PAPER thin walls: well, it was more like a paper-thin door. The way the rooms are set up, there is a door off the kitchen that connects to the next room. It's locked, but any sound cuts right through it. Neighbors talking, TV, dog barking (yes, dogs, which are allowed in the hotel) We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, and aside from an hour or two, had quiet neighbors, but this could be a major problem for some people. For the quality of the resort, seemed like a dumb move to not better sound-proof the units.
- Construction: If your idea of a peaceful morning is to sleep in or enjoy coffee on the balcony, prepare yourself for nail guns and heavy equipment destroying that tranquility. They were building several new buildings across from ours, and started work each day at 8am. Same story as the thin walls - would have been a much larger issue if we'd stayed around the resort more.
- Access to pools: looking at the photos on Expedia, you'd think the big indoor pool is part of the package, especially since they hit you with a $10/day resort fee. It's not. They charge $20/person to get it... for what looks like something that belongs in a Holiday Inn. We skipped it. There is one outdoor pool, rather small for the size of the resort. Was told they are building another.
- Shuttle buses. This resort is built on a mountain - big elevation changes from top to bottom. They provide shuttle buses to cart you back and forth so you don't have to always drive. We waited for an hour one morning for a shuttle that was supposed to come by every 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for their quietest room or area of the resort. Insist on a room not near someone who has pets s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for review. We’re glad to hear you found your unit to be nice, clean, and comfortable. We are conveniently located close to a lot of things to do in the Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge area. We even offer a trolley service that takes you to different locations. We love hearing when our staff is friendly and helpful. It lets us know we made a great decision in who we hire. We do apologize if you were inconvenienced by the construction noise. We are in the process of expanding our resort to make it even more enjoyable for our guests’. We appreciate your comments on the pool and shuttle service. We take all of our guests’ comments into consideration, as this helps us improve. We hope you will visit again to see how we’ve improved.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,223
    684
    436
    259
    364
See reviews for
1,591
792
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (827)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
135 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our check in at this resort was a challenge since our cabins were not inspected at 4 p.m. We were traveling with young children who were tired from a long car ride so this first obstacle did not leave a good first impression for me or my family. We requested a lock off between two cabins and were promised this option at booking and again at check in. When we finally were escorted to our cabins at 5:40 p.m. we were in the same building but had to go outside of the building to get to our son and his family's cabin. I asked if we could switch to the cabins that we were promised and I was told that we would need to go back to registration and wait in line again. This was a very disappointing first impression of this resort and although the cabins were very clean and well maintained it was not the family vacation we had planned or the type of customer service we expected to receive for the price we paid for our family vacation. I would not recommend this resort and we will not return to this resort in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank McKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We’re glad to hear you found our resort and units to be well maintained and very clean. We’re sorry to hear that you were not happy with the unit assignment you were given. Unfortunately, having units right beside each other can be a request, but not a guarantee. Our Front Desk can always assist you with being moved if the inventory allows. We hope that this will not keep you from visiting us again the next time you’re in the Gatlinburg area.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent 6 nights at Westgate Spa and Resort in June 2014. My family of 5 stayed in a studio room which had a queen bed and a pull out sofa bed. The room also had a 2 eye stove top, a mini fridge and access to a washer and dryer. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We had free access to the Wild Bear Falls water park which we all enjoyed. The only complaints that I have are that the dishwasher leaked on the floor which caused us to request a room change, and that the family above us allowed their kids to run back and forth across the room which sounded like they would come through the ceiling at any moment. We ended up moving in to a deluxe studio which had 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa at no extra charge due to the issue with the dishwasher. This allowed my family more room so it actually worked out for the best. The food served in the Smokehouse grill left a lot to be desired...we ate dinner at a buffet for timeshare owners on our first night there and a bbq lunch later in the week. The hot dog buns that were served were getting old because they fell apart almost instantly. There was barely enough room for all of the guests and the line for both buffets was well out of the door when we arrived. We will not eat there on our next visit. The gym was nice and clean. Plenty of equipment was available during the morning hours. The items in the marketplace were overpriced, but surprisingly the bag of ice that we purchased was the same cost as you'd pay at at grocery store. There is also an ice cream shop open daily between 2PM and 10PM. We spent a few afternoons and evenings at the outdoor pool which was nice and plenty of seats and clean towels were available. We are owners at the resort and will return. Glad that our first visit was overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Request room on the top floor to avoid noisy neighbors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adfg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your first visit to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa with us. We’re glad to hear that enjoyed your stay with us. It’s great to hear you were able to check out some of the amenities we offer on-site; like the indoor waterpark, ice cream shop, and our outdoor pools. We’re sorry to hear that you had issues with the dishwasher, but we’re thrilled to hear our staff members were able to assist you quickly and moved you to an upgraded unit. We value our Owners and it’s great to hear your overall stay was enjoyable and that you’ll be returning. See you soon!

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is the nicest resort in the Gatlinburg area and not far from most attractions. The water park is nice but should be included with anyone staying at this place, it's not worth more than $5-$7 for what's in it. Overall our stay was fine and the staff was very nice and attentive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We’re so thrilled to hear you enjoyed our resort and our staff was nice and attentive. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Lissy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We are long standing timeshare owners who traded to this property through Interval International. Additionally, we are experienced travelers who are pretty laid back (for example, a longer check-in time is not going to bother us). Also, I expect to have to pay for Wifi (as is the case at this resort) and have my own hotspot.

We requested a two bedroom and received two separate units. The units (32 and 33) had separate keyed entries and could be accessed through a common area (mud room with washer/dryer) that had an outside door (Unit 312) that was opened by all keys. Our girls are 7 and 5 and we were thrilled that they had their own "condo"--they were too! This would have been ideal if we had been travelling with another family as the second unit had a kitchenette.

As we understand the timeshare world, we did not experience any of the problems that many others have shared about sale presentations, etc. We simply declined their request for the meeting. Our concierge was pleasantly persistent when trying to close us for an appointment when he escorted us to our room (I deflected by simply stating there were many activities that we wanted to pursue and we hadn't firmed up our schedule for the week yet), but after that simply checked in with us via text to see if we needed anything.

The check-in process is different as there are a few "handoffs". We were introduced to very nice young woman to highlight some of the features of the resort who then handed us off to our concierge for an escort to our room. As I had done some research, I used this as an opportunity to sign up for white water rafting. I appreciated the help and information.

We only used about 50% of the amenities at the resort. We never used the waterpark, bar, restaurant, trolley, resort activities, store, arcade. We cooked most of our own meals (shopped at WalMart in Pigeon Forge) and grilled at the gas grill outside our building. We usually don't choose to eat at the resort restaurant, if given the choice, figuring there are better options in town and we found a few in Gatlinburg---Calhoun's at stoplight 10 for a dinner out (also ate at Loco Burro--thumbs up; Best Italian Café had good burgers, but I would avoid). My wife had a great experience at the spa.

I simply love that if we needed any of these amenities that they were available. This place is top notch--the store for example was very well stocked and maintained. I am sure at timeshare resort store prices, of course, but available if you need it.

The location of this resort is simply outstanding as you are between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge and minutes from the National Park.

Aside: National Park Activities
We did short hikes to Cataract Falls from Sugarlands Vistors Center; horseback riding at Sugarlands; white water rafting with Smoky Mountain Outdoor (lower river); ranger guided walking tour from Elkmont (free!!). I am a bit hardcore and did a sunrise bicycle ride from Sugarlands to Newfound Gap and did sunrise trail running. There is a Junior Ranger Program that we didn't catch on to right away, but is cool. The free daily programming in the National Park has a lot to offer.

After our activity, we would return to the pool each day. Yes the pool is cloudy late in the afternoon(oily), but that is what happens to pools that are used all day with people lathered in sunscreen. Our tip is to use the rocky top pool not the pool at the bottom of the resort. We always were able to secure a table with an umbrella when we arrived.

We spent our evenings cooking and playing with our kids while watching the sunset over the mountains on our balcony.

The shuttle system at the resort is slow. I understand the inconvenience this can be for people, but we simply drove ourselves to the rocky top pool. If going to other parts of the resort, we would be fortunate enough to catch a shuttle every now and then. This is one area of the resort that could be improved.

Overall, this resort was excellent and we look forward to returning with friends. My observation is that this destination (and resort) has so much to offer that you could visit multiple times and have a different vacation each time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience. It’s wonderful to know you really enjoyed your stay with us. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your unit and the activities and amenities we offer. We are conveniently located close to a lot of cool things to do in the Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge area. It sounds like you explored quite a bit! We’re honored to know you recommend us to your friends and family. We hope to see you again soon.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The resort is beautiful and the staff is extremely friendly. However, we had no maid service or towels after our first night. They did bring them when requested but it would have been nice to have the beds made or bathroom counters wiped prior to just our last night. The walls are very thin and you can hear every conversation around you as though you are in the same room. A young child was staying in the unit above us and kept jumping around until the early morning hours. The pool near the front gate was not very clean-the water was cloudy. The spa was great but I wish I had know about the 20% off coupon available online for first time spa users considering I spent over $200. Also they attempted the time share pitch a couple of times but we politely refused.

Room Tip: Try the top floor to avoid the racket from people above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BocaMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate you saying that our resort is beautiful and that our staff is friendly. Our objective is to provide all guests with superior service and accommodations. We do apologize if your neighbors were a little noisy. Please keep in mind that we do have security available 24/7 and would be more than happy to address a noise complaint for you. As a timeshare resort, our housekeeping schedule does run a little differently. You can always request additional cleaning services for a small fee. We hope the issues you encountered will not keep you from visiting with us again.

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central, KY
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Checking in was not an issue even though the clerks were busy. We were escorted to our unit at the top of the Resort which is located on a very steep hill. This resulted in being far away from the pools and amenities which kept us from enjoying them fully. We had to depend on the shuttle buses to take us to the bottom of the hill where the bar, game room, pools and restaurant were located. Once after waiting 20 minutes for a shuttle one arrived but passed me by which was somewhat frustrating however eventually I got to my destination. The unit was very clean and nicely furnished. I will confirm previous comments here that the walls are thin in the cabin/units. I could clearly hear conversations next door and above footsteps. The AC unit was not cooling at a time but a call to the front desk rendered quick service and solution. We were not offered a sales meeting from the Westgate Resort Representatives. My two eleven year old girls liked the indoor water park which is not part of the free amenities of the resort however I believe that would be the age limit as older kids would like more thrills.

Don't expect much night life as the bar closes at 10pm sharp and they card everyone regardless of age appearance. Be careful to carry ID to the bar or you're likely to walk away thirsty for your favorite adult beverage.

The resort is conveniently located between Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg which is a plus and has a handy trolley stop at the entrance of the resort that will take you at a nominal fee to popular destinations.

Overall a good stay for a couple nights for someone who doesn't mind to splurge occasionally on accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize if you were not happy with the location of your unit. You can always speak with the Front Desk to see if inventory has a lower unit available. We do offer the shuttle service to help our guests get around our large resort. We appreciate your comments on the bar and waterpark. We take all of our guests’ comments into consideration as this helps us know where we can improve. We hope to see you the next time you’re in the Gatlinburg area.

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
3.1 mi away
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa

Property: Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5155
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#22 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park and bustling downtown Gatlinburg. With easy access to a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities and a variety of onsite amenities, including an amazing indoor/outdoor water park, your dream vacation is waiting at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing