We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we hoped for...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our recent stay was not as we hoped, and I will be the first to admit that we are far from picky people! We were aware that we were getting a small unit, but the studio was quite small. In addition, there were multiple wet spots on the carpet upon check-in. I placed hand towels down to soak it up, the towels were then brown therefore the wet spots were quite dirty. For the rest of our stay I didnt feel comfortable letting my 10 month old even on the carpet. The staff were very nice and accommodating, shuttle service was nice. Restaurant had good food. However, the pool was small for the size of the resort and always very crowded, we never felt comfortable taking our small children. We chose the resort because we wanted something a bit outside of town to avoid the crowds, we found the resort quite busy but still enjoyed the location. I have been to many more low-scale hotels/resorts that offered free wi-fi, we were very disappointed that you were going to charge $10 a day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heatherr1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re sorry to hear you were not happy during your stay with us. You can always speak with our Front Desk staff if you are not happy with your unit and you can always request additional cleanings from our Housekeeping team. We are a large resort and during peak seasons we can be a little busy. We do apologize if you were inconvenienced by the number of people at the resort. We are proud to offer Wi-Fi on property. This service is free to all of our owners, but is still accessible to all other guests for a fee which can be settled at the front desk. We appreciate you sharing your comments and we will pass this information along to our resort management team. We hope to see you again.

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,035)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,602 - 1,608 of 3,035 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked this resort after being owners at the one in Florida knowing that the one in Florida was fantastic. The first disappointment was arriving and seeing so much construction, mud everywhere, it was hard to drive through because of all the construction equipment and workers. Two days into our vacation and the phone, tv and Internet went out in our building. The construction crew had cut the lines. Therefore we were without all of this for over 24 hours. We finally got service back around five last night only to be awakened this morning at 630am to every alarm in the building going off. It was terrible. We then had to evacuate into the parking lot while security went in to every room and checked everything. By the way after going in to every room, he then left the doors open for anyone to enter. Yesterday we requested clean towels at 130 pm. I called them again around 7 asking where our clean towels were. She stated he must be on his way with them. We finally got clean towels around 830pm last night. What a disappointment this has been!

Room Tip: Do not choose a room in the newer buildings because of all the noise and traffic and mud from constr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do apologize if the construction disturbed you. We are working our fastest and hardest to complete our new buildings. We are in the process of upgrading the resort and sometimes it may cause noise or issues may arise because of this. We really appreciate you bringing everything to our attention and we will address this with our resort manager. We hope this will not keep you from seeing how we’ve improved.

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just returned from our 3 rd stay June 26 th - 29 th ... In 2011 we became owners . love this place looking forward to future visits n visiting other westgates..... Trick is to pay off fast n don't buy more then you need...have not got the chance to try all the amenities yet as far as checking out the prices ..Owners need major discounts since you let non owners stay at our resort ..something that I need to check on further the watermark is the biggest amenity n to me it should be free to Owners ...but we loved our stay it's absolutly beautiful ....n well kept up n growing adding future amenties ... Overall fantastic time ...needs more golf arts to help owners only to get around the resort if needed ..we got told it's only for checking in and tours ...luckily some very nice staff gave us a couple rides when we needed it ..going up those hills on foot wears your out ..after leaving waterpark or swimming in the outdoor pools ... Other then that it's great..

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. First off, we want to thank you for being valued Owners with Westgate Resorts. We love hearing that our owners really enjoy visiting our resort and want to experience the others as well. As an Owner, you do receive free tickets to the indoor waterpark. We do apologize if there was any miscommunication regarding this. We also offer a shuttle that comes around the resort to pick up/drop off our owners and guests. We understand it’s a large resort and it can be tiring walking to/from your unit. You can check with the Front Desk for more info on the free shuttle service we offer. We’re glad you find our resort to be beautiful and that you enjoyed the activities and amenities we offer. We’re honored you chose us and can’t wait to see you again!

Brittany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Wonderful place- you won't be disappointed. Rooms are spacious and the views are spectacular. We had a great experience and we would definitely return. Just a heads up on the water park- it's most enjoyable for kids age 10 and below. There are a couple of water slides but no thrilling slides that older kids and teenagers would enjoy. I enjoyed sipping my coffee on the balcony and staring at the beautiful mountain views.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for the kind words about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa. We love hearing that you think our resort is wonderful and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Having a nice spacious unit with a spectacular view makes your vacation even more relaxing and enjoyable. We’re honored that you’ll be returning. We’ll see you soon!

Brittany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our stay was "ok." Room on the "first" floor was very lower level - below street level. No sunshine at all. Door was very hard to close/lock and we returned one day to find that housekeeping had not closed our door all the way so it was open the entire day. Last day we noticed lots and lots of ants in the living room - and no one had spilled anything. Housekeeping came and their rationale was, "...well, you're in the mountains." My husband said, "Well, if we wanted ants we would have gone camping in the woods"! Did the timesharing presentation and it was VERY HIGH Pressure! It was supposed to be 90 minutes long and after two hours we were still waiting to be "signed out" by a manager. Our "hostess" was Kristina and she was fine during the presentation, but once she found out we were not going to buy, she just got up and walked off - no "thank you" no shaking our hands, no nothing. My husband said she looked like she was going to cry. Would not stay here again and would definitely not recommend the timeshare presentation to anyone.

Room Tip: "First" floor is below street level - you will feel as if you are in a cave! Also, when t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay. Safety and cleanliness are our number one priorities and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will be sharing this with our Housekeeping management team. We do also have pest control available on property. Our Front Desk would always be more than happy to assist you with another unit if there is an issue with bugs. We train our staff to provide top notch customer service and we deeply apologize if a member of our staff was less than courteous. That is definitely not the standard we hold for our staff. We hope this will not keep you from visiting us again to see how we’ve improved.

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Me and my wife just returned from westgate in gatlinburg it was great we stayed June 26-29 2014 every person on staff were great and the tour of the property was so great me and my wife became new Owners to a two bedroom villa I recommend this resort to anybody I have stayed at a lot of them around the USA this one is the best A++++++++++

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonynea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Congratulations on becoming new owners; we welcome you to the Westgate family! It’s awesome to hear that you had a great time while visiting us. We love hearing that our staff provided top notch customer service. We’re honored you chose us and we’ll see you again soon.

Brittany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Arrival went totally well! We are not owners and were treated as well as the ones who are. I do not use rooms on vacation as anything more than our bedroom and was well pleased with this resort. Andrej in the restaurant was more than attentive, food was as good as better restaurants and portions were more than enough. Heard some grousing by others but most of those were people who expect the system to revolve around them and theirs! Groused about trolley service both at resort and the inter urban system time schedules between Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, Guess they expected door to door service. I thought both were more than adequate. Saved a lot of aggravation sitting in traffic. Would return to Westgate but do not want time shares of any type. No pressure from the resort but great treatment all around.
Thank you Westgate for a great week in the area!

Room Tip: Suite more than adequate for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for such a great review! We love hearing when our guests’ enjoy their stay and all the different activities and amenities we offer on-site. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your meal at Smokehouse Grill and that your server provided excellent customer service. We’re honored to know you plan on returning and we hope to see you again soon.

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.2 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
482 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
391 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Summit of Gatlinburg
The Summit of Gatlinburg
#45 of 78 in Gatlinburg
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5155
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £64 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park and bustling downtown Gatlinburg. With easy access to a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities and a variety of onsite amenities, including an amazing indoor/outdoor water park, your dream vacation is waiting at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing