We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cabin.Avoid the sales pitch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice cabin.Avoid the sales pitch”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our 1 bedroom cabin was very nice, roomy, clean, and well equipped. It had a full kitchen with granite, dining room for 6, 2 bathrooms (!), and a very large deck with a view of the mountains. I liked the cabin a lot.
The resort has a good location, between Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. There is a shuttle from the resort that goes into both towns. This can save you some money if you are thinking about parking in Gatlinburg. Parking in G'burg is $10.
There is an onsite water park, but it costs about $20/person/day if you are not an owner.

The sales presentation was not good. Much more aggressive than the other 2 I have participated in on other properties. It was supposed to be 90 minutes. After 31/2 hours, we were finally had to be very, very firm to escape it. At check-in, we were disconcerted to be asked so many questions about our finances. Not something I want to discuss at a front desk check in!
The whole sales presentation left us with a bad taste in out mouths.
Nice cabins, though. :

Room Tip: This resort has a great location if you are spending a lot of time in the National Park. Visitor Ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurachef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and your spacious unit and all of its amenities. It’s good to know you find us to be conveniently located close to the area attractions. As mentioned, we do offer a trolley to different places in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge to make your vacation even more enjoyable. We’re sorry to hear that you were not happy with the timeshare presentation and that you felt pressured. That is definitely not our intention. We do offer a timeshare tour in return guests receive incentives like free tickets or a discount nightly rate. We do apologize if a member of staff made you feel uncomfortable. We train our staff to provide outstanding customer service and it sounds like we fell below that requirement. Please be aware that a timeshare presentation is purely voluntary and not mandatory. We hope this will not keep you from visiting with us again.

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,226
    685
    436
    259
    365
See reviews for
1,594
792
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (827)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Resort is in a good location close to the National Park, downtown Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. We had a two bedroom and it was very nice, clean and roomy. We were on the third floor of one of the lower cabins- we have 4 kids so it was perfect. We were close to the pool, fitness center, water park, ice cream stand and trolley stop. This was not our request but an error on their part but it turned out perfect. I would not advise to be lower than third floor. Traffic is very noisy between cars and the golf carts. The walls are very thin but not really different than a hotel room. The concierge is a sales rep - stay away from the horrific timeshare people unless you are looking to buy. We were invited to a few free meals and I am sad to say the food was not good. I would stay there again because of the location and the room was great and it fit what my busy family wanted.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quiet resort - triple confirm that you are at the higher cabins. Note that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knugent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and your spacious unit and all of its amenities. It’s good to know you find us to be conveniently located close to the area attractions. As mentioned, we do offer a trolley to different places in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge to make your vacation even more enjoyable. We do offer a timeshare tour in return guests receive incentives like free tickets or a discount nightly rate. Please be aware that a timeshare presentation is purely voluntary and not mandatory. We hope to see you again soon.

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Friendly staff. Wifi is terrible-slow when it works at all. Staff was very friendly esp shuttle drivers. Free shuttles take you where you want to go on the resort-longest wait was 10 min. Very family friendly-lots for children to do. Overpriced convenience store and restaurant. Nice gym-towels, cold water, washroom in workout room. Walls are very thin-single door between connecting rooms are steel not wood and single, not double-so we heard the family behind us constantly (not their fault). Did not get room we expected, downgraded from what we had been told. Room was clean but air exchange unit ran constantly even when raised temp-noisy. Fireplace was nice. We own a property with Westgate and were asked to go to a breakfast to take a survey-then were shown the newest building and "concierge" kept telling us about the new 6 bedroom suites and how someone has to be qualified as a VIP in order to buy one and he has only seen 2 people who ever had VIP status-the units go for $189,000 for 1 week with a 6 bedroom unit or 6 weeks with a 1 bedroom unit. As we were completing the survey we were informed by the manager that we had VIP status as when we bought in Florida there was a keystroke error, so legally they had to offer us the 6 bedroom unit for $84 000....seriously????...the concierge was "totally surprised"-how could they offer it that cheap??? No, they didn't want to sell it to us-just sign a paper so they could get rid of the error...seriously...???? We simply said "We're done!" and walked out. BEWARE.

Room Tip: in the 5000 building, the units have double doors between them (should be quIeter) and better washer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eileencrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the activities and amenities we offer on site. We’re pleased to hear our staff was friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed the free shuttle we offer to take guests around the resort. We deeply apologize if members of our staff were less than courteous. We train our staff to greet each guest with a smile and to provide top notch customer service every time. What you experienced is definitely not our level of service we expect from our staff. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention; as we will give this information to our resort management team. We hope this will not keep you from visiting us again so we can have another chance to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I spent a week at the Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort with my wife and 2 girls. The pictures online looked great, but the actual resort is not the same. Upon arrival, I waited in line for 44 minutes to check in, with only two people in front of me. While I was waiting in line, two separate people yelled at my wife very rudely to move the car (we were parked in the check in location!!!). After finally getting checked in, somebody walked me out to my car to inform me that someone else would be with me shortly to show me to my room; the real reason was that he wanted us to sign up to take a 90 minute timeshare event. He offered us 4 tickets to the water park they had, so we accepted, after all, it was only 90 minutes, how bad could it be? The room we got was supposed to sleep 4, which it did, as long as nobody needed space to walk around. The closet door did not open, the TV remote control did not work, the air conditioning did not work and the DVD player was not working. Off to a great start. The next morning we attended the "90 minute" timeshare presentation. He started by telling us this was not a high pressure sales thing, he wanted to tell us about the program, and if he did his job, the only thing that should stop us is money; but there would be no high pressure sales involved. After 3 hours, I informed the salesperson that it all sounded great, but I did not have the money to commit at this time. This is when things got even worse. He continued to push us to do it, and then brought over his boss to try and convince us. After saying no for a solid hour, I finally said, we committed to the 90 minutes we were told, and had now been here with our 2 kids for over 4 hours!!! The "boss" said very rudely, should I stop talking then, to which I said yes. He stood up, looked at the salesperson and simply said "get them their tickets and get them out of here" never once looking back at us. After that altercation, we had to listen to the salesperson tell us for 10 minutes that he we made him look bad in front of his boss!!! A third person then came over and tried, yet again, to get us to buy. If this is not high pressure sales, I do not know what is. We ate at their restaurant a few times, and prior to being seated were asked if we were guests or members, we then saw our server only once during our breakfast, and one more time to drop off our check, because we were only "guests", the members looked like their drinks were refilled every few minutes. This company does not care about getting repeat business, only signing up members. I will never stay at a Westgate resort again. I stayed at a Renaissance in Charlotte for 2 days prior to going to this resort because I was walking in another graduation ceremony. The Renaissance is a prime example of how a customer should be treated. Every staff member was great, and the room was a nice size; it was also $50 cheaper a night than the Westgate. If you want horrible service, go to the Westgate; do not go for the water park, because a few hours is all the time you will need in there before you need something else to do. When you chose to stay at their resort, you still have to pay extra to use the water park, unless of course you are a member. If you are considering this place, also know during our 4.5 hour "90 minute presentation", I was approached by a member who had been trying to sell his membership for years, and was unable to. He said, if he could go back, he would not have ever signed up.

Room Tip: Westgate trucks drive around every morning, and when they go in reverse they have beeping lights. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear about the issues you encountered while staying with us. Our Front Desk staff can always assist you with another unit if the inventory allows. We are a timeshare resort and offer all of our owners and guests the opportunity to participate in one of our timeshare presentations. In return for participating we do offer incentives such as breakfast and discounts. Participation is purely voluntary and our sales team is there to assist you in any way they can in the process of buying a timeshare. We deeply apologize if you and your party were inconvenience in anyway. We hope this will not keep you from visiting us again so we can have another chance to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The greeted you upon arrival and checked us in quickly. We were upgraded, escorted to our unit, the amenities were explained and verified that all the items were working in the unit before the bellman departed. Great feature of their customer service. We were never harassed to attend a timeshare talk while there. The resorts location made it convenient to hike the Smokey mountains or visit Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge. The unit was well maintained, grounds kept clean, pools spacious and well equipped. The on premiss water park was a huge plus. Would recommend to anyone visiting the Great Smokey Mountain. If traveling to Smokey Mountains I would again stay at this property.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded upon check in. The worse that they can say is sorry we are sold out during your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed every moment of your stay. It’s wonderful to know you found our resort to have breathtaking views, clean and well maintained rooms, and staff that are friendly and helpful. We do also have a shuttle service that takes guests around the resort. We’re honored you chose us for your vacation and hope to see you again soon.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We checked into the welcome center, because our son and daughter in law had signed up for the time share presentation that would only take 90 minutes. Check in took about an hour. We had our small 7 pound non shedding yorkie/poo with us and we had to pay $170.00 for our three day stay. I understand a pet fee, but $170.00 non refundable. When my son signed up for the timeshare he advised we had a pet and they told him $100.00 deposit for the pet, but would get that back if no damage or pet hair. The 90 minute presentation took 3 hrs, and finally they just walked out. They have a baby that needed to be fed and they would not let them go. Very very hard selling and pushy. A lot of what the seller was saying were lies. We are a Westgate owner in Orlando Florida and it is wonderful. We have been to a lot of westgate properties and this was the worst. . The two bedroom condo we had was in need of remodeling. We were told that because we have a pet we got the worst one. Big stains on the carpet, contact paper peeling off the cabinets, ceiling fan was wobbling so bad thought it was going to come flying off any minute. Parking was horrible, very busy, to much of a cluster. Pool was dirty as was the water park lazy river. All in all it was a horrible place to visit. It is a beautiful resort, but lacking in so many ways. We ate at the Mason Jar outside and the staff was very friendly and the food was good. We had a great time in Gatlinburg. Our daughter in law got stopped by a park ranger and he told her that she had 10 to 12 violations, one being did not stop for the stop sign, going over the center line and questioned her over and over if she had been drinking. Of course she had not been drinking and after the ranger told her that he was letting her off with a verbal warning they went back to see what the ranger was talking about the stop sign, there was not even a stop sign anywhere. So glad my son was with her, not sure what would have happened. All in all, we would not go back there, but we had a great time, because we were with family and that's all that counts.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high up the mountain as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 32irish32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa. We’re glad to hear you found our resort to be beautiful and conveniently located close to the area attractions in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. We do apologize if there was a misunderstanding with the pet fees. We are a pet friendly resort; therefore all of our units are pet friendly. We do not have specific units set aside for pet owners. However, we do require a refundable $100 security deposit to ensure no damage has occurred to the unit. We also require a non-refundable $170 cleaning fee, regardless of what type or size of pet you have. This is to ensure the safety and health of all our guests. We do a deep cleaning to remove any pet hair, odor, or dander. Some guests’ may have allergies and we do not want them to suffer or not be able to relax and enjoy their vacation due to a previous pet in the unit. Unfortunately, with the size of our resort, parking can become an issue and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that may cause. If available, our employees would be glad to give you a ride on their golf cart. We are a timeshare resort and offer all of our owners and guests the opportunity to participate in one of our timeshare presentations. In return for participating we do offer incentives such as breakfast and discounts. Participation is purely voluntary and our sales team is there to assist you in any way they can in the process of buying a timeshare. We deeply apologize if you and your party were inconvenience in anyway. We hope this will not keep you from visiting us again so we can have another chance to exceed your expectations.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here several times the resort is wonderful the staff pleasant and helpful the security is the best! When you arrive at check in you are escorted to your mountain top condo or Cabin by the belman you must go through the security gate by escort. (We have been to other timeshares in our network none with security as good as this!)
Depending on the accomodations you select ( we booked a 2 br) they are upscale with a kitchen and laundry (so I don't have extra laundry when I get home)truly a home away from home .
Probably the only thing I can say negative is the tours for timeshare sales are somewhat disruptive and the wait staff in the eating facilities are truly understaffed and under trained. The food was good but the wait and lack of training in the Resturant and bar was a real turn off. (For a resort that promotes themselves as having exceptional service and a 5 star resort)
No for the location it is between Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg TN. First don't rely on GPS to get you there and there are no signs either until you turn into the resort drive. As stated this wasn't our first trip there and we still missed our turn and at night its really hard to find until you get your bearings locally. The resort does have shuttle service to downtown if you chose. (That's a plus because traffic is awful)
All in all it is a wonderful resort just eat off property or cook in your cabin!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klcrfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location close to the area attractions. We do also offer a trolley service to different areas in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge to make your vacation even more enjoyable. We appreciate your comments on our restaurant staff. We will be passing this information to our restaurant management so they can address this issue. We’re thrilled to know our Security team provided top notch customer service. We’re glad you chose us and hope to see you again soon!

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
3.1 mi away
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa

Property: Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5155
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#22 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park and bustling downtown Gatlinburg. With easy access to a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities and a variety of onsite amenities, including an amazing indoor/outdoor water park, your dream vacation is waiting at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing