We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't be my first choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had two nights in this resort, we were not impressed. The maid service is only once a week, so no good if your there for a couple of nights. The wifi did not work where we were so we had to keep going to the reception area, although they did cancel the charge. You do get a complimentary packet of coffee and washing powder but your not really going to go out and buy milk etc just for a few days. There is a complimentary shuttle into Gatlinburg, we decided to drive into town, which is a fun place but be warned all the good places stop serving food at 10pm. Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel (it's not really a hotel) to any of my friends or relatives.

Room Tip: Try not to be on a corner apartment as the external part of the AC's are very noisy indeed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank littlemisssmokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you found our resort to be located close to the area attractions such as dining, shopping, and entertainment. We do apologize if you were not happy with our Housekeeping schedule. As a timeshare, our Housekeeping does run a little differently than a hotel. However, we do offer additional cleanings for a fee if you’d like to request it. We’re disappointed to learn you will not recommend us. We hope you will allow us another chance to exceed your expectations.

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,530 - 1,536 of 3,038 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay. Close to everything with a trolley stop right at the entrance. Each room is equipped with dishes cookware and utensils. The water park is amazing. Great place for families couples or just a one person hetaway.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank TamaraM2537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you for such a great review. We’re glad to hear you had a great time and enjoyed all the amenities and activities we offer on site. As mentioned, we do offer the shuttle service to different areas in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge to make your stay a little easier. We hope you to see you again very soon!

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We love this resort! We've been owners since 1994 and this is our favorite Westgate property. The rooms are nice and we love the "welcome home party/dinner" the first day we arrive after a long trip. Our concier Lynn always takes great care of us and provides us with personal service every time we visit. Everyone at the resort was friendly and very attentive to our requests. The indoor waterpark is great for kids and helps exhaust then every night.

Our unit layout works great for our family. The kitchen lacks a few items, which we believe should be available to check out as needed. Our internet Wi-Fi kept dropping which was frustrating. Other than these minor things, we love it here.

I agree with the high pressure sales comments and believe they should let up and let us enjoy our vacations. Besides, if more people buy here, it will become harder for us to get the week we want every year!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank LakebumsInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We’re beyond thrilled to know you’ve been an owner since 1994! We love hearing that our valued owners still love and enjoy owning a timeshare with us at Westgate Resorts. We’re glad to know you enjoyed every aspect of your stay from your unit to the amenities we offer on site. We’re sorry to hear your kitchen was missing a few items. Our Front Desk staff actually have various items that you may want or need for you unit. You can always ask them! They’d be more than happy to accommodate you. We’re glad you had a great time and hope to see you again soon!

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We just returned from a week at this timeshare resort and the stay was fantastic! The rooms were large and comfortable, and the availability of a full kitchen is a great money-saver for families. We really didn't use the kitchen except for the microwave and coffee pot because it was just my husband and I in the room and we like to eat out. But my two adult children and their spouses stayed in nearby rooms and they used the kitchen nearly every day and were thrilled that they could save money by making their own meals.
The staff was super-nice, the Smoky Mountain Grill is fantastic and even my adult children used the inside water park! I was concerned that the outside pool looked small in comparison to the size of the resort and that it might be really crowded, but that was not the case at all.
The resort is nestled in the mountains almost directly between Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg and Smokey Mountain National Park. You cannot honestly ask for a better location! A super-cheap trolley is available to take you to any of the places I just named. It's helpful to have a car, but the trolleys are a better choice of transportation in many cases.
We really had a wonderful time and will return for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Virginia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

It is so rewarding to hear that our services and facilities were to your liking and that you plan to return in the future.

We strive to provide exceptional accommodations and a variety of onsite amenities, while being conveniently located to local attractions.

Comments like yours are the perfect motivation for us to keep working to achieve our guests’ satisfaction on each and every visit.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again for another memorable vacation.

Sincerely,
Anja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Best time to visit is in the spring time. Great deals on the 2-3 bedroom! We visit every March-April. This a time share resort but rooms are available year round. Please check out the floor plans, you will be amazed at the size. Some are bigger than your average home. The only negative is that there is not free internet for the rooms. Location is great and rooms are spacious and clean!

Room Tip: Every unit is great but make sure to check out the floor plans to get exactly what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stacyc41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your views on the Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, with others here on TripAdvisor. As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from happy guests. Regarding internet charges, Westgate does provide free Wifi to our owners; and guests are charged a small usage fee to access our Wifi network in order to avoid excessive use, as it slows the entire network down. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. We thank you again for your feedback and hope to see you at the Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort again soon!

Sincerely,
Anja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I didn't feel like I was on vacation because I still had to make my own bed, take out the trash and do the dishes. No free Internet and the basement level cell service was spotty. It had a nice strong cabin in the woods theme to the decor and was a nice location between gatlinburg and pigeon forge.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank KSneshkoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your review. We’re glad you found our resort to be conveniently located close to the area attractions in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. We do apologize if you were not happy with our Housekeeping schedule. As a timeshare, our Housekeeping does run a little differently than a hotel. However, we do offer additional cleanings for a fee if you’d like to request it. We hope to see you again the next time you’re in Gatlinburg.

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family and I just got back from our eight day stay in Gatlinburg. From the moment we first saw the resort, we were impressed. It's situated conveniently between Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg with most attractions a short five to ten minute drive in either direction. We arrived late afternoon and were able to walk right up to check in. With in minutes we were being led by Igor up to our one bedroom suite. On the way Igor pointed out the restaurant and the indoor water park. Which was a great plus. My daughter and I enjoyed it very much. It has two big slides, one is with a tube and the other with out. The lines were short so you could pretty much just run up the stairs and go right down again. Park also had a smaller child's play area, and another area with smaller slides with a giant bucket that would fill with water and eventually dump soaking everyone in its path.we also enjoyed the lazy river that snakes its way through the water park.After getting up to our rooms Igor went through everything with us. Pointing out the full kitchen with all the dishes and pots and pans we needed for our stay. He then showed us how to get the fire started in the fire place. A nice feature but not really necessary in the middle of August. Afterwards he pointed out our access codes to utilize the Wi-Fi which was a no cost item included with our room. We did have a problem with the Wi-Fi signal towards the end of the week but with a short call to the help desk, Wi-Fi was up and running with no further problems.
The staff at Westgate was very friendly and courteous. At any time day or night we could call down to house keeping for towels and paper products and have them brought right up.
Of course there were some things that could use improvement. As I mentioned before one call and house keeping was there with clean towels. Not one problem or issues. Apparently we were assigned a personnel concierge who we were supposed to call day or night with any thing we needed. After speaking to him once and having an invitation to a barbeque left at our door we never heard from him again. Even after calling and texting him to request towels we still didn't get a reply. Good thing house keeping services were so quick. Other issues that we had were that for the most part the suite was clean except for piles of dust in the corners behind bathroom doors and along the slats on doors. Only other complaint would be the noise heard between rooms. We could actually hear entire conversations. Think the people running Westgate should watch a little HGTV and learn how to do a little soundproofing.
For the most part it was a great stay. My family and I would definitely stay.at Westgate in Gatlinburg again. The couple of things we found wrong in no way took away from us having an enjoyable vacation

Room Tip: Check in after 6pm and try and get rooms in the 3000s and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. It’s great to hear you really enjoyed your stay and all the amenities and activities we offer on site. We love hearing when one of our employees goes above and beyond to assist our guests and make their stay even more enjoyable. We really appreciate you letting us know; it lets us know we made a great choice with picking our employees! We appreciate and value your comments on the noise filtration and will pass along this information to our resort management team; as this helps us know where to improve. We’re delighted to know you chose us and we hope to see you again soon.

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
392 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
1.8 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5155
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £86 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park and bustling downtown Gatlinburg. With easy access to a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities and a variety of onsite amenities, including an amazing indoor/outdoor water park, your dream vacation is waiting at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing