We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,101)
Filter reviews
3,101 results
Traveller rating
1,282
695
446
272
406
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,282
695
446
272
406
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water park indoor waterpark mason jar timeshare owners bedroom deluxe pigeon forge full kitchen smoky mountain washer dryer lazy river family vacation national park trolley stop concierge shuttle cabin accommodations
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 3,101 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We have been owners at Westgate Smoky Mountains since the year 2000. When we purchased here, we had to take their word for it that it would look like the "model" they had made of it completed (they only had one unit completed, the swimming pool was just a dirt hole in the ground and the roads were not paved). But we showed our faith and purchased a week and paid to have an option for a second week if we felt we liked it enough after 2 years. We purchased the second week and were happy until last October. In October of 2017, we stayed here for a week. The third attached photo (The one of the Indoor Water Park Roof) was our view in October. The fires came through here and destroyed approx. 70% of the cabins, so we understood that it would take time to get it back together. So we said nothing about the God awful view we had. We reserved another week and arrived yesterday (6/8/2018). We were taken all the way to the top of the mountain and I was elated to finally get a room with a view. You can imagine our disappointment when we were placed in a room that, from our balcony, overlooks the parking lot, a Shuttle bus stop and other buildings (see the first 2 photos). I didn't pay an exorbitant amount of money for this! I accepted the excuse, the first time, that they were rebuilding the units who's foundations were intact, first. But as I am up here on the hill I have passed a lot of construction of brand new buildings and not just buildings that are being rebuilt. So that is only a partial truth when they say they are just rebuilding the ones that have intact foundations. They haven't even started rebuilding the units I originally purchased. So naturally, I was frustrated and went down to the Registration desk to request a chat with the Manager on duty. A woman came out of the managers office and told another female worker that he, or she, didn't wish to talk with me and she should send me to a woman at the service desk. Extremely poor customer service skills on the part of this manager. I will be calling their Main Office , in Orlando, to discuss this rude manager and recommend this person be sent for some customer service training skills! Until recently, I have always looked forward to my stays at my home resort. This situation has taken its toll on our experience and we are simply not enjoying our stays here. We won't sell our weeks but will stay elsewhere through our exchange program. But I can assure you, we will never recommend this resort to anyone again. In fact, we will do the opposite whenever anyone inquires about Westgate Smoky Mountain.

Room Tip: They give no guarantee that you will have a decent view!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rjoney55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

We truly regret hearing that you could not fully enjoy your recent stay at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort, due to your concerns about the resort rebuilding process and how they were addressed. The experience that you have shared in your review falls far below the standards that we have set for our staff to follow. We sincerely thank you for bringing this to our attention. Your comment will be shared with the appropriate resort management. We hope that the experience that you had with these particular team members will not keep you from staying with us again.

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

This place is ridiculous. We payed $500 for 2 nights after a military discount and that’s the cheapest they have and were highly disappointed. They cram you into a room that’s smaller than a regular hotel room (like other reviewers stated). They have free activities but you have to make sure you do them before 4pm so if you want to go out and see the towns you can’t if you want to do the free activities. They have an 11pm “quiet hour” so after you get done seeing and visiting the area and you’d like to come back and rest and go to sleep at night you can’t because you have 4 kids running around upstairs causing a bunch of noise and the resort can’t do anything about it because it’s not “quiet hour” yet. If you plan on bringing a motorcycle then don’t because they don’t allow them on the property. You have to park them at the welcome center which is across the highway. They don’t include free WiFi, you have to pay $10/ device per day that you have your device connected even though you’re already paying a big amount of money. The water park is not included, you have to pay $75 per person per day to go to the water park which is the size of a Walgreens pharmacy store. This place was a huge let down in my opinion and was WAY overpriced. This place was a $100 a night place to me. I would not suggest staying here unless you are willing to pay a lot of money for nothing.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank tylerbozarth739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

While we truly appreciate your feedback and patronage, it saddens to us learn that Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa did not meet your expectations. Communication is essential to a good experience, that being said we truly regret that somehow pertinent information about the cost of property amenities was misstated. In particular, Wild Bear Water Park, does not charge a fee is you are a guest at the property and WiFi is one of the amenities covered with the cost of your stay, unless you require three or more devices. We know that some things can’t be anticipated during any stay, so we are always hard at work to make sure our team delivers on our brand promise and every customer has a positive experience. We will take your feedback into account as we work toward improving the way we do business. It is our hope that you will allow us the honor hosting more excellent stays in the future.

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Spent a week at this lovely resort in the Great Smoky Mountains, Tennessee. They suffered from the fire that swept through the area in November 2016, but they are gradually rebuilding. We stayed in a studio apartment down the bottom of the mountain, near to the bottom swimming pool, water park and reception area. The facilities in the studio apartment were a little limited, but were clean and comfortable. There was a dining table sufficient for the two of us to use when eating in the apartment, there was a sofa and a queen size bed pushed against the wall - this made it a little difficult for my husband to get in and out of bed, but we managed fine without the need to move the furniture around. The bathroom was a good size and there was plenty of space for clothes. The kitchen was limited, so we ate out most of the time.
The resort runs a shuttle bus on site to take you to the top of the mountain, where there is another swimming pool and the view up there is amazing. If it rains, you can always go into the small indoor water park on site. At the entrance to the resort you can catch a trolley bus to take you into Gatlinburg or to Pigeon Forge and it is a very cheap way to travel.
Like all timeshare resort, the staff will want to try and sell you something or encourage you to upgrade, but that is what timeshare is all about, so be prepared for the sales pitch while there. However, all the people we met, whether it was our own conceirge, Anna, the security guards, the shuttle bus driver or any of the staff on site, they were all so friendly, welcoming and helpful if there was anything we needed. In fact all the people we met while in Tennessee were equally as friendly and welcoming. We had a lovely stay in this beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank chrissylenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for your kind review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa. We are so happy to hear that you found comfort in your room accommodations, and that you enjoyed our beautiful location. Our staff strives to be attentive and give great service, and we are delighted to see that you experienced that. We invite you back and hope to see you again very soon.

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Great pedicure!!! Very nice staff and very helpful and welcoming. the pedicure was amazing, relaxing and wonderful!!!!
Amber is incredible at her job and incredibly sweet!!! The atmosphere is very relaxing and quiet.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brooke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Brooke, thank you so much for your review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing pedicure at our Serenity Spa. Thank you for mentioning Amber and her excellent service—we’ll be sure to let her know you were pleased! It would be a pleasure to be able to serve you again in the future.

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

This place is one of the biggest scams they will show you all these beautiful places to stay don’t believe for one second you going to stay at one.. they pack people into regular hotel room sized rooms and herd them to the timeshare sales people.. I feel so sorry for the people that have bought somehing.. the beds are horrible a 2 dollar air mattress would have been better.. sad what this place is doing guess there’s a sucker born every minute.. I left 8 hrs after checking in and they charged me for 133 dollars for nothing really.. beware people if I can save just one of you readers the headache the time to write this was worth it..

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank Marc v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Marc, thank you for taking a moment to leave a review. We regret to hear that your recent stay with us was anything less than desirable. We do hope that any issues with your room accommodations were brought to the attention of our staff so we could try to address this for you. Please know that we never intend to inconvenience you in any way, shape, or form. We realize you may not be inclined to visit us again, but please give us another chance to exceed your expectations.

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews