We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location for picking up picnic lunches”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Dad's

Old Dad's
Ranked #9 of 195 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Convenient location for picking up picnic lunches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were on our way into The Great Smoky Mountains National Park and needed a lunch to bring with us. Old Dad's is located right near the entrance to the park in Gatlinburg. We ordered a roast beef and a corn beef sandwich (I know, I know cholesterol). When we said we were hiking the pleasant woman behind the counter said she would put all the toppings separate so the sandwiches would not get soggy. When we opened our sack at the top of the trail we were pleasantly surprised. Lots of meat, lettuce, tomatoes, onions and crunchy pickles. Mmmmm Nothing fancy but a sandwich like I would have made to bring with us if I could. Great value and friendly service. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank YCP156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    157
    48
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
lavergne, tn
2 reviews
“Always a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We normally stay pretty close to the end of the strip in Gatlinburg so old dad's is very close. The breakfast is cheap and very good! We also stop by and pick up a pick nick lunch before heading to the national park. since we have a baby it nice to have a convenient store close by... oh and the people that work there are so friendly. We go every time we come to Gatlinburg about 2 a day to get something.

Helpful?
Thank ecto452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!!! Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We just had cheeseburgers and fries but it was excellent!!! The employees are so friendly, loved the atmosphere and burgers were delicious....a bit thin but definitely thicker then a fast food burger. Only need one order of fries for two people, we couldn't even eat em all. Cheese burger was 4.49 and fries 1.99$ very good value, especially for how delicious it was, they cook it right there in front of you and have 4 tables to sit at.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rockifields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
2 reviews
“old dads”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

great place for coffee and breakfast as well as unique gifts. It was beside the hotel and the Liquor Store. Only had to walk about a few steps. Great place

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Don't be fooled, while this may look like a general store on the outside, they make some of the best sandwiches on the inside!!! I got the Fried Green Tomatoes BLT and it was heavenly! My boyfriend got the philly cheese and it was FULL of flavor!!! Great spot for a quick bite! Wish we would have found it sooner on our trip to try more!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nhalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Dad's also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Old Dad's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing