We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Chalet Condominiums
Reviewed 12 September 2008

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at High Chalet! It was perfect for our anniversary! I spoke with Sarah when I made my reservation and she was ever so helpful with making the right choice for our stay. I bugged her several times prior to my arrival and she was always so pleasant. Once we checked in, Sarah and Stan offered great recommendations of where I could take my wife for our anniversary dinner. They suggested the Cherokee Grill and they were absolutely correct in that it was perfect. Our condo was spectacular and was very clean. The view was way more than we bargained for. We enjoyed our morning coffee looking at the mountain views. We will be back again! Everyone was so pleasant and helpful! My wife really enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub. Due to the size of the complex, we are considering having our family reunion here next summer. Thank you Sarah for our stay and thank you Stan for your helpful guide information! I really enjoyed our conversations!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank keepintheroadhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2008

Our family enjoyed our stay at High Chalet! We had stayed at The Summitt previously and we really enjoyed High Chalet's location and the condo we stayed in was beautiful! The grounds are very clean and the staff at High Chalet went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. We did not get to utilize the internet service, but Sarah was so kind to allow me to sit in her office for what seemed countless hours to work on a project for work. There is a full-time resident that was also very helpful with restaurant information and directions around town. My son really enjoyed the pool and hot tubs. We enjoyed High Chalet so much, we booked our summer vacation for next year. Thank you High Chalet and Sarah for your wonderful hospitality! You put the real meaning into "True Southern Hospitality".

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank alwaysonthegoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Unfriendly mangement. Lied about internet. They don't have a service. They told us couple of days ago a storm knocked off its routers which we found it to be untrue ( manager at the other hotel told us there was no storm in the last 10-15 days). Instead of offering help or working out something they asked us to leave the property but no refund. I have never experienced such an unfriendly management. Will never ever stay at this place.

No extra bed sheets or pillows for 5 or 6th guests.
No view to the valley or mountains.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank Tauqir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

High Chalet Rentals.com.We drove way way up the mountain hoping that it would be worth the drive. We checked in and went to our 2 bedroom condo #1104 (Mountain Splendor). Upon entering you could smell an awful odor of a mix between cleaning chemicals and bug spray. The floor in the kitchen was just gross. My shoes would stick to the floor. The wall paper was literally falling off the wall. The back balcony was falling in, luckily it was only a few inches off the ground. The whole place was just old outdated and gross. This is something that just a good cleaning will never take care of. We complained to the management with our concerns wanting our money back . We had paid half with credit card for deposit and then cash upon arrival. She waved a piece of paper in our faces and said it was too late, we had already checked in. We were only there about ten minutes and my wife started having breathing problems from the mix of chemicals or mold or something in the room. We simply could not stay here. Buyer beware!!!!! Do not "check in" without seeing the property. The internet pictures do not do justice to the condition of the unit, property or location. We are now in a chalet village chalet and it is very nice. Cost of condo $318 for three nights and we didn't stay fifteen minutes. Cost of chalet, $423 for three nights. Total cost 741 for three nights. Live and learn.....

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank globaltraveller0074u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2008

Rental condo on top of "mountain". The road up to High Chalet is, in a word, terrible. Narrow, twisty and, in places, no side marker lines. Add in 12" to 18" drop offs and this is not a road for the faint of heart.

The units are OK as are the facilities on-site. View is unremarkable (we got to look at a radio broadcast tower). And a loonngg drive to town.

Overall, very disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bradbhandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2007

We stayed here July 22-27 and had a wonderful time. The view from our condo was breath taking. Sarah and the whole staff were just wonderful. We had a great time watching the wildlife from the balcony. The only problem was the pool was cold because it never got out the 70's the whole time we were there so we didn't get to swim. That was fine though my nine year old did get in for a few minutes and got out to go watch the rabbitts. We will definately stay there again. Sarah was so helpful and nice and the people that were there was also so nice to us. We want to thank her and the people who own the condo for allowing us to stay on the property.

Tammy Jordan

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tammyjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2006

Our stay at High Chalet was excellent however beware of non High Chalet websites that advertise $49.00 and $59.00 a nite stays, there are only one of each at these rooms available at these prices and it is clearly a bait and switch tactic. These sites are not affiliated with High Chalet condominiums and after further investigation, we found that they were not run by licensed and bonded travel agents, in which case it would be unsecure to give credit card information to those sites. Our family will stay at High Chalet again but in the future we will book through highchalet[-] which is the offical site for the condominiums and avoid any confusion.

Stayed: July 2006
8  Thank legalwayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
12.7 mi away
Deer Ridge Mountain Resort
Deer Ridge Mountain Resort
#8 of 52 in Gatlinburg
377 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
2.9 mi away
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
3.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Chalet Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Chalet Condominiums

Address: 1380 Ski View Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4533
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £57 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
High Chalet Condominiums Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing