We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We couldn't stay there!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Creekside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn Creekside
Ranked #29 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Edom, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We couldn't stay there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2008

It sounds great and we decided to try something different. Wow!

First, where it got the name - creekside- is certainly a mystery. As we entered the hotel, the narrow driveway was blocked with cars. The view in every direction was a parking lot and another parking lot.

We had reserved a month ahead and were really looking forward to a creekside hotel. Our room was on the main floor, in a small building adjacent to the parking lots. The view was the parking lot (you guessed it) and the back of a gray building- not sure what it was. Even dreary outside.

We stayed about long enough to bring in part of our luggage and were so depressed with the room, we knew we had to do something. The room needed painting, the carpet was soiled, the fireplace was dirty-- it was claustrophobic.

After a discussion about not being able to stay one minute, much less the two nights we had reserved, we told the desk clerk that the room was awful. We suggested that we would just go down the road a little further, and he said, "No problem" and cancelled our reservation. He just worked there, thank goodness.

We then noted all the vacancy signs in town and went back to our original motel we have been staying for over 30 years. We will continue to stay there when we are in town as the Little Pigeon River DOES flow outside our room and the window reveals the tall trees from our patio.

Thank goodness we had the good sense to get out of the Quality Inn Creekside.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank grandmarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    201
    127
    52
    58
See reviews for
208
227
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2008

We have stayed twice at the Quality Inn Creekside and enjoyed both stays. Our first trip we had a second floor room over LeConte Creek. The sound of running water drowned out all of the city noise. Ober Gatlinburg's Aerial Tramway was right across the street and our daughters loved watching them disappear up the mountain. Pool was nice on both trips. The continental breakfast is a little better than most and includes bisquits and gravy. The hotel is located among some of the city's best restaurants and a trolley stop is right at the entrance. The only downside was the parking. The lot can get very crowded, but that is a hazard at any downtown Gatlinburg hotel as space is always at a premium. Overall, though, this is one of our favorite places to stay in town.

  • Liked — Located on LeConte Creek
  • Disliked — Crowded parking
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtkirkfan2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowview
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2008

We're not sure why this motel is #33 on the list of places to stay. We don't think it should have made the list. Arrived to the motel and parking was a nightmare-spaces were very small and totally full. Entering the room from the outside the carpet was worn out and looked moldy. Inside the room the toilet didn't flush and if my husband haddn't borrowed the plunger it would have overflowed several times, the pullout bed was completley broken needless to say our kids didn't sleep the whole weekend, the breakfast was scarce and over before you got up. When going to the desk for help we we're first told they would move us and then when the night shift came on they told us they were full and couldn't move us. We were pretty much stuck. The desk lady was rude and commented she was the only one there to work (had no help)and it being summer there were many people needing assistance. Please choose another motel this one ruined our stay.

  • Liked — nothing, really
  • Disliked — the entire stay
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Madison057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illnois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

I booked this hotel based on the trip advisor ratings. I was very disappointed. While the employees were just fine, the hotel is very shop worn. I walked across the room that we stayed in a couple of times, you know, just normal walking, and they were dark on the bottom. I didn't notice, but my wife did. I am not sure what happened since some of these reviews were written, but this hotel is in dreadful need of a facelift. The $76.00 rate was twice as much as other hotels that were newer and located in a more central location. Parking in the lot was an experience that reminded me of times I have stayed in hotels on college football weekends, as cars and motorcycles were parked all over the place. After a really fun day at Dollywood, we both were kept up all night by a screaming baby in the room next door. I travel a lot for business, and stay at Quality most of the time, but this will be a Quality Inn that we will not be going to the next time we go to the Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge area.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank travelguy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, TN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

We stayed there for two nights after a family reunion in North Carolina.
The staff was friendly and courteous. I overheard one woman telling them about a problem in her room and they did not hesitate to say they would move her and her family to a new room. That is customer service.
The hotel is a bit worn but the rooms were clean. The beds were comfortable, the water was hot and the water pressure was fine. The housekeeping staff does a fine job. They even replaced our soap with new bars each morning.
Our room was located on the first floor next to the pool. Some kids jumped the fence late on our last night and the staff was quick to make them leave.
The hotel sets off the Parkway a few yards so you do not hear the noise of the traffic and tourists. Yet, it is in a good location to start walking the Parkway.
The continental breakfast was okay. They had gravy and biscuits, toast, cereal, fruit, donuts, little muffins and hard boiled eggs.
The price was less than many of the other hotels around Gatlinburg but was a good value. I would stay there again.

  • Liked — The location was set off the street a few yards in downtown Gatlinburg so that was quiet.
  • Disliked — Pool was COLD!.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tnhurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur,IL
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2008

Thought we were getting a nonsmoking room over the creek as the same shown on picture advertisement BUT stuck us on 2nd floor in another section further back in the hotel (they don't show this part of the hotel in the picture) overlooking the pool which smelled of smoke. Complained (told us the Internet can be misleading) and moved us next day to a creekside room. Returned to room at 11:30 p.m. wanting a shower BUT no hot water even after running for 15 min -- complained - explanation was "lots of other rooms used it - wait 30 min for tank to refill - went to bed "dirty". Returned to room next night and had not been serviced by the maid - not put on the list to clean that day. Brought towels, etc. to us -- did have hot water - got the shower after two days. Room/deck chairs need some repairs. Parking situation was horrible! Positive point - continental breakfast was good. The bed was comfortable And, did ask for one night free and they kindly gave that to us. All hotel personnel were nice. BUT, will look for other accommodations next time. Lesson learned -- always call the motel and voice your expectations and quiz them on your accommodations.

  • Liked — Continental breakfast and hotel personnel friendly
  • Disliked — The room and parking lot.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaDecaturIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, TN
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2008

My sister and I stayed at this hotel on the weekend of June 13th-15th. Our room was located on the 2nd floor of the rear building. We had a balcony but the view of the mountain was obscured by trees and we could hear the constant hum of air conditioning from the roof of the other building. The room was quite clean and a good size. We especially liked the beds, they were very comfortable with quality sheets and duvets. It was quiet at night and great for sleeping. The deluxe continental breakfast was a bit of a disappointment -- it would have been better with bagels and cream cheese rather than donuts! The location of the hotel was very good and we found it within easy walking distance of the tramway and shopping and restaurants and the trolley stops. It was also located at the quieter end of the street. We walked the Gatlinburg Trail to the Visitor Center and it was a pleasant 2 mile hike. However, we did take the trolley back down. Overall, we were pleased considering the price was discounted due to my auto plan, but if we return for a second visit to the Smokies, I would probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#21 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#9 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#38 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Creekside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Creekside

Property: Quality Inn Creekside
Address: 125 Leconte Creek Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Creekside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn Creekside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Creekside Hotel Gatlinburg
Quality Inn Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing