We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in a garbage can 1st”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Carpet Inn of Gatlinburg
Ranked #73 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
bristol,va
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay in a garbage can 1st”
Reviewed 6 September 2009

It sucks, and I'm not a real particular person. My wife is, and she freaked out when we got into our room. The floor was dirty, the walls were bad looking. The bathroom (or closet) was dingy and dark. The door had a big gap at the bottom to the outside. She raised cain with the person on duty and got our money back.
I wished I had seen this review back when we stayed there.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gdawg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    8
    6
    29
See reviews for
20
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Troutman, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

This hotel should be CONDEMED! this place was awlful!! We walked into the lobby to check in and we had to hold our nose the smell was that bad. We both knew then we better check the room first. We went to the room opened the door and the carpets were black with stains we checked the bathroom and the shower did not work at all we looked at the beds and ther was pubic hair on the pillow case we sat on the bed and it felt like cardboard. The SMELL was undescribable it was a combination of mold, never cleaned with chemicals just disgusting. My son has asthma and we all knew if he stayed there he would have been in the hospital that night it was really that bad. we went back to the lobby to tell the man we would not be staying and he played STUPID and acted like there was nothing wrong or that this was the first time he had ever heard that his hotel was gross.We sked for our money back and he was very nasty and would not give us our money back. He charged us for the night and we left and went to a much nicer clearner hotel. I would not reccomend this hotel to my worst enemy . PLEASE LISTEN TO THE REVIEWS THEY ARE ALL TRUE THIS PLASE SHOULD BE CONDEMED!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

athens tn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2008

Low prices. Low quality. Has a half way nice swimming pool. Older motel. Within a brisk walk down the hill to the aquarium. Stay here only if saving money on your hotel in Gatlinburg is your # 1 priority.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — needs to be updated better
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tennesseetrumpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

This hotel should be closed permanently. First of all, the address given and the actual street address are NOT the same. We knew the minute we were checking in it was a bad mistake so we only paid for one night....It was very late so we didn't want to start looking right then.The rooms are so terrible we found another motel with a vacancy first thing the next morning, that is as soon as we were able to move after sleeping on that horrible mattress. The ad we read when we originally made the reservation stated "all rooms newly renovated" we were offered a special promotional price because of this.... Newly renovated from where? The local dump? The capet was so disgusting I wouldn't even walk on it without my shoes, the mattress had seen it's last days about 5 years ago, the entire room smelled horrible, there was no bathroom counter....just a sink hanging on the wall. Talk about a VERY MISLEADING advertisement! I would NOT recommend anyone waste their time or money staying here!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank kars5860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noblesville, IN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2008

We stayed at this facility 10/ 25, 26, 2008 - WARNING – Look at the room before authorizing stay. Please be aware that if you pay these folks, you will not get your money back, if you leave. You will need to file complaints through the Gatlinburg Chamber of Commerce and possible the Tennessee State Attorney General’s Office. You DO NOT want to take children here. This is a filthy, mildew filled, rundown facility that needs to meet the wrecking ball. You will find black / mildew and torn chalk on all appliances, heavily worn and STAINED bedding, mattress, and box spring, carpet black with dirt, pillows you would not want your dog to sleep on, drapes with holes, no ice, OUTDOOR washer and dryer, horrific customer service, wallpaper falling off the walls, state etc. Please understand that I am not exaggerating here – look for yourself. This place needs to be featured on some type of documentary for lodging eligible to be closed by the state. We are well educated and realized that we were paying a low rate and did not expect even something comparable to a Holiday Inn, but this place would make a Motel 6 look luxurious. There are dozens of facilities close to this site - do yourself a favor and find another.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — The facility and staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OnTheRoad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2008

Our visit was Thursday, July 24 and Friday, July 25, 2008. We recently stayed here at the Red Carpet Inn in Gatlinburg TN and too much of my surprise it was acceptable. I knew from the price that it was not going to be the Ritz. We, both my parents and myself, stayed 2 nights. The beds were soft, the carpet was clean, the shower curtain however had mildew on it. We brought this to the cleaning lady at the hotel but she did not do anything about it. We had a do not distrub sign on the door so I believe that is why the curtain did not get changed or cleaned while we were gone that day. There were also 2 dirty towels in the floor behind the bathroom door when we arrived to our room. The cleaning lady apologized for this when we brought it to her attention. As for the continential breakfast, coffee and a dount! No thanks, we got breakfast elsewhere. The washer and dryer are located outside as well as the ice machine. The washer did not work but the dryer did. We ended up going to the Wash Tub about a 1 or so miles down the road to do laundry. The wallpaper in the bathroom had the pattern going sideways instead of up and down like it should have been. There was a hole in the bathroom wallpaper that I stuffed toilet paper in. I was not sure why the hole was there or what may have been in there. The swimming pool was nice. We had it all to ourselves the first night. The second night, there was a family with three children in the pool with us, which was fine. The pool area was clean. They could have taken the weeds down on the other side of the fence to beautify the scenery soom. The man we dealt with in the lobby was pleasant. We asked for more towels in which he promptly delivered to our room. I would stay there again with no problem. The hotel was well within walking distance to downtown Gatlinburg and the trolleys run right past the hotel to go either direction. We were so tired when we got back to the place we slept very well. There is lots to see and do in Gatlinburg and many hotels/motels/inns to stay in. You don't have to spend lots of money on the hotel. There are cheaper places. Spend your money on the other things in Gatlinburg not expensive hotels. The driveways or entrance to this place is a hill. Then again everything in that area is on a hill! It was not a hard place to get in and out of. I was thinking since we were so close to downtown that the traffic would be horrible but it was not. There is a turn lane so that does help with getting in and out of the Red Carpet Inn.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — the mildew on the shower curtain
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 588JWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2008

This hotel is a DISGRACE. Just like many others, I booked online and the experience of staying at this hotel was too bad to describe. I am attaching pictures, so that you can see how the rooms look like. Due to the awful condition, I could not stay there for the whole time, but they made me pay upfront, and when I left the next day, they refused to refund me for the nights I was no longer willing to spend there.

  • Liked — This hotel is a disgrace
  • Disliked — This hotel is a disgrace
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank outdoors_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
#66 of 78 in Gatlinburg
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#39 of 78 in Gatlinburg
470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Economy Inn & Suites
Economy Inn & Suites
#47 of 78 in Gatlinburg
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.2 mi away
Country Town N' Suites
Country Town N' Suites
#64 of 78 in Gatlinburg
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zoders Inn & Suites
Zoders Inn & Suites
#11 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn of Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn of Gatlinburg

Property: Red Carpet Inn of Gatlinburg
Address: 349 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4964
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn of Gatlinburg 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn Of Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing