We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Very pleasing to look at from the outside. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was large and spacious and very quiet. I had a two queen room on the creekside. Comfortable bed and room smelled and look clean. The pool is a little on the smaller size but filled the need. The lazy river was small too but the kids really enjoyed it. The hotel is located within walking distance of everything but is quiet being off the main strip. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrdlschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

718 - 724 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were in Gatlinburg for the Gaither Family Fest. We stayed 4 nights at the Bearskin Lodge. We originally booked a “small queen suite”. When we arrived we discovered that the room had a queen bed and only one chair, no table in room. That would not have worked for 4 nights so we asked what our options were. The place was booked for the weekend but they were able to get us a room with 2 queen beds. The room was large and had a balcony overlooking the stream. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us. The facility was very clean and within walking distance of almost everything. I would definitely stay there again. Just be aware of the "small suites".

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We actually did not stay here because they were booked up when we went looking. We were desperate for a room somewhere clean after a dirty bug filled cabin we had just left. The receptionist person, Christina, was so nice she called all around town to try to find us a place to stay, even negotiating us a better rate and printing us a map to the hotel. She went above and beyond to help us and such good customer service should be commended. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The hotel was in a good location at the end of the strip. Not right inside town, but very very close to things. Parking was a little tricky in the evening, but didn't become a real issue. The room was nice and clean. The bathroom, however, was very small. We had a city view balcony and there were bees on the balcony as a reviewer below has mentioned. These bees didn't bother us, but that doesn't mean they couldn't have. These bees really need to be addressed by management. We thoroughly enjoyed the fireplace, even though it was May.....it was unusually chilly in the evenings during our trip. The continental breakfast had several options and was nice. I would stay here again while in the area.

Room Tip: River view rooms. Watch for bees on city view balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chestersmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We chose this lodge based on their website and reviews we read here.We found the location wonderful as it is near the entrance to the Smoky Mountains National Park and at the end of the strip, off the main road. Everything is within walking distance. Great restaurants and tourist attractions nearby. Outside the lodge is attractive and rustic - very appropriate for the area. The small lobby has a fireplace with seating, with matching rustic decor. We had a reservation but arrived early, so our room wasn't ready yet. The staff said we could leave our car in the covered parking area so we could wander around while our room was being prepared. Our room was creekside and although the rushing water is nice to hear, it can be a little loud if you leave the balcony door open. The in-room jacuzzi tub was also loud and 2 of the jets didn't work. The fireplace was a plus. The bed had a dip in the middle and the toilet was so loose it shook when you sat down. However, the room was clean and a nice continental breakfast was offered. Location is Bearskin's strongest point and would be the reason I would return here. I felt the rooms were a bit deceiving according to the pictures on the website. They could use a bit of updating and maintenance. Not enough to keep us away though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel never lets us down! Clean beautiful located really close to the national park. Gorgeous pool outside area. You may pay a little more but its worth it to be comfortable here. Comfy beds great breakfast for a free meal. Love it!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheyAnne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

The rooms were very clean and big. We loved the river view! The sound was relaxing. Staff is very friendly. Breakfast area was very clean and good food options. At the end of the strip, which was nice. An Easy walk to everything. Would stay here again!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trumpet5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#4 of 78 in Gatlinburg
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Historic Nature Trail
0.2 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
793 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Address: 840 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3133
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £73 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing