We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as nice as the pictures”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Salyersville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not as nice as the pictures”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We recently took a trip to Gatlinburg and after looking at dozens of places to stay I came across the bearskin lodge. The pictures on their website were very nice so we decided to stay there. However, once we got there I was very disappointed. The pool was TINY and the lazy river was more like a shallow drainage ditch. The rooms were clean however they were severely worn. The place definitely needs updated for the price they charge to stay there. Parking was a nightmare unless you were back by 5pm. There are much nicer places to stay in and around Gatlinburg for less money. Would not recommend staying there unless you like overpaying for low quality accommodations

Room Tip: If you want a good room, stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amyelizabeth1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    314
    128
    61
    44
See reviews for
319
414
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Struthers, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I recently had the chance to visit Gatlinburg, TN. Nice little village with a lot of attractions, good food and plenty of hotels. (Kind of resembles Clifton Hill in Niagara Falls, ONT) One of the hotels I experienced was the Bearskin Lodge on the River. Lots of pros, very little cons. Very nice rooms, ours included a fireplace even though we didn't use it, the rooms were very clean and detailed in the rustic type décor. Very nice. Ours did overlook the river (stream). Although there was a hotel directly across from the "river" it still was a quaint atmosphere to enjoy your morning cup of coffee to (or a beer or glass of wine at night). Out front was an area with two gas fire pits for your evening pleasure as well. Two outdoor pools. One for swimming the other for floating on a tube. Delightfully different for the older crowd. Continental breakfast included waffles, sausage gravy and the normal other breakfast items. (4.5 out of 5) Employees were nice, congenial and informative when asked about the area. Only "con" was it was at the end of the main street. But walking through the main corridor of the city was half the fun so it wasn't a major "con". They do offer senior citizen discounts and off season rates. We paid about $75 a night (post Labor Day)and I thought for that area it was a good deal. I thought it would be more. Very happy with everything.

Room Tip: If you can get the rooms by the river for not much more than go for it. If it's a lot more or yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckeyeBob44471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinsville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for our anniversary. The room was large, the whirlpool tub was large, it was well decorated and comfortable. There are cookies and lemonade in the lobby in the evenings, and the breakfast selection was good: fresh fruit, biscuits, gravy, oatmeal, waffles, cereal, muffins, donuts, toast, bagels, etc. It isn't far from whatever you want to do..River Road runs right behind the main strip and we easily walked to dinner, shopping etc. The pool is heated, and the lazy river is really really nice. One of the ladies who worked in the breakfast room was super nice and spoke to me daily.
The cons: we were on an end unit that went straight through from front to back. It was supposed to be a river view, but we were 4 floors up and could barely see it with the trees. The other side of the river was a Family Inn that I think someone might have been living in. There was laundry hung out on the balcony over there and a dog on the balcony occasionally. So, the view wasn't what I expected (or paid for). The windows seemed to be pretty thin because you could hear outside traffic pretty well. Our room was quiet until the last day when they put someone near us, then you could hear every time they ran water. The breakfast room was way too small to accomodate very many guests and a lot of days people were standing and eating. The maid service was strange. Depending on the day (or maybe the housekeeper?) sometimes the bed would be fully made up with throw pillows and all, sometimes just the sheets were tucked in and the comforter put back on (we slept without it). Also, some days the towels were replaced and hung nicely and the toiletries replaced, and sometimes the towels were just piled on a rack in the bathroom and no new toiletries. The sink had a granite countertop, but it was very small and there wasn't enough plugs because the coffeemaker is there, too. The room could have used a microwave. There were times we had leftovers from dinner we couldn't reheat. The staff at the front desk pretty much ignored us when we walked in or out. No hellos or anything. The elevator is slow getting to the floor you're on when you push the button for it.

I still would probably stay here again because the room was, at the end of the day, large and comfortable. The things listed are minor annoyances (aside from the river view thing) that I could probably overlook, but I hope they fix them. My husband wasn't as sold. haha

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for river view unless you just have to have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S Charleston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our room was a pretty, clean room with a fireplace and a balcony overlooking the river. It was a very relaxing atmosphere. The hotel is convenient to the shops at Gatlinburg. We will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony overlooking the river. The sound is so peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were met with fresh baked cookies and lemonade upon check-in. The lodge was quaint and our room overlooked a little brook. It was a little musty smelling and the carpet was older, but overall a very nice place to stay. In the winter, I am sure the fireplace is an added bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We could walk the strip but also got a great view in the morning and evening from our balcony. It was close to shops and restaurants. It had a nice lazy river for the summer season. We were discouraged that the fire pit was out of order at the time. That would've been a good experience for our girls.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stpatterson08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We wanted a weekend get away and we booked at the last minute. The rooms are so clean and cozy. When we checked on our fireplace didn't want to work so they moved us to another room a bigger and better room right away. Our stay was great. Would go back any chance we got.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melissaaa1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
662 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
442 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#19 of 78 in Gatlinburg
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Property: Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Address: 840 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3133
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing