We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT THAT GREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Utica, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NOT THAT GREAT”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This lodge was ok but it was not great. When we arrived the front desk staff did not appear to be very friendly (maybe they weren't use to seeing people of color vacation). All of our rooms were booked together but everyone ended up paying a different price for our rooms. There are no amenities that I could see except for the breakfast, the rooms where clean but kind of dated to me. The lodge is in a good location but if I am paying $200 for a room I expect the front desk staff to be a little bit nicer. I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    317
    128
    61
    44
See reviews for
326
419
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Homer, Illnois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A few weeks ago we stayed @ the Bearskin Lodge~~~ this was either our 3rd or 4th visit. When I made my reservations for a 3 night stay~~I found the front staff to be Very helpful, friendly & courteous* Also it was nice after a long car trip to find fresh coffee, cookies & lemonade available in the front lobby when checking in* I was able to obtain a creek view room & was not disappointed~~~The view was Awesome & the sound of the creek soothing! Our room was extremely Clean & was kept that way for the duration of our stay.~~~ A heart felt "Thank~you" to the front staff & housekeeping department for making our stay in Gatlinburg ~~~Fantastic !!! ~~~ You all "ROCK" !!!* I give each of you 5 Stars!* :-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 44Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

When in Gatlinburg, we always stay at Bearskin Lodge. It is clean, reasonable, and well located. We have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The breakfast is simple but good. The balconies over the river are great. We usually leave the door open to hear the stream. The only negative in my opinion is parking. It is pretty tight unless you drive a compact. Overall, it is highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahoo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Front desk staff went above and beyond!! Great Breakfast included, Cookies and Lemonade, Loved pool and Lazy River floating pool. We stayed in King room with Jacuzzi/Fireplace. We will be back for sure. Thx.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in a King room with a jacuzzi and fireplace. Front desk folks are nice, breakfast lady very hospitable. Room was spacious and clean, no weird smells, just clean. Balcony is a little bit small, but we really weren't out there much anyway. Shower had good water pressure (always important to me!) Small cube fridge, but no microwave. That one really baffled me. BUT we were traveling with a toddler and I found the breakfast room was still open around lunchtime so I could nuke her a Gerber meal!

Breakfast was the standard continental fare-the waffle machines, cereal, muffins, bagels, fruit, yogurt, etc. But they also had biscuits and gravy (not grandmas but adequate!). Fresh hot cookies and cold lemonade in the lobby too!

Great location and walking distance to good restaurants. Pool and lazy river were clean and relaxing. Also had a couple fires you could make s'mores at!

Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

ok place to stay considering reasonable rate,good location within walking distance to town,room was large,not anything fancy but clean and fairly comfortable beds,pool was small but refreshing,front desk staff answered questions but not friendly or informative, breakfast was ok-the usual continental with the waffles you can make yourself-breakfast room was not very open or cheery-small and no large windows to enjoy the views

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nash
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Not a very warm welcome at front desk upon check in. There is a lodge/cabin feel. My room was large and & I loved the wet bar at the foyer entrance into the room. Had to get housekeeping to vacuum carpet because of dirty filter in air conditioner throwing out lint balls. They also vacuumed out the filter in the A/C. Carpet looked worn out as did the couch. Baseboards around walls were damaged in some areas. The jets in the tub really need to be replaced. They looked old & worn as well. Never used them. Lots of towels. Hot water. Bed was cozy & comfortable. Slept great. Never heard any outside noise from other guests. ie: doors slamming, voices in hallways. Would stay again if I had to but I believe there may be better, less expensive options in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room on either side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#19 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Property: Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Address: 840 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3133
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing