We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a four night stay with bearskin and we plan to stay there again when we go back to Gatlinburg. We found the hotel to be clean and in a great location for walking on the strip. The Staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed in a city view room, traffic was a bit noisy buy it was a great view of the pool, part the strip and the mountains beyond it. Kids really enjoyed the pool and lazy river which was both heated the gas fire pits in the pool area added a comfortable touch. I recommend Bennetts Bar B a few doors east. Breakfast area was a little small but we never had to wait for a table to open up. I was a little let down about what was available for breakfast. Usual cold items, but the only hot items was waffles and biscuits and gravy. Beds was comfortable and the room seemed big enough for our family of four. The Kids liked the hot tub and wife liked the gas fireplace even though it was June. We plan to stay here again when we comeback next time.

Room Tip: creek side seemed quiet, but the view just across was another hotel. We walked over one night and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay. Staff was very nice and helpful. Have stayed here before and will return again. Rooms were clean and well kept. The cleaning staff does a great job. The lazy river, though on the small side, is a big hit with the kids. They light a fire by the pool at night which is real nice to sit around at night and relax.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank mrdlschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This lodge was ok but it was not great. When we arrived the front desk staff did not appear to be very friendly (maybe they weren't use to seeing people of color vacation). All of our rooms were booked together but everyone ended up paying a different price for our rooms. There are no amenities that I could see except for the breakfast, the rooms where clean but kind of dated to me. The lodge is in a good location but if I am paying $200 for a room I expect the front desk staff to be a little bit nicer. I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A few weeks ago we stayed @ the Bearskin Lodge~~~ this was either our 3rd or 4th visit. When I made my reservations for a 3 night stay~~I found the front staff to be Very helpful, friendly & courteous* Also it was nice after a long car trip to find fresh coffee, cookies & lemonade available in the front lobby when checking in* I was able to obtain a creek view room & was not disappointed~~~The view was Awesome & the sound of the creek soothing! Our room was extremely Clean & was kept that way for the duration of our stay.~~~ A heart felt "Thank~you" to the front staff & housekeeping department for making our stay in Gatlinburg ~~~Fantastic !!! ~~~ You all "ROCK" !!!* I give each of you 5 Stars!* :-)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 44Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

When in Gatlinburg, we always stay at Bearskin Lodge. It is clean, reasonable, and well located. We have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The breakfast is simple but good. The balconies over the river are great. We usually leave the door open to hear the stream. The only negative in my opinion is parking. It is pretty tight unless you drive a compact. Overall, it is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wahoo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Front desk staff went above and beyond!! Great Breakfast included, Cookies and Lemonade, Loved pool and Lazy River floating pool. We stayed in King room with Jacuzzi/Fireplace. We will be back for sure. Thx.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Virginia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in a King room with a jacuzzi and fireplace. Front desk folks are nice, breakfast lady very hospitable. Room was spacious and clean, no weird smells, just clean. Balcony is a little bit small, but we really weren't out there much anyway. Shower had good water pressure (always important to me!) Small cube fridge, but no microwave. That one really baffled me. BUT we were traveling with a toddler and I found the breakfast room was still open around lunchtime so I could nuke her a Gerber meal!

Breakfast was the standard continental fare-the waffle machines, cereal, muffins, bagels, fruit, yogurt, etc. But they also had biscuits and gravy (not grandmas but adequate!). Fresh hot cookies and cold lemonade in the lobby too!

Great location and walking distance to good restaurants. Pool and lazy river were clean and relaxing. Also had a couple fires you could make s'mores at!

Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
369 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#6 of 78 in Gatlinburg
718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#9 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Address: 840 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3133
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £66 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing