We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here several times over the last 10 years. This visit was no different than any other! Immaculately clean room, friendliest front desk that we've ever met. They gave us a 10% discount since we've salta yes with them before. Continental breakfast was just enough. King bed room was wonderful for my husband, myself and our boys ages 9 and 6. We go about once a year and have stayed at other hotels and they can't even compare to the Bearskin Lodge! Love it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    314
    128
    61
    44
See reviews for
319
414
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is my favorite place to stay in Gatlinburg. I love the building design and the feel of the hotel. It was very clean and had a great breakfast. The views were good and a good location even though it was not in the middle of town. I loved the outdoor fire pits.

Room Tip: I like the city view but you can still see the mountains great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We normally stay in the known chain hotels when traveling but decided to try one of the local establishments on this trip and we were not disappointed. The Bearskin staff was very friendly and inviting with lemonade and cookies waiting in the lobby. Rooms are good size and nicely decorated in log style furnishings. Our room was a stream view which we enjoyed the mornings on the deck with coffee in hand. The toilet/tub shower room is a little tight with the door actually hitting the toilet when opening the door into the room. Shower head not the greatest but got the job done. All in all a good place, clean and comfortable and close enough to walk to all of the downtown places and very near the Gatlinburg trail that leads into the Great Smokey Mts. National park.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor for stream view rooms seam to be best as there is another building just across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sikeston, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a four night stay with bearskin and we plan to stay there again when we go back to Gatlinburg. We found the hotel to be clean and in a great location for walking on the strip. The Staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed in a city view room, traffic was a bit noisy buy it was a great view of the pool, part the strip and the mountains beyond it. Kids really enjoyed the pool and lazy river which was both heated the gas fire pits in the pool area added a comfortable touch. I recommend Bennetts Bar B a few doors east. Breakfast area was a little small but we never had to wait for a table to open up. I was a little let down about what was available for breakfast. Usual cold items, but the only hot items was waffles and biscuits and gravy. Beds was comfortable and the room seemed big enough for our family of four. The Kids liked the hot tub and wife liked the gas fireplace even though it was June. We plan to stay here again when we comeback next time.

Room Tip: creek side seemed quiet, but the view just across was another hotel. We walked over one night and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slaughter, La
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay. Staff was very nice and helpful. Have stayed here before and will return again. Rooms were clean and well kept. The cleaning staff does a great job. The lazy river, though on the small side, is a big hit with the kids. They light a fire by the pool at night which is real nice to sit around at night and relax.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mrdlschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This lodge was ok but it was not great. When we arrived the front desk staff did not appear to be very friendly (maybe they weren't use to seeing people of color vacation). All of our rooms were booked together but everyone ended up paying a different price for our rooms. There are no amenities that I could see except for the breakfast, the rooms where clean but kind of dated to me. The lodge is in a good location but if I am paying $200 for a room I expect the front desk staff to be a little bit nicer. I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer, Illnois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

A few weeks ago we stayed @ the Bearskin Lodge~~~ this was either our 3rd or 4th visit. When I made my reservations for a 3 night stay~~I found the front staff to be Very helpful, friendly & courteous* Also it was nice after a long car trip to find fresh coffee, cookies & lemonade available in the front lobby when checking in* I was able to obtain a creek view room & was not disappointed~~~The view was Awesome & the sound of the creek soothing! Our room was extremely Clean & was kept that way for the duration of our stay.~~~ A heart felt "Thank~you" to the front staff & housekeeping department for making our stay in Gatlinburg ~~~Fantastic !!! ~~~ You all "ROCK" !!!* I give each of you 5 Stars!* :-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 44Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#20 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Property: Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Address: 840 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3133
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing