We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, TN
1 review
“Mixed Feelings...”
Reviewed 4 November 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here this past Saturday. It is a nice hotel, a little high on the price but compared to others around it was a good deal. I saw others comment on the carpet staining. I did notice that but nothing that was too bad to ruin my stay. Luckily there were 2 queen beds in the room we had. On one of the beds decor pillows had a mysterious white stain that should have been noticed and cleaned. We did not complain or let it be known to the staff because the other bed was fine and we didn't want to make a big deal. The elevator is very slow but again not a big deal.

The check out time in noon which I think is great! The only thing that put me off about this place was how rushed they seemed to be to get us out of the room. I understand there is a check out time and they need to get the rooms cleaned BUT we were on our way out of the room at 12:03 ( I looked at my cell phone) and someone knocked on our door to make sure we were leaving! The cleaning cart was all the way down on the other end of the hallway so they weren't needing to clean our room right away. 12:15-12:30 I can see someone knocking on the door because some people over sleep but 3 minutes! Come on!

Another thing that irritated me was when we were getting off the elevator to leave one of the housekeeping ladies was yelling loudly on her cell phone in Spanish or whatever language she spoke. That was rude and uncalled for.

The Peddler beside the hotel is AWESOME. It is expensive but worth it for a special night.

Have mixed feelings about staying here again. Not sure if I will or not.

  • Liked — It was right next to the restaurant we ate at and close to shops.
  • Disliked — The quickness to get us out of the room.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleysparks82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    329
    130
    63
    44
See reviews for
349
436
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2008

Reviewed the Bearskin Lodge online and liked the fireplace and balcony over the creek room with jacuzzi tub. Rates quoted on the web site for AARP members was a 10% discount. Upon checking in at the front desk that evening (5pm), told they we're not honoring the discount and if I had booked it online they would remove it per the manager. I hadn't booked online so I accepted the going rate and took the room. We found it to be nice and enjoyed our stay but this is the first time I was refused a discount that was advertised on their website. Stayed on a Monday night October 20th 2008.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kov57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Some of the reviews we read before staying at the Bearskin Lodge On The River had us concerned. I am glad to report that our experience at the Lodge was great. The staff was VERY helpful and friendly The room was large and very nicely decorated in a mountain lodge theme. Loved the fireplace. The balcony over the river was quiet and you could here the water sounds. True there is another hotel across from this one but you are in Gatlinburg, this was not a problem. The breakfast was very nice the room is not huge but seats 28+. An attendent keeps everything well stocked. Four different cereals, fruit, eggs (hard boiled), pastry, coffee, milk, juice toast and fresh made waffles. What more could you want. We never found the room overly crowded. The location is fine we could walk most places and plenty of restraunts close by. They do get crowded so use call ahead seating (a tip from the staff). We would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to family and friends. We travel alot in the U.S. and abroad and we do feel some of these reviews are not giving a fair discription of this hotel

  • Liked — Decor, size of rooms, balcony, fireplace
  • Disliked — One small elevator, pool is small
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank K8E1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bearskin lodge on the River. We were a little concerned from the reviews about the staff not being helpful. From the moment we made a reservation, the woman who helped us was more then helpful, she even gave my wife and I ideas of tourist attractions close to the lodge. Once we arrived at the lodge we were greeted by the girl at the desk as well as the young man who helped me find a buggy and he helped with the doors to since they weren't automatic. Our family will continue to stay at the lodge everytime we visit Gatlinburg!

  • Liked — The little fireplace in our room, kept my family warm and cozy all night!
  • Disliked — The price was a little high.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank p_a_v_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

The hotel was extremely overpriced. It is old and needs renovatiion. We paid $160.00 and the room did not even have a tissue box. We got 1 tiny bottle of shampoo. The carpets are worn and in need of replacing. The hotel needs paint, etc.etc. We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kukura7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetumpka, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

We stayed at the BearSkin for our 36 wedding anniversary and were really expecting a better place for what we paid. The carpet looked as if it has never been cleaned and the floor we stayed(2nd) on had a burnt moter smell( they said it was the elevator motor). We had Lady Bugs at the windows and behind the drapes, although they did not bother us. I will say the staff was nice and proffessional. I will like to complement the Lady that ran the Breakfast Bar as it was clean and she kept right on top of everything, as soon as you used any equipment she was right there cleaning and putting everthing back in place. I do think that if and when we return to Gatlinburg we will stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — Breakfast Bar
  • Disliked — Condition of room
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WetumpkaErod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville,TN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Bearskin Lodge for our 33rd wedding anniversary. We couldn't have been more pleased. The room was delightful with a king bed and fireplace. The view of the river from our balcony was beautiful. We enjoyed watching a lone fisherman in the river trying to catch something. We are not sure what. The hotel was very quiet, which was pleasing to us.

The location is fabulous, being next door to the Peddler and a block away from the Park restaurant, two of Gatlinburgs finest. The National Park is just minutes away.

We found the staff to be friendly and courteous. The housekeeping staff was not intrusive and did a wonderful job.

We look forward to coming back to the Bearskin Lodge. Gatlinburg doens't offer anything finer.

  • Liked — The abundance of space in our room and the mountain decor.
  • Disliked — Had to leave to return to regular life.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank melendya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
328 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
0.2 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
700 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Property: Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Address: 840 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3133
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing