We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Northport, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hard to beat the location on River Road close to GSMNP and close enough to walk to anything on the Parkway. Since it is on River Road you don't have to fight the traffic on the Parkway, if you come in town through the park you can avoid driving the Parkway. Rooms are pretty good, the two elevators are pretty slow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    316
    128
    61
    44
See reviews for
325
418
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We went on just a little trip to gatlinburg because we had never been there before. We looked at the pictures and it looked beautiful and big. It's not. Pools are small!! Room are small and it smelled really bad in the halls and the rooms. Our toilet exploded while we were gone one day it was wet every where and it smelled awful. All they did was send a cleaning crew and they didn't even spray to make it smell better. There were no apologies or anything to try to make the situation Better.Find somewhere else. You'll be happier.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very well decorated and very affordable hotel within walking distance to a lot of activities in gatlinburg!! They even gave one free ticket to the awquarium!! Great views from balcomy & jacuzzi tub was very clean as was ensuite bath. fireplace was nice, as was watching tv from the jacuzzi tub, hah! Lazy river and outdoor pool was nice and fire pit was great as well! Worth the money!

Room Tip: get a balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJenniferToney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheelersburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I stay here every year for our anniversary, after finding it initially in a travel coupon book. The location is perfect, off the main strip but easy walking access to everything. The trail to the welcome center is also very close. Comfortable, quiet, and great staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BuckeyeBette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normandy, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary on July 6, 2014 by spending time in Gatlinburg and staying at the Bearskin Lodge on the River, checking in at 10:30 p.m. after a long motorcycle journey. The lodge was terribly disappointing. I guess the photos online were taken many years ago when it was newly constructed - the current state of it does not resemble the pictures. We asked for a room with a hot tub and we paid extra for this amenity ($180). What we got was a small jacuzzi bathtub with 6 jets, but only 2 were working. The small refrigerator was broken and sitting on the floor under the bathroom counter. The air conditioning unit clattered like tank and was so loud that we could not hear the television when the unit kicked on - we had to bring the TV volume to a deafening level and worried about disturbing the folks in the room next door. In order to be able to sleep, we just turned it off. The balcony light would not go off no matter how many times we flipped the switch, which left a blinding glare in the room all night long. Breakfast was standard fare (cereal, yogurt, coffee, juice). I will say that at least the room was very clean, but overall, this was a $70 dollar/night room, not a $180. When I reported the above issues to management upon checkout the next morning, he rudely snapped that we should have called maintenance. But the thought of a maintenance person working on all of that at 10:30 p.m. did not appeal, and I told him this. We were exhausted from riding our motorcycle several hundred miles, and just wanted to relax in the hot tub to ease our sore muscles. Needless to say, we will never stay here again and don't recommend it. We would have been wiser to rent a cabin.

Room Tip: Don't recommend this lodge for anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Roxanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The people above us overflowed their hot tub through our ceiling at midnight. The staff handled it about as well as you could expect. Overall the room was nice. The lazy river and pool are a lot smaller than the pictures show.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manos773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel and, while we did not have any bad experiences, the hotel and management did not seem to be up to the standards that it should be for an average of $145 per night. There were lots of kids at the hotel due to a dance competition in town and the staff clearly did not seem to like them there. The breakfast area was woefully small given the size of the hotel (and the price) and, again for the price, we would have expected a better breakfast that just the typical "continental" fare. On the other hand, there was always room to park the car, and the proximity to downtown Gatlinburg, and to the SMNP was excellent. We had seen reviews in Trip Advisor of the staff not being rude to customers, and while the front desk people got the job done efficiently, they lacked the friendly customer service that should be expected by guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#20 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Property: Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Address: 840 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3133
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Hotel Class:3 star — Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing