We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden treasure off the beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton
Level Contributor
61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure off the beaten path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2009

Although I visit Gatlinburg relatively often, this is the first time I have stayed at this hotel. I thought the hotel looked nice on the website, although I admit I was concerned about some of the negative reviews other travelers have given, as well as the fact that the hotel is at the exact opposite end of town from where I usually stay. Nonetheless, I wanted to stay somewhere "different", and so we chose this place.

I couldn't have been more pleased. The accommodations were wonderful: clean, homey, well decorated, and comfortable. Since it was Christmas time, the inviting lobby was decorated impeccably. I also found that by staying at this end of town, I discovered some additional restaurants, bars and shops that I had only driven by during previous trips, and thus hadn't even really noticed.

The room was equipped with two queen beds, a jacuzzi and a fireplace, and had a balcony overlooking the river. I was surprised that when the door to the balcony was closed, there was no river noise whatsoever. The fireplace added just the right ambience, and I found that I felt like I was at home. I couldn't find a speck of dirt anywhere in the hotel, completely unlike other reviews had led me to believe. Perhaps the place has been renovated since some of the other reviews were posted.

I will definitely stay at the Bearskin again when I'm in town, and would happily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormchaser1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    314
    128
    61
    44
See reviews for
319
414
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
grant county, in
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

We spent 3 nights and have nothing but good things to say. We had the double queen room , river side, fireplace, and jacuzzi. The room was nicely decorated and the entry door was nice and thick to keep the hallway noise out. We had a nice view of the changing leaves outside on our balcony. The breakfast was nice with make-your-own waffles, boiled eggs, hot/cold cereals. The hotel is close to the main strip which is within walking distance. I would highly recommend this place and would return.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Matilda, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

Spent 2 nights in late September. Nice, clean - w/AAA discount our jacuzzi/fireplace/queen was about $100/nt +taxes. Reasonable for what we got, small balcony overlooks ROARING creek, too noisy to sit out due to rainfall previous wk. Very convenient to everything. VERY NICE breakfast, nice choices, nothing fancy but very adequate.

Would def return!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeJaMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

Queen size bed $135. Overlooking street. Asked for different room. Got 2 queen sized beds overlooking river $145. They charge extra for the second bed. Hotel is old and needs updating. Air con very noisy. Turned it off. Shower is old. No amenities. At 5 AM they emptied the dumpster 2 floors down. Big truck. Bashed dumpster against truck to empty it. Woke everyone on that end of hotel. Front desk staff not rude, but very cold. Asked for directions and was essentially told they had no map and couldn't help us with local directions. Intended to stay 2 nights, but checked out after one.

Not worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArthurMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

The hotel is located near the entrance to the Great Smoky Mountain National Park, and allows you to utilize the Gatlinburg Pass to and from Pigeon Forge/Sevierville. This can save you a lot of time and frustration as traffic through Gatlinburg is a bit of a nuisance. The restaurant is also located next door to two worthwhile restaurants: The Peddler and Bennett's Pit BBQ. It is only a short walk to all attractions in Gatlinburg, but still secluded from the main thoroughfare giving some peace from the hustle and bustle. The room itself was well-kept with one exception: the internet cable was somewhat dysfunctional. Be sure to bring a spare, and you'll be fine. I'd also avoid paying extra for a room "on the river" as it's just a little stream, and there is another hotel on the other side of it. Nothing too worthwhile about it. If I return to Gatlinburg, I plan on staying here if I choose to stay in a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeloniusD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

After much research we settled on the Bearskin Lodge. We stayed in a 2 queen room, with a balcony overlooking the wonderful from parking lot. The room was nicely decorated, clean and included every ammentity we needed. The pool was a joke, as many other people have said. We're from Florida though, so swimming in their pool wasn't at the top of our list of priorities. If given the opportunity to visit Gatlinburg again, I would most likely stay at the Bearskin again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emerald83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

The room was nice but at night the elevator made noise and the shower leaked onto the floor the room's were poorly lit but the workout room was nice and the pool was very warm I recomend the hotel to anyone who justs wants to sleep

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelvinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#20 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Property: Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Address: 840 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3133
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing