We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Anniversary Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Gatlinburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Piedmont, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“Perfect Anniversary Getaway!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My husband and I recently stayed 2 nights in the Leconte Sunrise room at The Foxtrot for our anniversary, and we were very pleased with our overall experience. Bob and Shirley are so knowledgeable about the area, and offered us lots of useful info. They are also very hospitable, and it is obvious that the comfort of their guests is important to them as innkeepers. Shirley is a fantastic cook, and everything she prepares - from the homemade baked goods she sets out each afternoon, to the gourmet 3-course breakfast each morning - is amazing. The Foxtrot definitely made our anniversary special!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    13
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
106
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our stay here Was very nice The view Was so Beautiful. We stayed in The leconte sunrise room n it was very clean and welcoming. The only con we had about the room is for the price we paid it should of had a update TV like a 47' flat screen also I wish that the fireplace was a functional gas fireplace and positioned in a different area of the room where it could b enjoyed.. The gourmet breakfast each morning was so delicious always something different I truly enjoyed it. There was always desert at night to enjoy when we want to also tea and coffee.. Shirley and Bob were the perfect host..

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary,North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

I wish I had dug deeper into the reviews. If I had I would have found similar issues and concerns that we had during our stay. We met friends for here for two nights. The location is up a windy, foggy road. We knew this before booking and didn't expect it to be as bad as it was. I think it was the weather pattern that made it more challenging than normal. The view I'm sure is spectacular but it was only visible the first 30 minutes of our stay.
The Inn was very clean but the rooms are very dated. Everything is in early 1980's decor. I had expected it to be charming. Instead the guest rooms and baths need to be remodeled. If the guest rooms had wood floors and some crown molding instead of berber carpet and sprayed ceilings it would add some character. The large living room was definitely an improvement over the guest rooms. It had a nice fireplace plus plenty of bookshelves lined perfectly with books categorized by author and then the author's books were placed in alphabetical order.

The reason I have given it a poor rating from is because the entire time we were there we felt that the owners were lurking and extremely controlling. As soon as we walked in Bob wanted to settle up payment. This was followed by the mandatory 15 minute lecture on the rules, regulations and the correct way to make a cup of coffee. Once we were shown our room we were not allowed to do anything until we stepped out so that Bob and Shirley could do the turn down service. Really! It was 3pm! When we were allowed back into the room all of decorator pillows were now placed in our closet with perfect military order. Later in the evening when our friends arrived I helped with their luggage. I was not allowed to put their luggage in their room until they had paid, had the tour plus the turn down service. It all seemed a bit creepy and made you wonder if their were hidden cameras in our rooms. Breakfast was served on Saturday morning at exactly 9:00am. It started with prayer followed by both Bob and Shirley joining us at the table once the food was served. Bob tried to control the discussion and never asked anything about the guests. It was all about Shirley's and his accomplishments etc. The same happened on Sunday morning except breakfast was at exactly 8am. We were paying guests and their behavior felt very intrusive. One morning my husband and friend had an early cup of coffee that was in a mug. The mugs were grabbed out of their hands and replaced by a tea cup when we sat down for breakfast. I'm sure this happened because the mugs didn't match the place settings. I got the feeling if I spilt something I would be sent to my room.

Shirley is an accomplished chef. The first morning my egg dish was undercooked but I think it had to do with the age of the oven and where my dish was placed while baking. My husbands egg dish was fine. On Sunday morning individually each course was very good. Overall, the combination was too sweet. The starter was strawberry soup, followed by a French toast dish with berries and sugar glazed nuts. The last dish was creme brûlée. It needed to be more balanced.

This is just not a place I would ever feel comfortable to recommend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
12 Thank Lenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morganton, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Fox Trot Veterans Day November 2012. Everything was perfect. Our room was great, cozy and very clean. The breakfast was wonderful. The mountain views were awesome. The innkeepers were very kind as well. We loved our stay at Fox Trot Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyMichael98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

THE PERFECT COUPLES GETAWAY! Traditional, lots of history, very cozy, exquisite food by Shirley, and WONDERFUL location location location! Just far enough from town to be remote, and still convenient at the same time. We will definitely go back and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonLHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My Husband and I stayed at the Fox Trot for our 15th wedding Anniversay for one evening. It was our first time ever staying at a bed and breakfast. The atmospher at the Fox Trot is very welcoming and relaxing. Shirley's breakfast is a surburb culinary treat that will melt in your mouth!! Both Bob and Shirley are very knowledgable about all the history and, activity's that the surrounding area's have to offer. Bob and Shirley were wonderful hosts, and we look forward to be back to stay with them again!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The Foxtrot B & B was a well needed and wonderful experience for my boyfriend and me as well as one of my girlfriend's and her husband. Shirley is a gourmet cook who prepared breakfasts that were unbelievable! We needed to walk every day so we could keep enjoying these sumptuous meals. Bob and Shirley's knowledge of the area enabled us to enjoy the sites, sounds and tastes of this beautiful setting! We will be back!!

Room Tip: Any room or any suite offers wonderful accommodations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
1.3 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
1.5 mi away
Gatlinburg Inn
Gatlinburg Inn
#6 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1520 Garrett Ln, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4214 (Formerly Butcher House in the Mountains)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the trees at the crest of the mountain, the Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast offers spectacular views of Mt. Leconte and the Great Smoky Mountains. Rooms and suites feature king-sized beds, private baths, plush towels, robes, wireless internet, TV/VCR/DVD, and telephones. A professional chef prepares your multi-course breakfast and afternoon snacks. The Foxtrot is minutes from dining, skiing, hiking, shopping, golf, and other Smoky Mountain activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Foxtrot Hotel Gatlinburg
The Foxtrot b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing