We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All around good, if not great!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverhouse Motels

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverhouse Motels
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“All around good, if not great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here for 4 years straight. Great location one street over from the center of town. Easy walking distance from all the attractions. Super clean rooms, comfortable mattresses, wood or gas fireplaces. ( pay extra for the wood room) Awesome fresh made donuts and really good coffee brought straight to your room each morning. Make reservations early.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Geedubb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    69
    12
    3
    9
See reviews for
97
151
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay at riverhouse motor lodge, it sure wont be our last.The rooms were very clean, the location was great too, you walk out the parking lot entrance and you are at the back entrance to smoky Mountain moonshine. The fresh doughnuts for breakfast were delicious, you call them when you are ready for breakfast and they deliver it to your room, they would have it delivered to our room within minutes. They also have a laundry room which makes it nice when you staying a length of time. The only thing you need to do is buy your laundry detergents elsewhere. The creek is beautiful and so relaxing to sit on the balcony and take it all in. We already made our next reservation to stay again. We are looking forward to our next stay with riverhouse motorlodge. You wont be sorry when you stay here, you too will want to come back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetsassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Best shower I have had for a long time, on the road. Clean, quiet, very relaxing. A little retro in the room, which I appreciate. Great people. Convenient to great restaurants. Variety of rooms, easy access to second floor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redhawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conyers, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

My husband and I have stayed here for the past several years when we've made trips to the mountains. We enjoyed having a fireplace in the room and a balcony overlooking the river. We always reserved our room ahead of time so we could get our favorite. Last year they called to ask us if we would switch rooms so another family could get 2 rooms together. We agreed to the switch and gave up our favorite room. This year my husband ended up in the hospital and we were unable to make our trip as planned. I called the office 5 days prior to our reservation to see if I could reschedule (because my husband went into the hospital) and they said they would not reschedule or refund our money because we did not call 7 days prior to our reservation. We were gracious enough to work with them over the room change last year but they could care less that one of their regular customers missed the deadline to change a reservation by 2 days. I told them to enjoy our $160 deposit because it would be the last dime they would get from us.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else...these people really don't give a s**t about you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
13 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaMetcalf, Manager at Riverhouse Motels, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We always try to please our guests by meeting their requests(certain rooms, location, etc) when at all possible. We had held this guest a certain room since November 2012. We confirmed the cancellation policy at least twice. Problems always arise when this policy cannot be met. Transferring deposits work for the customer, but in this case, still does not solve our problem of rebooking the other 3 nights that had been reserved(they forfeited 1 night deposit only). If we allowed "canceled too late" deposits to be transferred, then our cancellation policy is void. Most of our guests can understand our position; it is unfortunate that some cannot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We loved the hotel for all the reasons other reviewers did, but the mattress really needs to be replaced. King size with a body indentation in each side. To meet in the middle we joked about being on top of ole smokey.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sights2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayson, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great location for everything in town as well as a great room! We've stayed here many times over the years and its never a disappointment ! Our creek side room with a balcony was enjoyable after an evening in town. Location, location, location!! Wonderful time in Gatlinburg!

Room Tip: I've enjoyed both The Riverhouse Motor Lodge and Riverhouse on the Park... both great stays!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slumberless42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay this last weekend. We popped in on the off chance they'd have rooms available.. They did. I went with one with a woodburning fireplace (They also have gas if you don't want to deal with wood) and were very pleased with the room. It was clean, all rooms are on the river and the staff was very pleasant. It's an older hotel but very clean rooms. I expected a few bugs being right up amongst the trees, but I never saw a one in the room itself. The water pressure in the shower was great! Nice quiet spot at night. We'll be going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGD662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#8 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#21 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhouse Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse Motels

Property: Riverhouse Motels
Address: 610 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3129
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#6 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Riverhouse Motor Hotel Gatlinburg
Riverhouse Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing