We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff, Hotel, and Location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverhouse at the Park
Ranked #25 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff, Hotel, and Location”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We have stayed at Riverhouse at the Park numerous times over the last two years. The rooms are HUGE and we love that with a quick phone call in the mornings, we have juice, coffee, homemade doughnuts or toast within moments. The front desk staff is always more than friendly and we love how helpful they always are when we have a question. We love having a balcony overlooking the river. The only thing I wish they would add are screen doors to the balconies so we can leave the door open to hear the Pigeon River each evening while we are in our room. The trolley stop is right across the street for easy access or it is an easy one block walk to the shops and attractions. We will continue to stay here for each of our visits to Gatlinburg when we are not looking for a cabin! We even just booked a room for two weeks this summer!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eimmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    91
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
91
155
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg Pa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The staff at this hotel could not have been nicer . The room was huge,clean and comfortable . Fireplace was great on cold rainy nite and the price was very affordable. This is a place I will definitely return to and have already recommended to friends and family.

Room Tip: Creek side rooms are great but others have a good view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I have stayed at this place several times and will keep going back! It is an older establishment, but always clean and inviting. The staff is always helpful and friendly. I love the small breakfast that is delivered to the room. The fireplace was fabulous and everything in the room worked well. It is a great deal for the price! It is also wonderful to be so close to the national park. Hint: For a quick way from Pigeon Forge, take the Gatlinburg bypass. It brings you out on the other side of Gatlinburg, very close to this hotel! This is so helpful during busy seasons.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony overlooking the stream :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We have stayed in several hotels in Gatlinburg, including the Bearskin Lodge across the street. This is by far my favorite place for several reasons: The staff are wonderful, polite and helpful in every way. The rooms are immaculate. For an older hotel, I expected more wear and tear but our room was in very good shape. The room was huge with a fireplace and large over sized chair and ottoman, breakfast table, and large balcony. Donuts and coffee were delivered to our room immediately after we ordered by phone. The room may have been dated but I felt as if I was in a cabin rather than a hotel room. I commented to the staff when we were leaving that I had never seen their hotel on any of the websites (Expedia, etc.). She said that most of their business is repeat customers who make their reservations for the next year when they leave, and will call and request the number of their favorite room. Oh yes, the price is great also.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

Rooms were cheap but definately not cheap on the inside! It's an oldie but definately a goodie!!!!! Fireplace in your room! Big comfy bed! Big bathrooms with two sinks kinda a his and hers! We are already planning to go back when the weather is better for some hiking in the mountains and plan on staying here!!!! We loved it!!! Best hotel hands down on our roadtrip to Nashville!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel71781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laughlin, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I'd last stayed at this property in 1998, and the only noticeable change was the upgrade of the TV from a box to a flat screen. The room came with a fireplace, large balcony overlooking a creek and a jaccuzi tub in the bathroom. The main area of the room was large and had a nice table for playing cards and a loveseat.
Once very nice feature was a panel of switches between the two beds that controlled all of the lights. The bedding and fixtures could use some updating but the rate was very reasonable. Mid-week off season was only $58 + tax!
While the property is at the very edge of Gatlinburg, its convenient to the Ober Gatlinburg ski left, a large outdoor store and several restaurants. Immediately next to the motel is a nice 2 mile path that leads to Sugarlands Visitor Center.
In the mornings, you can call an extension and order coffee & juice and either delectable homemade donuts or toast delivered to your room, all included in the rate for the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nathansharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast NSW
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Booked this hotel off the internet so didn't quite know what to expect. We were delighted with this place although it looks a bit outdated from the street our room felt like we were in a log cabin. Our room was large the balcony overlooked the river and best of all there was a fireplace and fire (gas) in the room . Breakfast is delivered to your room which means you don't have to get dressed to go down to breakfast. It was lovely to sit on the balcony and enjoy the river. Being down the end of the main shopping area there was less congestion but you were still within walking distance of the attractions.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the river costs extra but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonnie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
705 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#18 of 78 in Gatlinburg
955 reviews
0.2 mi away
Black Bear Inn & Suites
Black Bear Inn & Suites
#36 of 78 in Gatlinburg
678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhouse at the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse at the Park

Property: Riverhouse at the Park
Address: 205 Ski Mountain Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3142
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#7 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Riverhouse At The Park Hotel Gatlinburg
Riverhouse At The Park Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing