We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO”
Review of World of Illusions

World of Illusions
Ranked #100 of 109 things to do in Gatlinburg
Attraction details
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“NO”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I can't believe this place is still in business. What a waste of time and money. They lure people in to a world of broken illusions. Don't spend your money save it for something you will enjoy

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    27
    30
    141
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol TN
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wait, this is a joke..... right?”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

OKAY....... I've never been to this place based on it's reviews.
We finally went last night (my 5 year old wanted to go and my mom, her grammy, paid for us all to go). I said okay, sure... can't be THAT bad, right?
HOLY CRACKER JACKS.
First off, the "family special" which is $22 is ONLY for immediate family. We had to beg the woman to let us in with the family rate because my mom was paying. This "family rate" is only for families like, husband, wife and children... so since I was married, my mom technically wasn't family anymore?? Weird. O_o
This place.... was LITERALLY the smallest, worst, outdated "attraction" I've EVER seen. I honestly don't know how this place is STILL here! I'm no good with math, but I'd say the ENTIRE museum is about 200 square feet. It's very dark and creepy... my 2 year old AND 6 year old were terrified. 90% of the things inside are small picture "illusions" on the walls. I would be embarrassed to own this 1970's hole in the wall. Entire time spent inside there was about 15 minutes... and we were dragging it out.
JUST HORRIFFIC. We came out laughing we were in such shock! Even as I sit here I'm just in awe at the fact that this place exists!
If you want to visit a REAL attraction, hit up EVERY Ripley's attraction you can. They are WELL worth the money. We've been to the Ripley's aquarium and museum at LEAST 20 times each. Worth it every time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank KatieBentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disgusted!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Family special is $22. Showed up with my family... my sister, and our kids. Special is only available for a mom, dad, and children. We had a total of two adults (immediate family, mind you) and three kids, ages 3, 5, and 7 (plus infant). No more no less than a mom and dad family but because we were sisters, we would have to pay double. Asked for a manager - shocking, nobody available to talk to. Asked what he would have done if we were two moms in a gay marriage and he acted disgusted. Later said we could have lied to get the deal, a real nice guy!! Needless to say, we left. Talked to some locals and they said don't waste your money. Glad we didnt.

Helpful?
3 Thank jtao22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dumpster Fire!!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

News Years Eve 2013...my wife, son and I had some time to burn before the ball dropped in the center of town....after passing the World of Illusions for the 3rd time, we finally gave in to my 9 year old son's begging and decided to pony up the $23 to experience this train wreck....my visit to Gatlinburg took place 6 months ago and I am still compelled to write this review so here it is - biggest waste of time and money ever...please DO NOT enter...if your kids beg you to go in, punish them after and take the money paid to get in out of their allowance

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank brian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Save your money”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was not worth the price paid for the three of us. Very short and took less than 20 minutes to go through and that was with reading and looking at everything. It is a rip-off and no wonder not very busy. Have seen a lot of the items before from emails and other attractions in the area. Needs vast improvement or to close down so not to waste others money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed World of Illusions also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to World of Illusions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing