We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great get a way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
Ranked #59 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
OHIO
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great get a way”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed for our 1 year anniversary and it was great! We stayed in "Hugs n Kisses"

Pros:
Very close to all attractions
Quiet
Well spaced out
Very informative packets in the cabin
Clean
Well kept

Cons:
Not enough towels
Would not reccommend in the winter if you aren't used to mountain driving if you aren't used to the terrain

Room Tip: Talk to the locals, they have a TON of info for a great time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asmolko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review, 21 September 2015
We’re so happy you had a wonderful time on your anniversary visit and that the cabin and resort met your needs. We are always happy to provide additional supplies such as towels, soap, trash bags, etc. at our office. Please keep coming back for future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    24
    10
    20
    25
See reviews for
53
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The furniture was outdated and dog hair was all over. There was not enought towels. We had to buy our own. There was a bug problem. There area was quiet and view was great, but the accomodation was the worsted I ever stay in.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1816red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review, 22 September 2015
We are so sorry for your unsatisfactory visit with us. Hope you give us another try. We’ll do our best to make it so much better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

Sugar Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed one weekend in June, and then had several cabins in July for our wedding weekend. The cabins were okay; some of them older than others. They were fairly clean with limited amenities that you would need. Location from Gatlinburg was okay but very very hilly in the cabin area. There is virtually NO parking, or very little parking at the cabins. Not sure how you can have a cabin for 18-20 people but only have room for maybe two cars at the cabin. We had a couple of elderly guests with us and it was not the best place for them due to the steep hills and the steps up to the cabin entrances. All of the cabins are right next to each other so there is no privacy for the decks or the hot tubs.

We originally had rented the "club house" for our wedding cookout, but thank goodness we made a visit prior to the event to see it. We never even went inside; seeing the lack of parking around the Club House helped us to decide to cancel the reservation. There was absolutely no parking around the Club House. When we went to the office to voice our concern, all we got was "yeah there is no parking". No offer of solution or suggestions.... I made a call the next day to try to see if there was any solution, I was just told our guests "could park at the office and someone can shuttle them back and forth or they could walk". So not an option with the drive back into the cabin/club house!

I just don't know that we would go back to Mountain Shadows Resort....definitely would look a little further before it would be our choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandPOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review, 23 September 2015
We’re so sorry the resort and cabins did not suit your group’s needs completely. Occasionally we miss asking the right questions when making a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Stayed in Heart & Soul cabin, which is basically a duplex with a shared entryway. We found our cabin to be clean and well supplied. We had neighbors next door, but other than seeing a car, never would have known they were there. Had a hot tub both inside, and on a deck. that was completely private off the side of the mountain. My only complaint was that the view off the back balcony was totally trees, but that added to the privacy. Car parking is a bit cramped, but no biggie. Wonderful place to stay on our first trip ever to Gatlinburg!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suave1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review, 24 September 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comments about your cabin experience. Even when a few lemons (or shall I say trees?) appeared, you were able to make a very nice glass of lemonade!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2011

is there even a cabin at the top of the hill? my family wouldn't even know. we arrived after driving all night on Christmas eve into christmas morning at mountain shadows picked up our key to cuddly bear cabin and headed toward the hill, A privately owned 45 degree incline that hadn't been salted, plowed OR EVEN BREATHED on. WE went back to the office and met a friendly old guy, who we later found out was the owner, He said that he would have the road plowed in an hour and to just grab something to eat. we ate pancakes and came back an hour later. nothing had been touched. no salt, sand, or plowing. we went back to the office again, the plow truck was still snow covered and had not moved, since we were exhausted from the all night driving we found a super 8 motel down the road and decided to rent a room for a bit to rest. we woke up around 5pm and headed back to the hill we had tried to get up hours before. nothing had been plowed still. i attempted to get up the hill to no avail. however did meet 2 other families who were trying to get up the hill, unsuccessfully, they also had to stay at the super 8 motel, one famy even walked up the hill just to see the cabin, their 4 wheel drive suburban couldnt make it up the hill... so disheartened we headed back to the super 8 unable to see or get to our cabin. rhe day after Christmas I drove back to the hill, once again nothing had been salted or plowed, we satheist appeared to be employees bringing down famies who were stranded on the hill back to safety. my fiancé went into the office and asked what we were supposed to do, the lady said to talk to Bobby, the manager the following day.
we returned to the super 8 motel and went back to see Bobby on the 27th. before we went into the office, we tried again to get up the hill to our cabin. we found another family sliding down the hill, and others walking down the hill after trekking up the hill just to see their cabin... we attempted again to get up the hill, no luck. by the way, I drive a trailblazer ls, and made it through the snowy smoky mountains with mo issues during our vacation. so we went into the mjr shadows office to talk to Bobby. ' bobby' was nothing more than condecending the entire time we spoke with him. and I am still not sure what he manages... but it isn't customer satisfaction. we explained the same story I have told you. Bobby kept trying to make it my fault for not getting up the hill, " IF YOU DONT FEEL COMFORTABLE DRIVING ON SNOW " IS WHAT HE KEPT REPEATING... OR " SINCE YOU DONT WANT TO STAY IN THE CABIN ". I insisted that we did want to stay in the cabin and that I had no issues in driving in snow. " BOBBY" then told us we were the only family out of 40 that didn't get to their cabin, which we caught him in his lie, because the other 5 families also stayed at the super 8. Bobby continued to talk in circles, and then said we would have to talk to the owners on January 3rd. we remained in the super 8 for the rest of our holiday. on January 3rd my fiancé called to talk to the owners, they insisted he wasn't available, the man on the phone was none other than Bobby. bobby was extremely confrontational with my fiancé, and finally agreed to give us a refund after again belittling my fiance. there are thousands of cabins to rent in pigeon forge and gatlinburg. don't waste your time with mountain shadows. trust me. mountain shadows needs to look into sending Bobby through some customer service classes.
again do not waste your time with mnt shadows.

please don't think we are thin skinned and over sensitive, we work in a profession where we have to have thick skin...

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arbuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2015
We deeply regret the great difficulties experienced with our mountain roads and manager during your visit. Corrective measures have been taken to resolve both situations. Please accept our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
232 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Stayed with kids and grandparents. There is a steep incline up to the cabins (about 6 on the end where we were). We were in a 5 bedroom and it was hard to park (glad not all the cabins were rented). The cabins are all different. We stayed in a 5 bedroom. Nice layout. Not enough space to eat except on couch. Ran out of water for the entire crew when someone used the jacuzzi in the master bedroom. Lighting was sparse and it felt dark and dingy. Furniture old. Carpeting threadbare in many places. Best part was balconey off the top floor. Very nice but disgusted by all the dead beetles in the windows that needed to be vacuumed. Trying to get seniors in and out at night became a nightmare because so many lights were not functioning (burned out- on inside of cabin and in the outside) and it was hard to navigate to the cars with all the different levels. We got snow over Christmas and were stuck in the cabin. Several moved cars to the bottom of the mountain and hiked up but this was not possible for many of the seniors. We were to leave by 11am on Sunday and 2 men in the party fell and hit their heads, one broke their wrist and needs surgery. Wished the owners would have been there to assist or allow us to stay till it was safer. Many cars sliding and in trouble, stuck, etc. Pool table was slanted and not very playable and all the pockets were ripped. Kitchen very small for this many people. Still had fun but the ending with the injuries really made it hard.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review, 28 September 2015
We’re so sorry you were less than satisfied with some of your cabin’s furnishings and amenities as well as the difficulties experienced with the slippery winter mountain roads during your visit. We have let the owners know of these areas of concern and appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lineville, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

I have stayed at Mountain Shadows Resort before. I usually come up for the Christmas Parade in December with family. The first time we stayed in Our Mountain Home. It was OK. Only main complaint was the heating. The upstairs was hot and the bottom level was cold. Temperature wise we were never comfortable. We thought it was just due to the cabin was older, just expect it. Decor was old and cooking utensils- we would not use.
So we thought we would try it again due to everyone having their own bedroom/bathroom and the rates were good. So we came up for the Christmas Parade again and stayed at Norwegian Hus. Walked in....no Christmas tree or Christmas decorations. Which was not big deal....but then, well, the more we looked the more disgusted we were with this cabin.
Looked like NOTHING had been done to this cabin. Well, one thing. Looked like it had been painted but there was paint was on the trimming and on the floor and vanities, door hinges painted over, light switches got it too. Get the picture? Very cheap looking paint---why even bother?
We liked the cabin because it had a pool table. Well, ever try playing pool on an unlevel table? Yeah, the pockets had holes in them too. No TV either in the loft, which it showed one in the pictures.
The furniture old and worn out. Bedspreads, I did not even want to touch--looked old and dirty. Beds were half made. Not enough linens either. In one on the bathrooms the linoleum was cured up and looked like a critter had been chewing on the door trim.
No shower head in one of the showers, no sink stopper in one of the bathroom sink. Some of the chairs around the kitchen table-that sits 12 (that we liked) were broken. Not near enough hot water for our group of 9. Some had to shower at night and some in the morning.
The bottom floor had 2 bedrooms either had TV. Very dark and dingy. The cabin just looked extremely neglected/shabby.
Plus side, there were 4, new very nice TV’s in the cabin. The layout of the cabin was good. The Cabin has several structural appeals at the windows that were very nice. View wonderful. Had enough room for everyone to have their own space. Just wish someone would spend some money on this cabin and make this cabin shine!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dolphin1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review, 30 September 2015
We’re so sorry you were less than satisfied with some of your cabin’s furnishings and amenities during your most recent visit. We have let the homeowners know of these areas of concern and appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
3.6 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#43 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
2.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort

Property: Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
Address: 1901 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious log homes - hot tubs, spas, fireplaces, fully equipped kitchens, gas/electric grills, game rooms, swimming pool. Honeymoons to Family Reunions. Gatlinburg trolley, Adjacent to National Park. Children's Playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Shadows Log Home Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing