We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape to the Smoky Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
Ranked #61 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We exchanged our time share to get a chance to visit the Smoky Mountains. We stayed in the Great Escape 1787. Upon departing the car, you are excited to see such a beauitiful log cabin. Then you notice the plastic/dead looking flowers in the railing baskets. The cabin was beautiful, with most of the necessities for a home away from home. Our only concerns were that the floors in the bedroom needed swept, there were many cobwebs in the cabin, there was dust on all the fan blades, and a dirty toilet. As far as comfort, and the views they were remarkable. Close to everything. We picked this cabin for exchange as their online description stated a pool with access from our cabin-never found a pool and staff stated it was closed. Also a playground , which doesn't exist. All in all great location, comfy accomodations, and views to take your breath away.With the few negatives we would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2015

Thank you for your comments about the Great Escape cabin. We do apologize for the housekeeping concerns. If we had known about these issues prior to now we would have had the housekeeper come up and get them taken care of right away. Sorry the pool was unavailable during your stay, as a seasonal (unheated) pool, it is only open from Memorial Day weekend through Labor Day. The Resort is located just minutes from our city’s recreation center that houses a great indoor pool that visitors can access for a small fee all year. Our homeowner’s association is looking into placing an indoor pool in Phase II of the resort sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

Beautiful place tucked away from all the craziness, but still close enough that it's not a hassle to visit attractions in downtown Gatlinburg. We had a very romantic weekend in The Love Nest, and we definitely plan on returning. Clean, quiet, and scenic. Super comfy bed also.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2015

We appreciate your comments about Mountain Shadows Resort and the Love Nest cabin. We are particularly pleased to offer such a great location. As we like to put it, “close to downtown Gatlinburg and its exciting attractions, with a sense of wooded seclusion.” Please do come back and enjoy again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed in the sugar shack this past weekend and I have very few complaints. The bed was comfortable, and the cabin is cozy. I wouldn't recommend this particular cabin for more than two people because it is on the smaller size but it was perfect for us. The area was quiet but close enough to Gatlinburg where it didn't take forever to drive there. My only complaints are the hottub was hard to get the temperature just right. Even with it turned down very low it would get too hot. We did eventually get the temperature just right. I was curious why the front desk guy who took the keys didn't ask how our stay was or Thank us for coming. He could have been a little more friendly.

Room Tip: There is not a restaurant or fitness center.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Thank you for your comments and feedback on your visit. Our resort location is truly exceptional and we sincerely apologize for our front desk staffer not being as personable as he should have been. We are always thankful for our guests staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I feel like we found a hidden gem....I have been coming to Gatlinburg every year for almost 30 years, so we've stayed in many different places. This place is now on my top 5 list of great places to stay! We stayed in the Bears Den cabin for 2 nights and had no problems. First, they have a 3 night minimum, but after explaining my situation of a last minute trip on labor day weekend and being unable to find anywhere to stay, they let me reserve for only 2 nights. The staff at the office were very pleasant. I forgot my neclace and left it there. I called and notified the front office. He immediately sent a housekeeper to the cabin and called me back within the hour to tell me they found my neclace and would mail it to me. I received it in the mail one week later! Our cabin was so much bigger than expected, very clsan, fully furnished with all the usual amenities. I have nothing but great things to say. We will definitely be returning guests!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tabby96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

We appreciate your kind thoughts and words about our resort and staff. We make every effort we can to attain guest satisfaction and are so glad to hear you had a great time staying with us. We look forward to having you return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Stayed in " the Great Escape".This is by far one of the worst places I have ever stayed at!! Dirty, loud barking dogs non stop, the hot tub is just sitting on the deck so when it is on it vibrates the whole cabin. It is also very very loud. We turned our hot tub off at night but the neigbors left theirs running. We were up all night listening to it for 3 nights straight. The temp never came off of 104' which is too hot. We turned it down and it stayed at 104'. We asked how to adjust the temp and the answer was... Most people like it really hot so we don't ever mess with it. The swimming pool was green and the gate was locked with padlocks. Asked about the pool and the answer was not many people like swimming since they have the hot tubs. Pots and pans were unusable. When we asked about that they said they would see what they could do. We were supposed to have a great view. we looked at trees not mountain views, trees!!!! The cabin itself was cute. The inside was another story. Broken down furniture, the bed frame in one bedroom had these metal pointy things that ripped two shirts of mine. The comforter was snagged and had holes in it from this killer bed frame. Do yourself a favor PASS THIS PLACE UP or you will be disappointed!!!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
4  Thank Tammyheinecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

We are so sorry our resort and vacation cabin failed to meet your expectations. We had no notes in the guest folio regarding any of the issues mentioned, so we obviously were unable to address any of them during the visit. We make every effort to correct all issues we are notified of in a timely manner. We did fulfill a guest request for new pans during the stay, which is the only concern we were made aware of at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed at the Mountain Shadows Resort in early July 2012 and were pleasantly surprised by the accommodations! We had 2 cabins (1-bedroom and 2-bedroom) for 4 adults and 3 kids. I was very concerned (to say the least) about the cabins based on previous reviews and was very impressed with both cabins (we stayed in Phase 2; they were clean and updated). The views from both decks were absolutely amazing! We didn’t have any issues during our stay.

There is a grocery store down the street that has everything you may want/need. We were able to save some money by cooking/eating at the cabin instead of going out to eat for each meal.

One downside (well for the kids, that is) was the fact that there is only one pool and it is located in Phase 1 which is not really within walking distance from Phase 2 (due to all the steep hills and having to cross a main road). It would have been nice to have an outdoor pool within Phase 2.

Besides that, we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndianaBeachBumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2015

Thank you for your positive comments about our resort and your cabin. Our location close to city services and attractions is important to our guests, as well as their cabin amenities. Your comment about a pool in Phase 2 has been noted to the homeowner’s association. Consideration for a pool in that section of the resort is underway at this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed at this property in the "Out on a limb" cabin during memorial day weekend and the week following. I was unsure of what to expect after reading the reviews but was relieved to find a quiet, comfortable and clean cabin. We always show up to cabins with our own sheets and pillowcases so the ones that were on the matress were not a problem. The kitchen area was spotless and so was the bathroom area. There were plenty of towels and other toiletries including trash bags and dish soap. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to come back. I have no complaints about the cabin that we stayed at.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TenneseeTraveler1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

We appreciate your generous comments about your stay “Out on a Limb”! This is especially insightful to us considering you noted reading some less than positive reviews. Thanks for taking the opportunity to find out for yourself, and for being pleasantly satisfied with the results.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
464 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
3.9 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
3.8 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort

Address: 1901 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £112 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious log homes - hot tubs, spas, fireplaces, fully equipped kitchens, gas/electric grills, game rooms, swimming pool. Honeymoons to Family Reunions. Gatlinburg trolley, Adjacent to National Park. Children's Playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Shadows Log Home Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing