We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Gatlinburg-but hate Mountain Shadows Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
Ranked #62 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Been to the mountains many times but this was a bad stay. We stay at Bear Trax . The floors were so dirty you had to keep your shoes on, very outdated and needed lots of work. We were charged $40 for something that they couldn't even tells us it was for. Never did see a playground .Had to go to office to catch trolley which was quite a ways from the resort. Not many towels and we asked them to fix a couple things but they never showed up. Never again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2015

We deeply regret your less than positive experience at our resort. We do make every effort to correct housekeeping or maintenance issues as we are made aware of them. We do not have any notation of any cleanliness issues being reported, but did have a maintenance work order that was completed during the stay and one that was turned in at check out, which was subsequently completed. Our resort is situated on a mountainside just off the major street where the city trolley runs in accordance with the city schedule. There is a parking area at the highway entrance (a three minute drive from any cabin in the resort) where guests can park and ride the trolley. The resort playground is located in the second phase of the resort opposite the resort portion this cabin is located (which is 2 doors from the resort swimming pool). A post script regarding the $40 charge: according to folio notations, the guest spoke with their bank while in our office and the matter seemed to be resolved as far as we could tell. We re-verified this with the bank afterwards to be sure we had not made any errors in guest billing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

The only reason I give this place less than five stars is simply because I've been to the smokies so many times, you can find better deals on cabins. As far as location, it's perfect. We stayed here on our honeymoon and the price of the cabin was included in our all-inclusive wedding package, otherwise, we would've probably picked another cabin. Not that anything was WRONG with this cabin, it just isn't the best value Gatlinburg has to offer. It was clean, every thing functioned, it was nicely secluded yet close enough to every thing we needed. A great honeymoon get away.

Room Tip: Studio cabins are TINY. Not for kids. Perfect for honeymooners. :) Loved the hot tub.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Thank you for your comments about our perfect location and your cabin’s suitability for couples and honeymooners. We’re sorry we did not provide the value you feel may be available elsewhere. We do make every effort to keep our rates and special offers competitive with other rental companies and are usually told we have the best rates in the area. Please give us another try. All repeat guests receive a discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We were at Mountain Shadows Resort the week of Apr 20-26. There were eight of us in a 3 bedroom cabin. We did let them know there would be 8 adults, but the cabin was certainly not set up for 8!

Lack of towels and what were there were very small, lack of face cloths and hand towels. No towels for the hot tub, had to use your bath towels. Hot tub was old, leaked and needed serious work. Office is off site, so arriving late is an issue.

Parking is on a hill that makes San Francisco look like an knoll! No place for sun except sitting on the hill. Not comfortable at all. 2 ladies actually sat in the back of a pick up truck just to get a little sun.

ANTS!!!!!!! Kitchen was full of them! In the cupboards, on our food, everywhere! Once we sprayed Raid, they went into the bedrooms and bathrooms! Spray was good if you hit them, but the cabin needs to be fumigated!

Decorated nice, but certainly not set up for a party greater than five, maybe six at the most.

Theatre room had a great set up, nice projector and screen and a Harmon Kardon home theatre system, but only seating for 5! What is this all about??

Love the area, but will not be back to Mountain Shadows Resort!!

Room Tip: Be careful what you get. An 8 sleeper is not an 8 sleeper for 8 adults. Request a cabin where you...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2015

We’re sorry this cabin was not suitable for you and your companions. We make every effort to put guests in a cabin that meet their comfort needs. Perhaps a 4 – bedroom unit was unavailable at the time of this stay when the reservation was made which certainly would have been more suitable. As all our cabins are individually owned, their sleeping set up is determined by the owners and detailed in our amenities listings. We do regret the situation with insects. All cabins do have monthly service for pests and when we are notified about any issue of this sort, our technician will come right out to handle it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We had a couple getaway and brought our dog.

It was a very nice little cabin, Sugar House. There is an outdoor jacuzzi and grill with rocking chairs on the back porch. It had everything we needed to make our own meals. It made for a great romantic weekend. I especially liked the jacuzzi tub inside, it made for the best bubble bath of my life.

The cabins are very close to Gatlinburg. There is a grocery on the way into town, so there was no fuss in picking up provisions.

We found a little trail through the woods behind our cabin. Our dog loved exploring that little trail!

The only thing is I assumed there would be more privacy on the back deck, but it is in full view of the other cabins. Don't forget a bathing suit!

Having a quiet, beautiful and relaxing view of the mountains made for the best birthday I had ever celebrated.

Thank you, Mountain Shadows!

Room Tip: The back decks are not private, bring a bathing suit. Be careful while parking as the mountains can...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

We appreciate your nice comments about your birthday visit to Gatlinburg. Please come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We were pleased with how quiet and private each cabin was. Even though there's a cluster of cabins, you don't really notice because they've left most trees standing (unlike almost very other cabin development). Second, we came for the park, not for gatlinburg proper. Location was perfect for hiking, etc, in less-busy areas of the park. It was Smoky Mountain Dream Cabin, a well-designed studio cabin for 2, but had everything we needed. A few constructive suggestion, even though we were happy: a couple of foldable luggage stands, take the rolling cots out of the closet for parties of 2 so there's a little hanging space, a toaster, and at least one truly sharp knife in the kitchen. These were just small things, though. Affordable, cozy, comfortable, well-located.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2015

Thanks you for your positive comments about your stay in Smoky Mountain Dream and your insights and recommendations for some minor improvements. We will pass these on to the owner for consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I think this is the best log cabin rentals I've been to. The cabins include real fireplaces, microwaves, included board games, and anything else you can think of. The whole thing is great for the family! If it's a little pricey, it's okay because these cabins are just plain great. And up stairs, the cabins have jacuzzies, pool tables, a bed, a master bed room. Just think how much is on the 1st floor, even more!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainswdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2015

Thank you very much for your more than kind words. Would that every review could be like this one! Each of our cabins is unique in some ways while all have certain amenities including hot tubs, gas fireplaces and fully equipped kitchens. When reserving a cabin always check the amenities listing when on our website or speaking with a reservations specialist to get the perfect cabin for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

I came across this resort while searching Craigslist. I knew I would find limited availability of cabins for the weekend of Valentine's Day. I contacted Bobby at the resort and stated they had just had a cancellation for a one bedroom (The Bear's Den). The price was $345 which included taxes and $50 cleaning fee. After paying in full I came across the rating on Trip Advisor. I immediately had a pit in my stomach especially after looking at reviews and comments that one of the cabins was a duplex. Who would want to share a cabin (and deck?)
When looking at the pictures of the outside of Bears Den, the angle of the photo makes it appear that the other part of the duplex is being left out.

Well, when we arrived Friday afternoon we were pleasantly surprised. I asked the front desk about the duplex worry and they confirmed that they no longer owned that cabin and they frlt I would be very pleased with The Bears Den. They were correct. We arrived to a very clean, cozy, well maintained cabin.

The cabin has a combination of slate and wood flooring, a large dual head shower, and bay of windows with Mountain views.
The upstairs loft has a pool table, dart board and pull out sofa. This could easily be used by another couple with semi-privacy. The living room had a tv, gas fireplace, and another pull out sofa. The deck was very large with a 4-6 person hottub, gas grill and rocking chairs.

A few relatively minor problems:
1. The bed mattress could be converted to a softer bed. I know this can be an issue in many hotel rooms/cabins and was surprised at this.
2. On our first night, we could not get the hot tub to go above 93 degrees (it was a very cold 30 degrees outside). This left the water lukewarm and unusable for the night. We called the front desk the next day and the hottub was fixed with an hour of calling.
Extras:
When speaking with Bobby when booking, he offered a discount to us without having to ask.
He agreed also to let us check out at 1pm on Sunday since we arrived later on Friday night.

All in all we loved our stay and hope to be back soon with our 3yr old and possibly other family members. We will highly recommend this resort to other friends and family looking to stay in Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smurfygrl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2015

It’s a real blessing to hear such lovely comments about our resort and the Bear’s Den cabin. We make every effort to get folks in the right place, even on short notice. Hot tubs are one of our most important amenities for many guests and we’re glad our maintenance staff was able to solve that hot tub issue in a very timely fashion. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
465 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
3.9 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
3.8 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort

Address: 1901 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £112 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious log homes - hot tubs, spas, fireplaces, fully equipped kitchens, gas/electric grills, game rooms, swimming pool. Honeymoons to Family Reunions. Gatlinburg trolley, Adjacent to National Park. Children's Playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Shadows Log Home Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing