We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Privacy in the Smoky Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
Ranked #61 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My family and I just returned from a trip to the Smoky Mountains in Gatlinburg, Tn. We stayed at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort and were not disappointed. The resort has many choices of accommodations and home styles.We stayed at a cabin named "Cuddly Bear". There were four of house and the cabin was a great place to spend the week with 2 bedrooms , both with King size beds, 2 full baths, a small kitchen complete with full stove,dishwasher, and microwave. All newer appliances and very clean. There was a great back porch overlooking a clearing. The porch had a new Weber gas grill ( very clean ), a hot tub that we did not use but appeared to work properly and was also very clean, as well as a table and seating for 4. The kitchen was a living room kitchen combo with a very small breakfast nook table, 4 people cannot sit at this table but that was no big deal for us. There is a loft with a pool table which can be difficult to play as some areas are very tight but the kids liked it nonetheless. Make no mistakes about it you are in the mountains, it is very quiet and peaceful. There was a pool but unless you are staying in a cabin in what they call phase 1, you will have to make a short drive, again that was not a problem for us as we did not go there specifically to hang around the pool all day. There were a couple of things that could have been a little cleaner. The large heating and cooling return vent in the kitchen was extremely dusty as were the tops of the curtains and the trash cans should be rinsed out as they were somewhat grimy when you removed the bags. Other than that we thought it was a great place to come back to after a long day taking part in so many of the sites and attractions the area offers.

I will say that I have never had a smoother check in experience. All of the staff that I interacted with were wonderful and accommodating. I stopped by the office to ask for chalk for the pool table, I was told they did not have any and somebody would bring some to the cabin, I thought ,well I won't ever see any, but within 45 minutes there was a knock on the door and a gentleman handed me 2 cubes of chalk. The cabin did not have wifi but did have a cable modem and a short 3 ft. Ethernet cable that required me to sit on the floor to use, I asked for another at the office and they provided me with a 25 ft. cable and asked that I return it when leaving. I thought that was great. Be aware that many cabins do have wifi.

The value of this resort , in my mind , far exceeded any motel dollar for dollar. I would return again.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures from both management and trip Advisor reviewers . There are many reviews regar...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kenno11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you so much for your comments. We brought the issue of the dusty area to the attention of housekeeping. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

My boyfriend and I were planning a road trip down to the Florida Keys and planned to stop in Tennessee for a few days on the way back home. I was looking for affordable cabins on craigslist and found Mountain Shadows Resort. I was incredibly sketchy at first. We researched everything before making a reservation. When we finally called to make the reservation, we were connected with a very friendly person. The process was quick and easy. Upon traveling to the cabin, we came across a detour which set us an hour back after closing time. We called the resort's front desk and they arranged to leave a key for us. When we finally reached the cabin, I was blown away. "A Smoky Mountain Dream" was gorgeous and perfect for just us two. We stayed for 4 days and I couldn't have been happier! My favorite part about the location was that it's close to everything. Downtown Gatlinburg and Smoky Mountain National Park are just a few minutes away. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruisinYouEssAy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you so much for your comments. We strive to make every guests' stay one they will not forget, and that your visit to the mountains was a great experience. We are glad that you found friendly staff and an easy check-in, even after hours. Our goal is that all our guests have the same experience that you had, and we hope to see you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was our first time to rent a cabin for a Gatlinburg trip since boyfriends/girlfriends were coming with the family. Found Mountain Shadows on Craigslist and did not research the property beforehand on TripAdvisor like I usually do. Was apprehensive when I read some other reviews, but we were very pleased with our stay in "Almost Heaven", and I am very picky when it comes to hotels, ect. Even though other cabins were close, we felt secluded and alone. It was a plus that we were able to bring our dog along. It made us get out of the cabin and walk around the neighborhood. There is a very nice Food City and McDonalds close by as well. We have already booked again for our break in March. Cannot wait to get back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay in "Almost Heaven" cabin. We are so glad you had a memorable visit with extended family to our mountains. This cabin is one of our pet friendly cabins, and we were happy to accommodate your dog, they're a great excuse to take a walk in our woods! It really is nice to be secluded yet within 5 minutes of grocery stores and fast food, we appreciate you pointing this out. We look forward to seeing you again, and thanks again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I just spent the last three days at a cabin called "Smokey Mtn. Dream" with Mountain Shadow Resorts. It was perfect for just the two of us! King size bed with a foam top that was very comfortable. The pillows were horrible and flat but we always bring our own. The bathroom was clean, small, and bright. The water pressure wasn't the greatest, and we felt very tall in the shower, like we had to lean our heads down to rinse our hair, and we aren't tall people at all! We didn't use the kitchen, but the refrigerator worked. The hot tub inside was ok. It didn't get very full of HOT water and just jetted small burst of air......but it was ok. The hot tub outside contained too hot of water and we decided not to use it. There wasn't much privacy on the balcony that contained the hot tub, and with cabins located right across the street we just didn't feel comfortable. There wasn't much of a view either. The gas fire place was very nice and kept us warm. The drive way was very scary but we managed. We were glad no other cars were coming up or down the road. The cabin was very clean and was kept up nice. The towels and wash cloths were soft and smelled nice. Our cabin was located off of the main strip in Gatlinburg approx. 5 miles. It was a nice drive out to the cabin. We didn't experience any bad weather, but be sure to check for snowy conditions because you may want four wheel drive. Overall, we really did have a nice time......it was small and cozy. Perfect for anyone not wanting fancy things and privacy.

Room Tip: This cabin is for only two adults! More and you will be cramped!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaCee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you KaCee for your comments regarding your stay in A Smoky Mountain Dream cabin. We have a wonderful King bed in that cabin, and everyone loves that memory foam mattress! The indoor Jacuzzi you referred to as the hot tub inside requires water to cover the jets completely in order to operate correctly, sounds like you might not have had it quite full enough, especially if you didn't have enough hot water. The Jacuzzi is quite large, and it takes a lot of water to fill it, so it's best to not take a shower or bath within a few minutes of filling it. I am so sorry you were not able to enjoy it completely full with all the jets working. All our hot tubs (outside) are set at 102 degrees, per health department guidelines, and are very warm, so if you find one too warm for your tastes, always remove the cover, turn on the jets, and it will cool the water down to a more comfortable level. Don't ever hesitate to call us if you have any questions during your stay, we are here to make your visit as enjoyable as possible. Our roads are wide, curbed, and paved, but unless you are accustomed to driving in mountainous areas, it could be a little unnerving, even in a resort setting. We always advise guests to take their time driving, and you shouldn't have any trouble. During inclement weather, the homeowners association maintains all resort roads with snow plow equipment, and you should not have any problems driving within the resort. You are correct, this cabin is great for 2 people, but it's a little cramped for more. Some of our guests have small children, and it seems to work if you have small children and prefer to not stay in a larger cabin. Again, thanks so much for your comments, and we hope to see you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

When we got to the norwegin hus there was little parking( on a wry steep hill). Then the sitting area wasn't big enough. The benches back was broken. There was no heat on the main level. The chairs around the table were broke and there wasn't but 8 of them. Not the 12 advertised. Only 3 TVs in the place and the wifi and phone didn't work. Upstairs the shower didn't have a head on it. The pool table was in the loft an the balls would fall thru the hole and end up on main level which wasn't safe.

Stayed: January 2014
4  Thank Kennedyklan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

As best we can tell by looking over maintenance work orders, this review must have come from a friend or relative traveling with the guest of record. The internal guest survey for this stay did not mention any of these items except the heat issue which was noted as being resolved quickly by a service technician, giving the maintenance department an excellent rating. Some of these issues did appear on a work order, post check-out, and were promptly handled. We regret we were unable to satisfy all the concerns during the visit which is what we always prefer to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed for a week in Cuddly Bear Cabin at Mountain Shadows Resort in Gatlinburg, TN - Oh my goodness...the beds were so uncomfortable - it was the most painful nights sleep we ever had. Also had family staying in Bear cabin - they also same issues with the beds being hard and uncomfortable. After a few days we bought air mattress at local store to try to sleep more comfortably. We had to buy blankets as they did not have any blankets or extra linens. Not enough towels - had to buy cleaning supplies and detergent and had to wash towels daily so all could bathe/shower. Cabin was too small and there are NO CLOSETS or STORAGE at all. Pool table was in the loft and could not be used since it is put in a room too small for pool sticks to be used. Floors were dirty - had to keep socks or slippers on. Great view and location was close to Gatlinburg...that's about it.

Room Tip: Worst beds - worst night sleep we ever had - painful nights sleep for the whole family!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

We are very sorry for your unpleasant experience with the Cuddly Bear cabin. We make every effort to meet guest requests for extra linens and supplies as well as have our cleaners come in for any housekeeping issues that we are made aware of. Thinking we may have missed something, we went through this cabin’s guest folios during this time period and could not find any contemporary notifications on these issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

WE stayed in Blue Mountain View Last December for a week. The cabin was clean and easily accessible. It was warm and cozy Our only complaint was the bed was lumpy and worn out and the sheets were ill fitted. Alll in all it was a good value for the price We will return again in the future

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richiepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

We are so glad you enjoyed your week’s visit in Blue Mountain View and appreciate the heads-up concerning the bed. We will pass this information on to the cabin owner for updating. We look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
464 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
3.9 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
3.8 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort

Address: 1901 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £112 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious log homes - hot tubs, spas, fireplaces, fully equipped kitchens, gas/electric grills, game rooms, swimming pool. Honeymoons to Family Reunions. Gatlinburg trolley, Adjacent to National Park. Children's Playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Shadows Log Home Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing