We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast food - NOT”
Review of Hungry Bear BBQ #2

Hungry Bear BBQ #2
Ranked #68 of 195 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Mansfield, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fast food - NOT”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We drove by this little blue house at least 10 times before we stopped and taste tested their marvelous smoked menu. We love authentic local foods. We stopped near closing time @ 8:00 and found that they had sold out of the brisket and that's a very good sign. So we bought pork & chicken and thought it was DELICIOUS .. moist & very yummy. They have 3 locations in Gatlinburg and selling out of their specialty .. better stop & try it ! As I mentioned before, we drove by .. smelled it, but didn't see it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grnmax14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    125
    41
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

A bit disappointed and not the most sanitary! Brisket or ribs, not the chicken! Cold and grease. Wife kept kissing the cook,gross .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Onewholovesgoodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“YUMMY”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Very good food and cute atmosphere... The entire place smelled amazing and I would definatly go back for some barbecue!

Helpful?
Thank Turtlegirl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Decent BBQ”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was my second choice for BBQ in Gatlinburg. I thought the food was good, but the portions (pulled pork) were a little small for the price. When we arrived (around 1:00pm), they were out of many items. With the reviews, I expected much more. Still, not bad. To be fair, we didn't (couldn't) try any ribs or brisket. I'd give them a 3.5-4 in marks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBATIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owens Cross Roads, Alabama
2 reviews
“Avoid this 2nd location - rude service, average to poor BBQ”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Avoid this second location. Reviews for original location do not apply. Quality of food is average to below average, value isn't great, and the last running the counter was rude. Chicken was dry, kids sandwich had barely any meat, potato salad was flavorless. Avoid this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darcy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hungry Bear BBQ #2 also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Sevierville, Sevier County
 

Been to Hungry Bear BBQ #2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing